Monday morning meanderings. Vol.49

July 6, 2008 at 5:25 pm 6 comments

Gig Harbor, Washington

We arrived back in Washington July 3rd, in time for the Mason Lake fireworks and a long weekend with Bill and Leslee.  Brad, Summer and Canyon came and stayed that night and we had a great holiday weekend.  This morning (Sunday) we came up to Gig Harbor to go to church with Brad, Summer and Canyon and now we are watching Canyon while his dad and mom go to Nick Cronquist’s wedding this evening.  It is really good to be back in the Northwest, but we miss our Oklahoma family and already anticipate our early September return.

Item one. We expect to spend the next couple of months here in the Northwest, spending time with our kids and their families.  When we planned this time we didn’t know that Traci and her family would be returning to this area but they will be back here this week and will be staying in the same place we are until they can find a house and get settled.  So, not only will we be less than an hour from Brad and his family, Traci and her boys will be right next door to us!  It will be a fun summer.  Summer and Brad are having baby #2 the end of August so we will be here at least till grandbaby #5 is on the scene. I will have the opportunity to do some preaching and other ministry while we are here and catching up with friends will be a priority but for the next month my time will be taken up with school.  See item two!

Item two. Back to school!  Tomorrow morning I am beginning a month of school and I bet no one will guess in what field I will be studying.  Anyone?  Anyone?  I am going to school to get my Commercial Drivers License (CDL).  Yep, going to be a truck driver.

Here is the story.  Whenever the stress of ministry life would get to me I would jokingly say to Linda, “I am going to go be a truck driver”.  I have always loved the big rigs and with all the road trips we take, I entertain myself by looking for the various makes of trucks and the different trucking companies going up and down the highways.  Being a big rig trucker has always been more of a joke than anything I really thought I would do, but sometimes we get to live our dream.

Since I have not earned any income for the last three years and Linda the last year, we depend on investments to take care of our very small needs.  Our Father has met all our needs this last year and our resources have not gone down much, but we have been looking for an investment that would allow us to keep doing life as we have been without getting a full time job.  Our Oklahoma friend Daryle, had recently started a small trucking company hauling pipe and “frac” tanks for the oil and natural gas industry that is going gang busters in Oklahoma and other neighboring states. Since he knew we needed to find something to produce more income, he asked us if we wanted to buy a truck and lease it to his company.  What a blessing to have a friend willing to do what God had told him to do just to help us!

But what kind of fool invests in a diesel truck that gets 5 mpg when diesel is nearly $5.00 a gallon?  It seemed to be a pretty risky idea but the more we talked about it, prayed about it and did research it was clear it was a God thing and so we bought a used Peterbilt truck and a trailer, formed a limited libility corporation called Juniper Tree, LLC, hired a driver and hit the road for Eternal Trucking Service.  The price of diesel immediately went up a dollar, but fortunately all of our business is with a company that is full steam ahead to find new sources of energy and they are making big money and so are willing to pay good money to get what they need to keep the “boom” going.

We have a great driver, who came to us in another of those God things and he is doing a great job, making good money for himself and for us and taking good care of our truck, but I felt like I needed to know as much as I could about the trucking business and driving big trucks so I can fill in when our driver needs a day off or someone else in the company needs a break and also know how to care for this little business we have started.  Currently we get about 3 trips a week, which is all one driver can do in the hours he is allowed to drive, so I am thinking if I can take one trip a week while we are in Oklahoma, while our driver is taking the required time off, it will give us a little more money and still allow us to keep doing ministry and travelling as we have been.  (For a picture of a truck very similar to ours click here.)

So I am going back to school, beginning tomorrow morning at 6am, and when I have finished the course I will have my CDL and be able to live my dream of driving an over the road truck.  I think it will be fun.

Item three.  I intend to start writing regularly again with some more Kingdom posts, especially focusing on the importance of relating to God as Father.  Coming into relationship with God as Father is the greatest revealed mystery of the Kingdom and it will revolutionize your spiritual life.  I hope you will follow along with me in the weeks ahead.

It is good to be back.  Thanks for reading.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sabbatical. Monday morning meanderings. Vol.50!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mousewords  |  July 24, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    I’ll be following your adventures! And I very much look forward to hearing more of your thoughts on the Kingdom. This has always been one of my favorite blogs. 🙂

    Many blessings to you in your new venture!

  • 2. kaylee  |  July 9, 2008 at 1:27 am

    Yay! Welcome back. Hug my family for me!..and yours while you’re at it!

  • 3. Royal  |  July 8, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Glad to see that the sabatical is over, I think truck driving will give you some interesting tidbits to write about. Keep us informed, I hope that you guys will be around when Jayden and Rachel head back to the NW.

  • 4. amanda  |  July 8, 2008 at 9:20 am

    Greg,
    I am SO EXCITED that you are getting a CDL. If you want to have a practice spin or two get a hold of us when you are in our area. Gert just left for a east coast trip but is usually around and it would be a BLESSING to help out. Congrats on the impending grand baby! Do send me a pic of your Pete when you get one.

    God Bless,
    Amanda

  • 5. Kristin Roy  |  July 7, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Chuck is now working for the city of Gig Harbor. If you need any help with that CDL class give us a call or an email! We would be more that happy to see you and he would be happy to assist! We are happy to have you in the area even if only for a visit!

  • 6. Rachel  |  July 7, 2008 at 7:38 am

    Yea! You’re back!!

    I hope you are enjoying your stay and I hope you guys might still be there when Jayden and I come back for a visit the end of Aug/ beg of Sept. If not, I guess we’ll just have to meet up over here in the midwest, where I am currently melting into a puddle thanks to all the humidity.

    I love that you are becoming a truck driver. I hope you will post a picture of yourself behind the wheel, or better yet, maybe you can just drive it up to my house when you come back here! 🙂

    Miss you and Linda!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,009 hits

