Monday morning meanderings. Vol.57

September 23, 2008 at 7:42 pm 1 comment

Sayre, OK

No it is not Monday and yes I am running behind.  The best of intentions and all that… There is something about this blogging deal, that if you write everyday or nearly everyday you do better than if you are just hit and miss.  It seems, to me a little like preaching, preaching all the time is easier than just preaching now and again, because there is always something peculating in your brain.  Seems the less I write or preach the less I have to say.  Does that make sense?

Item one.  The weather here in Western Oklahoma is just terrific!  Highs in the low 80’s and lows in the mid 50’s.  This may be the best weather anywhere in the country but nobody I know moves here for the weather or comes here for vacation.  It really is beautiful out here.  Being back with this good Family is always so refreshing.  They are accepting, glad to have us here and make us feel as if we are the most important link in the chain, while at the same time making everyone else feel the same way.  It is a “peaceful, easy feeling…”  I am still trying to figure out how to best use my time and learning to roll with the way things are done here.  This is a very laid back, “it will get done when it gets done,” kind of approach to life and work.  Sure there are deadlines and we meet most of them but that intense, driven, franetic pace I have experienced elsewhere is not here.  It is frustrating sometimes but it is good for me to learn to take life as it comes, not forcing things or timetables but enjoying the moment with people who I care about and care about me.  It just takes a little getting used to every time we get back in here.

Item two. Found a fun site last night.  It is called the World Names Profiler.  You put in your surname (that’s your last name boys) and then see where people with that surname are congregated all over the world.  The largest concentration of Scandretts is in New Zealand where there are 27.9 Scandretts per million in population.  There are only 1.41 per million in the USA but Brad and Summer are working on that.  You can find the site here.

Item three. I haven’t driven a truck since I graduated from truck driving school and got my CDL until yesterday!  I went out to the yard where our truck is parked when it is in town and drove one of the other trucks.  The truck I drove has it’s best miles way behind it but none the less, I got behind the wheel and soloed for the first time.  That is I drove a semi tractor by myself for the very first time!  After I figured out the shift pattern, things went pretty well.  Our Peterbilt is at the yard today, so I am going to go and drive it.  I am pretty excited about it.  Out here in Western Oklahoma the roads are straight, you can see forever and there is almost no traffic.  Perfect place for me to get comfortable. Did I say I was pretty stoked about driving our truck!

Item four.  Here is another post from Stuff Christians Like.  Find it here.  If you have gone to church most of your life, like I have or have watched the way Christians do “stuff” then you will find this blog a good laugh.  There is a name for those of us who have grown up in church-we are GUBAs, Growing Up Born Again.  Not sure it is totally a good thing to be a GUBA but there are ways to escape it’s clutches and just be a follower of Jesus and one of those ways is to read Stuff Christians Like and laugh at yourself a little.  (read the comments too, they are really good.)

Item five. I started this post writing about the great weather and the beauty of Western Oklahoma and so will conclude it with today’s Nouwen devo.  Trust me, it fits: How do we live in creation? Do we relate to it as a place full of “things” we can use for whatever need we want to fulfill and whatever goal we wish to accomplish? Or do we see creation first of all as a sacramental reality, a sacred space where God reveals to us the immense beauty of the Divine?  As long as we only use creation, we cannot recognise its sacredness because we are approaching it as if we are its owners. But when we relate to all that surrounds us as created by the same God who created us and as the place where God appears to us and calls us to worship and adoration, then we are able to recognise the sacred quality of all God’s handiwork. 

Have a great week and stay in touch!  I am going to get in a groove, I really am.

Entry filed under: Belief, Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Family, Friendship, Henri Nouwen, Holy Spirit, Institutional church, Jesus, Kingdom, Monday meanderings, Thoughts, Travel, Truck driving, Western Oklahoma.

Long time gone. So, are you a charismatic now?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. amanda  |  September 23, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    like the surname site, lots of us wilgenburgs in Holland no surprise there.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,878 hits

