Monday morning meanderings. Vol.63

December 16, 2008 at 7:00 am 5 comments

Sayre, Oklahoma

Wow, talk about cold.  Washington (all of the NW actually) is in a deep freeze, with snow, rain and wind.  The east coast is a mess and here in the Heartland it is as cold as we have seen it during our time here.  What makes it cold here is wind chill.  We are in the minus temps because of 20-30 mph winds.  The trailer has been surprisingly warm but we are running the furnace non stop, which we have never done before.  We also have to keep water running to keep from freezing up.  No real end quick end in sight anywhere that I can see.  Arizona is even cold!

Item one.  I am certainly no cowboy but I know a bunch of them and have grown to appreciate the culture and relationships we have with these men and women who have lived their lives in the rodeo and western world.  Some of you know that the National Finals Rodeo just completed its 10 day run in Las Vegas.  The NFR is the pinnacle for any professional cowboy or cowgirl.  The top 15 in each of the events, as judged by their winnings, is invited to the NFR where they participate 10 straight nights to win the World Championship buckle.  A year ago our friend Charlie took us out to the local truck stop to meet Stran and Jennifer Smith.  Stran and Jennifer are Charlie and Lorissa’s great friends and they wanted us to meet them.  We had no idea who they were or what they were.  Over the last year or so we not only know who they are we know what they are–world class tie down roper (Stran) and ESPN commentator (Jennifer).  Saturday night it was fun to watch Stran win his first world championship and be interviewed by Jennifer. What is even better is they are both Kingdom people, determined to use the platform they have been given to change the world.  Find out about Stran and Jennifer HERE and HERE and HERE .

It was kind of cool to watch some of the NFR with Yandy and Bobbi, a young couple who we are friends with.  Yandy is Stran’s nephew and knows most of the people we were watching.  We are so blessed to have so many friends here who are our kids age.  It isn’t the same as being with our natural children but our Spiritual kids are pretty great!

Item two.  Our friend Maggie out in Washington posted a comment to my post about the Summit.  Maggie’s comment was the 1000th on the Juniper Tree.  Linda suggested there should be a prize for such a huge feat so Maggie we are working on a special prize for being the 1000th comment on this blog.  I bet, if you all would have known there was a prize you would have worked harder to be number 1000.  Start lining up for the big 2000.

Item three.  I was reading a book review on one of the blogs I frequent when I realized I had not read one new Christian book in the last months, at least that I could remember. I have reread some of my favorites recently, like Abba’s Child but nothing new.  Why is this an item on the weekly meanderings?  Because I cannot remember another period of time this long when I have not read anything new of substance.  (I have read a lot of novels, probably too many)  What is substance?  Something with no pictures or plot.  Something that makes me think, something that makes me wonder if I have it right, something that makes me say, “now that is interesting”, something that makes me want to tell my friends or family that they just have to read this book.  The last book I can remember that made me think any of those things was Agape Road by Bob Mumford and that was a year ago.  (Bob was one of the speakers at our recent Summit and I will be doing a recap on Bob’s teaching this week)

So as we get ready to enter another new year, how about some of you recommending some books, without pictures or plots, that will make me think, wonder if I have it right, say “now that’s interesting”, something to tell my friends they have to read.  Help me out here.  I need to get my brain back on active.  Include them in a comment and then others can benefit too.

Item four.  I have posted some of Christine Sine’s poetry before and many of you appreciated it.  Today (actually tonight) I leave you with her latest Advent Meditation.  Usually I would type it here but instead I provide the link HEREEnjoy and while you listen, invite the Christ to come and visit you in a new way this season.

Bless you all.

Entry filed under: Advent, Belief, Blogroll, Church, Culture, Faith, Friendship, Kingdom, Kingdom Life, Monday meanderings, PRCA, Rodeo, Thoughts, Uncategorized, Western Oklahoma.

Summit Recap. Tim Johns (2) Summit Recap. Bob Mumford

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BS  |  December 17, 2008 at 4:05 am

    how about JESUS wants to save christians by rob bell
    or
    soul graffiti by mark scandrette
    i haven’t read the one by our reletive but i hear it is good and i enjoyed the one by rob bell.
    speaking of…somebody once told me he is a heretic…to which i replied, aren’t we all…at least a little?
    i get annoyed when people get called heretics or when people call others heretics…stupid.
    let me know what you think of them when you get done.
    also, let me know when you start the one by mark and i’ll read it at the same time…you’ll probably get done sooner than me though!
    b-

  • 2. Maggie  |  December 17, 2008 at 3:57 am

    Thank you, for your blog Greg. I most certainly am elated that I was the 1000th. person to comment. I can truthfully tell you that your blog is a blessing to me. It is a gift to me when I read it. Please keep it up.

  • 3. Christine Sine  |  December 16, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    Thanks for mentioning the Advent meditation. People can also download this and another meditation in a leaflet of morning and evening prayers on the Mustard Seed website. http://msainfo.org/blog/advent-morning-and-evening-prayers
    Blessings on all you do

  • 4. amanda  |  December 16, 2008 at 10:10 am

    the Christine Sine thing is BEAUTIFUL!! Thanks for such an uplifting, moving link!

  • 5. Harris/Jeanne  |  December 16, 2008 at 9:39 am

    A book that we read and enjoyed is The Shack,
    by William Young.We have given copies to our kids and recommended it to others. Food for thought.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,009 hits

