Monday morning meanderings. Vol.51

July 22, 2008 at 5:23 am 5 comments

Grapeview, Washington

Beautiful Washington weather; 77, sunny and just plain beautiful.  When the weather is good in the NW, like it is now, there is no better weather, any where.  A little bump in the weather scheduled for tomorrow.

Item one. Preaching was fun.  Love to preach, especially when the pressure is off as it is at this point in my life.  I am free, maybe for the first time, to say what I think the Spirit is saying to me without pulling any punches.  What a great audience, with many good friends in the house.  Thanks Mark for the invite, glad you enjoyed the break.  I will be speaking at Mt.View Alliance again next Sunday.  Glad to have you if you are interested.  Service is at 10:30.

Item two.  Learning to drive, back up and understand the inner and outer workings of a heavy duty truck has been up and down.  Today was down, the last time out was up.  We drove downtown Tacoma, (for those of you in Oklahoma, Tacoma is bigger than OK City) along South Tacoma Way, a very busy business district and then on to I-5 for my first freeway experience.  I didn’t handle the pressure very well, missed a number of gears, hugged a curb too tight, and stalled the truck on a slight incline.  Yes it was ugly.  I intend to do better tomorrow.  Two weeks down and two to go.  What was I thinking?

Item three.  Congrats to my niece, Andrea, who gave birth to twins today.  Not sure of the gender but they both weighed 5 lbs 7 oz.  My brother Mike and sister (in law) Vicky are the Grandparents.

Item four.  Being back in Washington has been great, especially the opportunity to be with our kids and grandkids.  All four of the grandsons are terrific, fun to be with and each has a very distinct and pleasant personality.  I am biased in every way but their parents are doing a great job with the next gen and I am proud of them all.  Being a grandparent is great and I am so thankful we are able to live this life we live that gives us freedom to be here with the kids for this season.  I am all in, in the grandparenting gig.

Item five.  Congrats also to my niece Katie who was recently engaged.  She and her husband to be are in training for career missions in Niger, which I think is in West Africa.  Katie is a nurse, a good language student and shows a sincere love for the Father and a love for serving His most needy children.  I have not met husband to be, David but I am certain he shares her desires as well.  Wedding planned for early 2009.  Katie is the middle daughter of Linda’s sister Ann and bro in law, Glen

Have a great week and if you think about me during the day, when I am out in the 18 wheeler, please pray.  I could sure use it as I find it easy to get discouraged with my progress.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Monday morning meanderings. Vol.50! Monday morning meanderings. Vol.52

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mousewords  |  July 24, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    If there’s one thing I’ve learned with writing, it’s that the last 300 words before a goal are always the hardest. So when you’re most discouraged…literally, the dawn is on its way.

    Keep hanging in there and pressing forward! You can do it, you’ll feel stronger, and you’ll rejoice in your accomplishment!

  • 2. amanda  |  July 22, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Greg, don’t give up! I took my CDL test with the state testor trainer (intimidating enough on it’s own!) and went from hauling super B trailers (yes 2) to a 48′ step deck. The step deck didn’t follow as well, let me tell you. Aside from jumping a curb, forgetting you aren’t “supposed to” shift in the intersection and almost killing it (i think i made the poor guy hit his head on the roof) on an incline, i still made it. if i can do it you can to!

  • 3. Randy Warner  |  July 22, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Greg,
    Keep plugging — everyone gets discouraged about progress in tough tasks. Congratulations on having the courage to tackle another challenge. All in all you will look back and be very proud of yourself, that you had the guts to go for it. You’ll make it, keep chipping away. I know I’m proud of you. Thanks for sharing. I will continue to pray for you and your progress.

    Randy

  • 4. Grampa Warren  |  July 22, 2008 at 8:10 am

    I’m sure it was an oversight – the twins, one boy, one girl, are my greatgrandchildren.

  • 5. Andy Taylor  |  July 22, 2008 at 7:18 am

    Greg,
    I will definitely be praying for you……as soon as I pray for the people who will be near you on the highway!! Keep on Truckin’ and don’t look back!!
    Andy

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,727 hits

