Monday morning meanderings. Vol.71

March 2, 2009 at 4:15 pm 5 comments

Payson, Arizona

We arrived up here in the mountain city of Payson, Arizona Sunday morning and after a little manipulating, well actually quite a bit, I got us backed into a very beautiful spot at the hill top home of our friends Chuck and Nancy.  Their house is about 500 feet above the city and has a panoramic view of the this beautiful little community and the surrounding Rim.  Very,very nice.  I promise a picture in a day or two.  For those of you in the Northwest Payson reminds me of Central Oregon or Northeast Washington.  It is cooler here than in the Valley though it supposed to reach 80 here today.  We both remarked about how much favor we have from our Father to be able to be in these beautiful spots.  Thanks Father and thanks Chuck and Nancy!

Item one.  We had the opportunity to go to the Scottsdale Rodeo on Saturday.  Our friend Luis Escudero, who we spent time with while in the El Paso area was bareback riding in the rodeo.  He has been riding bareback for 30 years at a pretty high level and for my money it beats you up as much or more than any other event.  He was able to get us into the VIP section where we had lunch and whatever else we wanted to eat or drink and a great view of the arena.  We also got to talk for a few minutes with another rodeo friend, Stran Smith, the current world champion tie down roper and watch him do his thing.  Met some other folks as well so it was a really fun day.

Item two. Things are pretty serious in this country these days, that is obvious.  I suspect they are going to get more serious so I am wondering if we are learning anything about trust we didn’t know a year ago.  What does it mean to trust God?  There are some obvious answers, some cliche and some with truth.  For example; trust is believing that God is in control, even when it appears everything is out of control.  True.  Trust, some say is what you do when YOU don’t know what to do.  Cliche.

What I would like to know is this.  What is trust like for you?  In what ways are you trusting today that you didn’t a year ago?  What changes for you when you really get to a trust level from a level of anxiety? There has never been an abundance of comments on this blog but I sure would like you all to weigh in on this subject.  What does it mean to trust God?  Take a chance and comment, who knows, it might make all the difference in someone else’s life, like mine.

Item three.  If you like the merger of Faith and Art you will like this blog.  Find it HERE.  Do you use text messages?  I have found it a helpful way of communicating but is there a downside?  Read this article if you are interested, especially those of you who have children with cell phonesHERE is the link. 

Item four.  Ever make a list of the things you like?  Interesting things like Taylor guitars, In and Out burgers, colorful birds, southwest style houses and so on.  I think I could make a list of at least 50 things I like with out a problem.  How about you?  At dinner sometime make a family list of the things you like and see how long it gets.  One of my favorite blogs Stuff Christians Like invited their readers to tell them what they like and the list grew to 500!  Fun to read what gives other people a jolt of cheer and we sure need some of that right about now.  Find the list HERE.

Could we make a Juniper View list?

Keep trusting our Father, find a way to just have some fun and keep your head up!  Would love to have your comments, they mean a lot to a lot of us.

Entry filed under: Belief, Christianity, Culture, Faith, Family, Humor, Kingdom, Monday meanderings, Money, PRCA, The Father, Theology, Thoughts, Travel.

Drawing water ourselves. Ancient Words for a new day. Word#4

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lyle  |  March 8, 2009 at 6:57 am

    Hmmm. Trust huh? I have lost my wife, my job and losing my ranch maybe, but I’m supposed to ‘trust’ God. Yes, I am. I was praying this week and asking God ‘what are you saying to me RIGHT now’? Here is what I heard first………………..(silence) Then finally I heard him say “Trust me”. I thought- what does that mean?-well it means that I must make some decisions, I have found that the emotions of the heart follow the decisions of the head. In other words I must decide to read my Bible every day, pray every day, go to church etc.. Notice that none of these things involve emotions but in making the decision my feelings will follow what I decide to do. I mean if I reverse this process and decide not to do the previous mentioned things because I don’t ‘feel’ like it then i will begin to spiral down in faith, quit going to church, stop reading my bible and satan has won. Emotions have a poor track record of success in decision making. But when I decide to do something because I know in my head that I must-I go to church even when I don’t feel like it-God blesses me and then my emotions follow-I feel wonderful after church-my emotions have followed my head decisions. In other words I have trusted God-by living it out in my every day life! Lyle

  • 2. Krisy Henry  |  March 5, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Godly definition: a secure confident expectation of support; hope.

    The Father needs from His followers their complete reliance, dependence, and faith in Him. To allow Him a place in our life to work.

    If we don’t offer that, then all trust becomes is the worldly definition “prediction of reliance on an action, based on what a party knows about the other party.”

    Example:

    Our dentist will likely fix our tooth is we have a tooth ache. We trust that.

    The grocery store will likely have supplies for us to buy. We trust that.

    We buy a new car; we trust that it would not need immediate repair.

    For me, I want a different relationship with The Father then that in which I expect from my dentist. If we truly trust in The Lord, imagine what our potential may be though Him. The impact on our own relationship with Him, our family, on other lives, our community…

    I really like old dogs, watching my kiddos at the park on a cold day with a warm cup of coffee in my hands, swimming, dancing, new running shoes and my husband.

  • 3. amanda  |  March 3, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    i am game for a list, but how about an autograph or two first? Stran? i would like that! =)

    to trust is scary, yet exhilirating (sometimes) this past year i have had to learn a whole new definition for that word. trust is easier yet sometimes harder. especially when bills outnumber the $. but i am finding it curiously peaceful, when i am able to let go and trust Him, even if it only comes in bits and spurts.

    things i like, just a few i promise, horses, rain on the roof when i am in bed, music, fall, snow, friends, Father, not neccessarily in that order.

  • 4. Linda  |  March 3, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    A few of the things I like – a man who keeps growing in his faith and trust, children who are following their Father, 5 beautiful grandbabies, IN ‘N OUT Burgers & Taco Bell, nature’s shades of green, sunshine, a gentle breeze (not a gale-force wind), streams – large and small – I, too, could go on & on. We are truly blessed. Thank you, Father.

  • 5. Kaylee  |  March 2, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Well, I can’t wait to see a picture! I have to admit, my soul has been missing Arizona. 3 years ago you could have never paid me to live there. Now look at me? Lived there and gone already. Turns out I like Arizona. But I love the Lord more. I suppose you could pull a tid bit about trust out of that….and even “what I like”! Wow! I quickly covered it all! Love you guys. Hope to see you in Pennsylvania…when the weather turns for the better!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,728 hits

