Monday morning meanderings. Vol.77

April 27, 2009 at 4:09 pm 1 comment

Sayre, Oklahoma

Wow!  What a weekend, weather wise.  Wind, lots of wind, some rain, hail, tornadoes on the ground to the northwest, southeast and at least for me, a sense of unsettledness related to the weather, that I have never had any where else we have been.  I suppose I will get used to it, at some level and not pay much attention, like the people who live here, but for now I keep a close eye on the radar and the TV as they track the storms that are rolling in here one after the other.  Here is a link to a map of doppler radar for our area if you are interested.  HERE.

Item one.  One of the best church websites I know of is Bethel Church out in Redding, California.  Not only is it a good website it is also a really good church.  Linda and I get the weekly podcast of their service each week and have learned a lot listening to their teachers.  They now have a subscription service site that is also very good if you want to get live streaming video or archived video of some really good worship and teaching.  The church site is HERE and the subscription site HERE.

Item two.  When I started blogging two years ago, I probably got in at the peak of blogging as a cultural phenomenon.  There are still more than 6 million of us out here but for many blogging was so “a while ago”.  I am thinking about finally going to the next step of getting a MySpace or Facebook page, before it is over.  Do you TwitterYouTubeYammer? Social networking is not just a fad, or a trend it is the way it gets done today.  My friend Cody, who is a former world champion bull rider and a man who wants to impact the young bull riding generation with the gospel (and one of the most faithful friends I have ever had) followed his kids into social networking and in a few days had a following numbering almost 1000 “friends”.  Cody can now speak into all these young people in ways that were not possible not long ago.  If you are interested in reading more on this subject try HERE.  Social networking is not changing our world it already has!

Item three.  I really do like this song “From the Inside Out (Everlasting)” by Hillsong United, but I post it not so you can hear it so much as to see if I can actually post a video.  Am I getting good or what?

Item four.  For those of you who really do read the meanderings but did not want to get extra points last week or really did not understand the statement about a girl in a flatbed Ford, I post this video to educate you in the finer points of music and Winslow, Arizona.

Well, enough foolishness. 

I leave you with this thought: Proper theological foundations, as the center of our faith, never leads to an encounter with God.  

Take it easy.

Entry filed under: Bible, Church, Culture, Family, Friendship, Kingdom, Monday meanderings, Thoughts, Uncategorized.

Home, home on the range… 24 (A Kingdom view of the end times.)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Rachel  |  April 27, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    It WAS a crazy weather weekend! Our backyard turned into a lake at one point, and I too kept watching the weather on the TV and internet to know if a tornado was coming our way. I think the weather out here is scary. Back in Washington, I loved having a good storm every now and then, but out here I’m afraid the storm is gonna blow our house over. Our neighbor’s big wooden play structure got ripped out of the ground and went flying into the next door neighbor’s house and took out his bay window! And before we moved in here, the people who live right next to us used to have a trampoline, but it too went flying right through the side of our house and is now nothing but twisted metal. Luckily that got fixed before we got here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,871 hits

