Monday morning meanderings. Vol.66

January 6, 2009 at 6:22 am 3 comments

Gig Harbor, Washington

Only a couple of more days for me here in the NW.  It has been a really good time seeing the kids and grandkids as well as some good friends.  Lot’s of snow, which is pretty unusual including about 3 inches last night, which is all gone.  We are spending a few hours in the Harbor with Summer, Canyon Paul and Sage.  Brad is at work.  We will go back to Shelton tonight and spend tomorrow getting ready for me to head out with Jake.  Linda is going to stay here a few more days and meet me in Salt Lake City.  I will be driving with Doug to Idaho Falls to meet Cody at Todd and Leslie’s house for a couple of days of talking about the PBRO ministry.  I am looking forward to the time with these guys who have had such a huge role in my life these last three years.

Item one. I am looking for ways to change the Juniper Tree at the beginning of it’s third year.  One thing I really want to do is add pictures on a regular basis since we are regularly in some really beautiful places and a lot of people would rather look at pics than read.  Another thing I think I will start is commenting on the comments.  For the first two years I haven’t done that but I think it will be a good change.  Maybe spark some added interest.  I wish I knew how to design my own site because I get bored with the stock WordPress formats.  Some of you do such a great job of bringing your own style to your blog.  Anyone want to teach me?

Item two. Anyone have any regrets you are carrying over from 2008?  Anything you wish you had done but didn’t get to?  Something you know you were supposed to do but you just flat didn’t do it?  Anyone want to share any regrets from 2008?  Mine?  I didn’t enjoy each day for what it was.  I didn’t laugh enough.

Item three. Ever wonder how long it will take for you to get really good at something?  How long will it take to be a success.  Apparently it is about 10000 hours, so says Malcolm Gladwell in a book called Outliers.  No, I didn’t read it but I did read a review.  The book offers a number of ways to reach success at anything but the number one way?  Work hard and put in the time.  10000 hours is roughly 10 years.  Made me wonder why in the church we expect people to have it together spiritually in a few weeks?  What would happen if we invested 10 years in really entering in to a life of faith? 

The Canyon man is up so I will stop the meandering a little short today.  Have a wonderful week.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A few thoughts on 01.02.09 Just for fun.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Royal  |  January 8, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    10,000 hours is a long time, makes sense to me. Everything I am good at was gained by putting in the time. I will remember this when I am frustrated with my kids, my wife, myself, and other people. I think that it is good advice for believers of Jesus as well, you have to put in the time. Good luck with the blog, ask Rachel she is a pro at it, Kaylee is really good as well, especially with pictures.

  • 2. Kaylee  |  January 6, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    I think adding pictures is a great idea! I’d love to “see” what you guys are seeing.
    As for a new design….I understand blogger a little bit better, but I know there are sites, like this one http://wordpresstemplates.name/ that can tell you how to do it, no problem.

    Just google “templates for wordpress” (or something like that) and you should come up with a bunch of ideas!

    Can’t wait to see what you do. Hugs to everyone from me!

  • 3. amanda  |  January 6, 2009 at 8:28 am

    commenting on the comments would be great, and so would making it snow more (tee hee, on the blog, i mean) pics would be cool too, but don’t cut yourself short, we love to read what you write!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,878 hits

