Long time gone.

September 18, 2008 at 3:11 am 2 comments

Sayre, Oklahoma

Anyone who knows me well, knows that for almost every word or idea, I can come up with a song with that word or idea in it.  For example: we were driving along and saw a street sign with the name Loretta on it and what pops into my head?  The Beatle song “Get Back” that contains this line; Sweet Loretta Martin thought she was a woman…  Then there was the conversation yesterday where someone said something about there being a “harvest moon” last night and I thought …shine on, shine on harvest moon up in the sky…  I am nothing if not an intergenerational song rememberer.

So today as I thought about getting back into the groove of blogging, I thought about how long I had been gone from writing and into my head pops the title of this blog “Long time gone” , the CSNY song of my youth.  (That’s Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young to the uninitiated.  Perhaps the greatest band in history.  All great song writers and musicians in their own right but as a group, amazing.)  It has been …along time comin’ and (it was a) long time gone.  Love that song.

But with this post I am back.  I have pretty much taken the summer off even though I managed to meander most of the time and returning to Sayre I hope will put me in a “writing state of mind”.  (New York State of Mind-Billy Joel)

So what is on tap for the next few weeks?  More on the Kingdom.  I think I am on #17?  I want to answer a question I was asked while in Washington- “So are you a charismatic now?”  I also want to keep writing about some of the big issues I think we face as a country, as believers and as the Family.  I hope to bring back the Friday Funny so if you have heard any good ones lately, send them my way.  Monday morning meanderings will still be posted, mainly because it is a way to keep up with our family and friends who seem to be interested in what we are up to. There will be some preaching, some teaching, some ranting and all, I hope done with honesty and clarity.  One new idea I am thinking about is to invite various people I know to be guest bloggers on the Juniper View.  If you want in on that let me know and if you have suggestions for topics I am open to that as well.

The key to blogging and developing a blogging audience is consistent writing on interesting topics, especially “controversial” topics.  Obviously being a long time gone has lost some of the core followers of the Juniper View but I hope it won’t take long to get you back.  Thanks for reading.

Entry filed under: Authority, Belief, Charismatic, Christian, Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Family, Friday Funny, Friendship, Humor, Kingdom, Music, Thoughts, Travel, Uncategorized.

Monday morning meanderings. Vol.56 Monday morning meanderings. Vol.57

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. amanda  |  September 19, 2008 at 2:04 am

    SO glad to have you back, sorry we missed catching up with you all when you were “home”

  • 2. Maggie  |  September 18, 2008 at 7:23 am

    Welcome back Greg. Looking forward to your future blogs. Don’t forget that one funny I sent you. You thought it would take some time to write it. The one about where we put things and as we do remember we come up with something else we forgot. Or, do you remember that one? Just a thought. I believe your readers will relate to it. Looking forward to seeing Linda when she comes back. Keep on blogging

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,029 hits

