Monday morning meanderings. Vol.68

January 20, 2009 at 4:34 am 2 comments

Sayre, Oklahoma

The weather has been real nice, a little windy of course but lots of sun and warm temps.  Feels good.  The weather allowed me to get some much needed maintenance done on the truck and trailer, this weekend, so that was productive.

Item one. For some of you, your worst fears will be realized tomorrow, when Barrack Obama is sworn in as the 44th president of the United States.  But not mine.  I am optimistic, as optimistic as I can be when my president does not support some issues that are very important to me.  The weight of the office must be huge and it has a way of changing the way presidents view things, once they get a close up view. Perhaps this will be the case for Mr. Obama.

Even though I will not agree with all his policies, like all patriots I am going to rejoice in the ceremonies of the day. I am going to celebrate the peaceful transition of power, the working Constitution, and the wonderful symbolism of an African-American president. I will not agree with some of the things he says or does, but that will not take away from my happiness as an American. Tomorrow, Mr. Obama will be my president, and as head of the government of the country where I live and am a citizen by birth and choice, I will pray for him and honor him. When he acts as head of his party, I will act as the loyal opposition when given the opportunity.

Did you know there are other verses to our National Anthem?  Here is one I hope they will sing at tomorrows ceremony: Praise the Pow’r that hath made and preserv’d us a nation!  Then conquer we must, when our cause is just, And this be our motto: “In God is our trust” And the star-spangled banner in triumph shall wave  O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave!

Item two.  Have you heard of Mark Driscoll?  I have never listened to any of his sermons but I suspect if I did I would like them.  What I find interesting and troubling about him is not his style or the anti-church, church he has built in non-church Seattle, but the theology he is committed to.  He is an unabashed and a full on Calvinist and   Calvinism, in my opinion, is both scary and wrong,  for many of the reasons he embraces it.  I just read a very interesting article from the New York Times on Driscoll and found it a very good read.  You can find it HERE. 

Item three. Interesting changes in higher education that the church could pay attention to.  Read this, right HERE.  Do you think the way we teach in the church is really as productive as it could be?  Are we paying attention?

Item four.  Great website to introduce you to some of the best writing from the world of blogging.  It is like having access to the best writing out there, updated every hour, on almost any topic or interest.  I use it to find all kinds of helpful information especially related to the church and teaching but I just looked at the page on fishing.  It is called Alltop and can be found right HERE.  Check it out.

Item five.  I dvr’d the two championship games yesterday and watched them both in about an hour each.  Best way to watch football if you just want to see the game.  I am not a big professional football guy but I watch it this time of the season.  Pittsburg is stout, no doubt about their ability to punish you, but I like Arizona’s big play potential and I really like Kurt Warner’s willingness to put it all on the line, on and off the field, including his faith.  So, I am going with the Cardinals in the Super Bowl.  How about you?

 Blessings on your week.

Entry filed under: Authority, Belief, Bible topics, Blogroll, Christian, Church, Church Growth, Culture, Faith, Family, Fly-Fishing, Government, Institutional church, Kingdom, Monday meanderings, News, Obama, Politics, Thoughts, Travel.

Lee Akin update Release for release.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Warren  |  January 21, 2009 at 9:58 am

    Go Cards! I’ve not liked Pittsburg since the refs game them the Superbowl over the Seahawks!

  • 2. Jan  |  January 20, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    Thanks for the info, “linkmaster”!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,029 hits

