Ancient Words for a new day. Word#4

March 3, 2009 at 10:07 am 1 comment

Since God has said, I can say…

Hebrews 13:5-6 are two of the great verses in all of the Bible.  I would imagine most readers of the Bible have read it a time or two, especially those of us who have trust issues, deal with anxiety or depression.  Here is what it says: Stay away from the love of money; be satisfied with what you have.  For God has said, I will never fail you.  I will never forsake you.  That is why we can say with confidence, The Lord is my helper, so I will not be afraid.  What can mere mortals do to me?

There are many good Words in these two verses.  I could write about what a lousy lover money is, fickle, leaves just when we need it, gives more of itself to others than to me, never gives me enough, comes and goes.  Loving money is a losing deal, it never delivers on its promise. 

I could write about what a great lover contentment is.  Peaceful, kind, always giving never getting. Hopeful, confident.  Contentment always wins, a sure thing.  So, don’t love money, be content.  Enough said.

But what I heard when my friends and I were studying this section a few weeks back was this: The only time I can say anything with certainty or confidence, is if I have first heard God say something.  Did you see it in the verse?  God has said, I will never let you down or walk away from you (like money will).  Since God has given me that sure Word I can now say with certainty, I will not be afraid no matter what happens.

If I don’t first here God it is really doubtful that I can say anything with any confidence at all. There is no way I can say I am not afraid, if God doesn’t say something.  If I look around at almost every area of life, I am going to say, “I am afraid!”  If I have no Word from God about His capacity than I cannot say anything positive about what I will do with my fear.

When I hear my Father, Who just happens to be the One Who set everything in motion and knows the end from the beginning and oh yeah, knows my name and how many hairs are still on my head, say He will never abandon me, or let me down then I can say, “OK, I am going to trust and not be afraid!”

The point is clear is it not?  When God says something it changes everything about what I can say about my situation or the world situation.

I am not yet fully free of trust issues and I do have periods of anxiety and depression but the only thing that ever makes them go away is hearing my Father tell me He is on my side and loves me.  Only then do I ever find confidence.

Now that’s a good Word, right there!

Entry filed under: Authority, Belief, Bible, Christian, Church, Culture, Faith, Family, Finance, Financial meltdown, Holy Spirit, Kingdom, Kingdom Life, Money, Revelation, The Father, Theology, Thoughts.

Monday morning meanderings. Vol.71 Attraction.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Carol Davis  |  March 3, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    What clarity and encouragement, Thanks PG

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,871 hits

