Sovereign.

October 8, 2008 at 9:15 pm 5 comments

Thanks to all who have commented on my post What lies beneath.  They were articulate and helpful.  I appreciate your concern, prayers and hope filled direction.

What you don’t get to read in the comments are the words Linda shares with me day after day, encouraging, hopeful, consistent, loving, rebuking, exhorting and caring.  She doesn’t just read what I write, she lives with what I feel, fear and sees me struggle and goes on loving me, faithfully.  For those of you who do not know our past, you do not know what she has lived through, including the loss of our son Paul Scott, disappointment in me, the rejection by a faith community she thought was different, leaving a home she loved and work she excelled in and was affirmed by, walking together with me through some very difficult days while consistently and honestly affirming that her God will not leave us or forsake us.  That we continue to walk together and enjoy most of life together makes me a blessed man.  She seldom grows weary in well doing…  Since I do, it is good the Father put us together.

This blog has always been about the things I am thinking and feeling.  I make no apologies for it.  It is a blog, a journal, it is not intended to speak for anyone other than me.  I am grateful that there are many who read it and learn from it.  From time to time my angst does come out but I have discovered that even those posts speak in a helpful way to some of you, who also struggle with down times, doubts, disappointments and fear.

So today I offer this:

God is sovereign over all things, including nations, economies (stock markets, housing, inflation, etc.) and people like us. Yours, O Lord, is the greatness and the power and the glory and the victory and the majesty, for all that is in the heavens and the earth is yours… You rule over all. (1Chronicles 28:11-12)

God’s sovereign oversight is never shaken and His purposes are never compromised. In other words, He does not worry when banks fail nor does He call emergency sessions in heaven when markets tumble. Remember this and stand firm…I am God and there is no other…My counsel shall stand and I will accomplish all My purposes. (Isaiah.46:8-9,11)

Our sovereign God also has tender compassion for our current situation. He cares about the issues of everyday life that concern us. Humble yourselves under God’s mighty hand so that at the proper time, He may exalt you, casting all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you. (1Peter 5:6-7)

Frankly this sovereign, compassionate God is our only real source of hope.  Join me in refusing the CNN-Fox-NBC-ABC-CBS-MSNBC-NY Times-Newsweek, etc, view that the promised solution for our ills rests in market adjustments, economic forecasts and different political leadership. That is a lie that produces anxious fear. Our God alone will see us through. Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the Lord our God. They collapse and fall, but we rise and stand upright. (Psalm 20:7-8) God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth gives way… The Lord of hosts is with us. (Psalm 46:2,11)

Our lives never have been, nor will it they ever be, defined by our bank accounts, credit rating, mortgage status or retirement fund balance. We are so much more. Jesus said, ‘Do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing? (Matthew 6:25)

We must trust God for today, and only for today. Each day is a decision to rest in Him, just for this one day. Then tomorrow we get up and do it again.  We must over and over again refuse to ask “what if?” questions. Following Jesus is nothing if not an everyday decision to trust our Father.  It is about faith. (period)  Do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble. (Matt. 6:34)  The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness. (Lam. 3:22-23)

Thanks for reading.

Entry filed under: Belief, Bible, Christian, Culture, Faith, Family, Finance, Financial meltdown, Government, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Kingdom, Money, Politics, Revelation, The Father, Theology, Thoughts.

If you flunked Economics 101 read this. McCain, Obama and other nonsense.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ws  |  October 25, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    You did a great job calling our attention to those great verses which many of us know but some of us fail to devour as sustenance for these times.

    Linda, Is that 2:15 a.m. accurate? Thanks for posting. I am blessed with inlaws.

    You people move around so much that I can’t be sure where you are reading this but if you are where I think you are, tell those “greats” that their pictures are making me almost famous. I haven’t shown tham to all my friends yet but I’m working on it. I’m off this morning to see my oldest “great” play football. Jalen starred in the last game I saw (and I don’t even like football!) When I get a little, (no, a lot) smarter, I’ll send you a picture of Jeannine with her first fish taken just minutes before I fell in the well. Have you heard about that?

    I have been impressed with what Manning writes about God’s love for us. He says that if we were to ask the apostle John about his identity, he would not say, “I am an apostle, a disciple, an evengelist” but he would say, “I am the one Jesus loved”? John 20:2

    It’s time for breakfast. Have you tried pouring applesauce over cherrios?

    Love, DAD

    DAD

  • 2. Your Wife  |  October 10, 2008 at 2:15 am

    While I appreciated your what-lies-beneath post, this post shows me who the REAL you is. This post speaks to your choosing to trust – to have faith that God is who He says He is and that He is doing what He says He will do. As you have quoted: without faith it is impossible to please God. Impossible! When we operate out of faith, we please God. When we trust no matter what the circumstances scream, we please. You are pleasing Him and in turn, I am blessed. Thank you for being honest. Thank you for being strong and courageous, for not being discouraged or dismayed and for trusting that our Father is with us everywhere we go. I love you, Gregor’ (PS – thank you for the kind words, they mean a lot to me.)

  • 3. Russ Denney  |  October 10, 2008 at 2:13 am

    Amen and as always you help me.

  • 4. Mike S  |  October 9, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    This is a great post. If I could just apply it at all times….

  • 5. amanda  |  October 9, 2008 at 9:37 am

    great is His faithfulness! i didn’t comment on what lies beneath, becuz well that is a dangerous area right now, but this, this is great. you are so right that we don’t need a bunch of talking heads who get paid TOO much to tell us how to fix what ever the current ailment du jour is. i don’t even watch/read/listen to the news anyhoo (no i don’t live in a hole, although lately…)

    God is GOOD, folks, get it? i do confess to asking what if? alot more than i am proud of, but i ask LOTS of questions anyway (ask anybody who knows me, they will TESTIFY!) no only do i appreciate your take on His sovereignty, but i greatly appreciate your angst and honesty. you and Linda have shown us lumps, bumps and all. that i can say is truly a lifeline for some of us. you ARE blessed Greg, that Linda has been so steadfast is one thing i aspire to be. you are both so much of what i aspire to be, and yet you are human too. opinionated, funny, sometimes cranky, and altoghether human. your honesty is so important in that what lies beneath isn’t always so different, and that my friend is sometimes the only difference between sanity and oblivion. i think today’s post should be required reading for the media and politicains (maybe not the 1st part, but than maybe so) but than i think a lotta things, don’t i?

    as always thanks

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,871 hits

