Friday (Monday) morning meanderings. Vol. 1 (Vol.58)

October 3, 2008 at 7:55 pm 1 comment

How did it get to be Friday already?  It seemed like everyday I had good intentions of writing but then life would get in the way.  While I am no way as busy as I was when I was pastoring, this week was busy in a way that I haven’t been in a while.  Here are a few of the things that made me busy:

Item one. Convergence Summit.  From November 13-23 we will have our first, of what we expect to be a twice yearly gathering of men and women from around the country, here at Trinity.  Convergence School of Ministry is an ongoing learning experience for the Family here in Western Oklahoma but the Convergence Summit is an intense 10 day experience that will bring together 50 or so folks to interact with Truth, build relationships and be mentored by a group of leaders from Florida, Georgia, Kansas and Sayre.  There is a lot to do in getting things finalized and put together.  Linda is actually working harder than me but it has kept us busy.

Item two. Truck driving.  Our truck has some mechanical issues that needed to be addressed so rather than pay someone to take it to our mechanic who is 100 miles east of here, I drove it myself.  So there was taking it up there and bringing it back.  Both took the better part of a day.  Then I have been going with a friend to learn how to drive a winch truck.  Winch trucks are used out here in the oil/natural gas industry to move frac tanks  (Find a pic of a frac tank here and a winch truck here.) For those in the NW hauling frac tanks is similar to driving a log truck, because the roads are often just roughed in to get to and from the well site.  I described it to Linda as four-wheeling in a Peterbilt.  A 10 mile haul often takes an hour or more and requires your full attention.  My friend Lyle who owns the truck and was gracious enough to take me along on his 14-16 hour day, also let me hook up the tank, drive, back the tank into place and drop it.  (find out about fracturing here)  I am trying to learn how to do this type of trucking because I think relief driving might be more of an option.  I spent two full days with Lyle and learned a lot. As usual my biggest issue is backing. When all the tanks are in place there are nearly 100 of them and all are placed less than an inch a part!

Item three. For nearly 3 years now I have earned little or no income and while we have got along fine with our investments and living simply, it seems like time to find something to do that will get me back into the Social Security system (I don’t bother worrying about whether it will be there 10 years from now) and earn a little income.  I got my commercial drivers license as a potential way to provide some of this income.  The truck we own is leased to a local company and we have a driver who is doing a good job and wants all the work he can get and there are some insurance issues related to a new driver that I didn’t anticipate.  I have spent a number of hours trying to find a way to drive for income, learning to drive (truck school taught me a lot, but truck driving can only really be learned by driving a truck), tallking to experienced people in the business, and doing research.  I think it will come together.

Item four.  This is my 301st post.  I have been on this blogging adventure since January of 2007 which is about 600 days so I have posted, on average once every two days.  Not bad, especially since the last three months I have posted about once a week.  There have been over 81,000 views on the site which just means I have a little traffic to the site but what is more pleasing is that the visits have come from every state and from over 40 different countries.  I started blogging because I needed an outlet for my thoughts, a place to share my pain and my journey back to wholeness (I think I am getting close) and a place to keep our friends and family updated on our travels.  I don’t “need” to blog as much as I used to, but I like it so will keep it up at some level for the foreseeable future.

Item five. No post I have ever done has produced more hits than this one about injured bull rider Lee Akin. There have been literally thousands of visits to the site to find info about Lee’s recovery from a horrible bull riding accident that severely damaged his brain. Because we were in Washington for 3 months I did not see Lee and Mary during that time, so when we returned I had opportunity to see the progress he has made during that 3 months.  Lee is making progress every day, but the progress has naturally slowed down.  With an injury like he had, the progress is very slow but in his case it is steady.  He plays golf, shoots pool, takes care of his daughter Jada, goes to regular physical and speech therapy and spends time with Mary and his friends.  It seems to me he is doing very well.  His brain injury was to the place in his brain that controls speech and so he has difficulty forming words and getting the words he is thinking to come out his mouth.  So, Lee is in Florida for the next couple of months in an intensive speech therapy program which should really get him over the hump in his communication ability.  His recovery is a miracle, there is no other way to explain it.  For a great feature on the Akins including video check here.

Item six.  Our young friends Tarah and Kasey Cronquist welcomed Kaden James G. Cronguist to their family September 25th.  We are so excited for them and are enjoying following their progress as a family on Kasey’s blog.  You can find it all right here.  Our love and congrats to all of you!

Entry filed under: Belief, Blogroll, Culture, Faith, Family, Friendship, Kingdom Life, Lee Akin (PBR), Miracles, Monday meanderings, Northwest, Rodeo, Thoughts, Travel, Truck driving, Western Oklahoma.

So, are you a Charismatic now? Part 2 What lies beneath…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kasey  |  October 4, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    Thanks for the shout out, we are certainly excited to have our little guy with us and to be parents. God is good.
    Congrats on your blog and its readership. Over 300 posts is quite an accomplishment! Our friend Raya just celebrated her 300 post last week too at Paper Pony. Check out how she celebrated: http://www.paperpony.net/2008/09/300th-post.html

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,878 hits

