Monday morning meanderings. Vol.50!

July 14, 2008 at 7:04 am 3 comments

Grapeview, Washington

It doesn’t seem possible, but this is the 50th edition of the meanderings.  I find it hard to do something five times in a row without getting bored or distracted, so it is amazing that I have done this 50 times.  Missed a few times so it has been more than a year since the first one. This past week I also crossed the 75K mark in page views on the blog so that was fun to see happen. 

I write the View so friends and family that want to keep up with us have a way to check in once a week or so and see where we are and what we are doing.  What is weird is having a significant number of people who I don’t know who read it.  They must not have a lot to do.

With all the effort expended in school I just haven’t felt like writing anything for the Juniper View.  I guess the real re-start from the sabattical will have to wait till August.

Item one. I finished my first week of truck driving school and passed the classroom portion.  Between the three tests, the state requires to get a CDL, and the 11 tests the school puts you through, I took 14 tests between last Saturday and yesterday (Friday).  I took and passed all the state ones because you have to have them done before you can do the pre-trip inspection test, the backing test and the road test, which I will do in 3 weeks. Just wanted to get them out of the way.

I had no idea it would be this intense to get a CDL.  I leave the house at 4:30 in time to be in Tacoma by 5:45 am to start class.  Basically you are listening, answering questions, filling out log books, taking tests for 8.25 hours and then I drive another hour plus back here.  I am not used to that kind of a schedule and by the time dinner is over I am really tired.  For the first few days of the class I had the best score but after the final I fell back a few spots but I passed and now I am ready to get in the truck for the next 3 weeks.  It is really good for my mind to do this and actually it it fun, all but the drive back and forth.  Thanks to Doug and Jeanee I have a little car to drive that costs a whole lot less to drive than our big diesel pick-up.

Item two.  Everyone is having a great time staying here at Mason Lake.  Linda is able to spend time with Lesleeand Bill and as an added bonus gets to spend time with Traci and the 3 grandboys.  Brandon is off to work early so she is able to be a big help to Traci and really enjoys the boys.  We hope to see Brad, Summer and Canyon pretty often too.  We had a great time with them over the long 4th weekend.  Pray that their house in Utah sells soon.

Item three.  The Henri Nouwen devo the last few days has been on woundedness and it has been excellent.  Thought I would include the last 3 days for your encouragement and exhortation:

Nobody escapes being wounded. We all are wounded people, whether physically, emotionally, mentally, or spiritually. The main question is not “How can we hide our wounds?” so we don’t have to be embarrassed, but “How can we put our woundedness in the service of others?” When our wounds cease to be a source of shame, and become a source of healing, we have become wounded healers.

Jesus is God’s wounded healer: through his wounds we are healed. Jesus’ suffering and death brought joy and life. His humiliation brought glory; his rejection brought a community of love. As followers of Jesus we can also allow our wounds to bring healing to others.

Our own experience with loneliness, depression, and fear can become a gift for others, especially when we have received good care. As long as our wounds are open and bleeding, we scare others away. But after someone has carefully tended to our wounds, they no longer frighten us or others.

When we experience the healing presence of another person, we can discover our own gifts of healing. Then our wounds allow us to enter into a deep solidarity with our wounded brothers and sisters.

To enter into solidarity with a suffering person does not mean that we have to talk with that person about our own suffering. Speaking about our own pain is seldom helpful for someone who is in pain. A wounded healer is someone who can listen to a person in pain without having to speak about his or her own wounds. When we have lived through a painful depression, we can listen with great attentiveness and love to a depressed friend without mentioning our experience. Mostly it is better not to direct a suffering person’s attention to ourselves. We have to trust that our own bandaged wounds will allow us to listen to others with our whole beings. That is healing.

I am thankful everyday for the friends and family in Washington, Oklahoma and Arizona who have brought so much healing into our lives this last year.  I hope and pray that I can be a wounded healer for others the way you have been for us.

Item four.  For those of you here in Mason County, my friend Pastor Mark Sartori has invited me to speak at his church July 13 and 20.  I am really looking forward to sharing whatever it is the Spirit has for us.  If you are interested in coming, the service at Mt. View Alliance begins at 10:30. The phone number there is 360.426.3294.

 

Entry filed under: Belief, Church, Culture, Family, Friendship, Henri Nouwen, Holy Spirit, Kingdom, Monday meanderings, Northwest, RV, Thoughts, Uncategorized.

Monday morning meanderings. Vol.49 Monday morning meanderings. Vol.51

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. randwagner  |  July 20, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    Hi Greg,

    Sounds like things are going well for you all. I bet it’s good to see the fam. Kaylee mentioned that you were thinking about trucking. I always thought that behind the wheel was a great place to contemplate Existence. Anyway, have a great time preaching and please tell Mark Sartori I said hey. Thanks for sharing your heart…and Nouwen’s:)

    peace

  • 2. Royal  |  July 14, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    Glad to hear that the classes are going well and that you will be stepping into the rig. Have fun, keep safe, and blow the horn for the kids.

  • 3. Kasey  |  July 14, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    I wish I could hear you preach on one of those two dates. And I wish I had your discipline to write each week. Its been a great way to follow what you guys are doing, even if I don’t comment often.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,871 hits

