A few thoughts on 01.02.09

January 2, 2009 at 11:54 pm 3 comments

Sunny! Shelton, Washington

We did a New Year celebration as well as the 2008 Christmas celebration, all in one really fun, blessed day.  All 11 of us eating, watching football, eating, playing, eating, watching USC totally destroy some Big 10 football team (does the Big 10 ever win a bowl game), eating, opening presents (we really cut back on gifting this year and it made it more fun) did I mention eating.  Four boys 4 and under and one beautiful girl, along with 6 adults in a new house, on the first day of the year.  Doesn’t get a lot better for me.

What am I resoluting about this year?  I have to do something about eating.  I am too old to eat like I do but I don’t really want to change and it gets harder all the time to find the “want to”.  I do pretty well for a while and then just fall off the wagon.  It has to stop!  Sounds strangely like an addiction.  Shhh…

I must get back to reading significant books.  My brother in law Bob, gave me a book for Christmas (Soul Survivor-Yancy), and I am reading it and it just makes me more resolute to read often and widely like I did for the past 50 years.  The culture we are around these days, doesn’t make reading a priority so I just fall into that pattern and I don’t like it.  I asked for book reading ideas last year and got a few good ones.  Will start there.  Any more?

Changing eating patterns is enhanced by exercise, something else I am not that into any more.  I used to run many miles a week (ran 6, 26.2 mile marathons in my past life), played racquetball regularly, walked, but just can’t seem to find the right thing for my bod.  Gotta do it though, or I am doomed to be fat, slow and totally out of shape when I get to the big 60.

The new year holds some exciting opportunities for new ministry and continuing to build on what we began last year.  The RV lifestyle is still working for us and we hope to continue it while keeping some important ministry focuses on the front burner.  We love Western Oklahoma but love some other places too. 

2009 is going to continue the trend begun in 2008-CHANGE.  Hebrews tells us that everything that can be shaken, will be.  Don’t think it was necessarily referring to 2009 but it is a reference to reality.  Things get shaken, thrown around and mixed up.  If what we want in life is for things to remain the same, it doesn’t happen.  Apparently shaking things up is a good thing.  We get really set in our ways, comfortable, secure, and frankly soft and I don’t think that is the best way for followers of Jesus to live, so the Father shakes things up.  We are totally in a shaking period.  I don’t think it is the final shaking but it is going to be pretty wild for a while.  But that Hebrew scripture promises that we have been given a Kingdom that cannot be shaken.  Seems like a good thing to be resolute about Kingdom advancement during times of shaking.  Our focus cannot be on the shaking but on the Kingdom.  When we seek first the Kingdom and His righteousness we can deal with the shaking around us and in fact, advance. 

The times are changing, for sure.  And I for one, think that is a good thing, even though I don’t always like it.  Doing the same thing over and over is not only a habit, it is a rut.  Jesus people are not destined for ruts we are destined for Glory.  His Glory.  Jesus told His followers and in turn us-Don’t be afraid kids, for your Papa enjoys giving you a Kingdom. (my translation)

Welcome to an unshakable Kingdom-2009, where there is no reason to be afraid because we serve a great King and have a Father who wants the Kingdom He enjoys in heaven to become the reality of earth.  Your Kingdom come on earth just like it is in heaven.  Cool!

Entry filed under: Authority, Belief, Bible, Christian, Church, Faith, Family, Holy Spirit, Jesus, King Jesus, Kingdom, Kingdom Gospel, Revelation, RV, The Father, Theology, Thoughts, Travel, Western Oklahoma.

In Memory. Monday morning meanderings. Vol.66

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jan  |  January 6, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    Sounds like we will be seeing alot “more” of you Greg! Just kidding…miss ya’ll.

  • 2. amanda  |  January 6, 2009 at 8:05 am

    pretty much anything Barbara Kingsolver, the bean trees, and pigs in heaven. (hope you weren’t looking for Dostoyevsky, which i tried, but couldn’t make it past the first few pages;~

  • 3. A Son  |  January 3, 2009 at 1:25 am

    Traveling Mercies, by Ann Lamont, John G. Lake writings

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,727 hits

