Weeds (by Linda)

May 29, 2008 at 4:42 pm 4 comments

From time to time Linda, my wife, has something she wants to write and publish but it isn’t often enough to warrant getting her own blog, though she is the creator, photographer and writer for our dog’s blog My name is Jake (don’t tell our grandboys that Jake doesn’t write it).  So, when she has something I love to post it here because she has good things to say and you really seem to like reading it.  What follows is something she wrote.  I know it will bless you.

Sunday I was walking around the church property, thinking about what needed to be done before the Camp of Champions started. I saw all kinds of things that needed doing, from fencing on the ground needing to be put away to little bits of trash needing to be picked up, but my eyes lit on the weeds. I was reminded of how, when we lived in our house (now we live in a fifth wheel) and we were about to have people over, I would weed my little heart out – thinking I had to get all of those weeds pulled – what kind of gardener would people think I was, after all? God said to me, there are always going to be weeds in a garden/yard, just as there will always be “weeds” in your life – things that need to be pulled- taken out…your garden was never perfect – your life won’t be either… AND that’s okay! Remember, just as you had to let perfection in your garden go, you have to let perfection in your life go. You are loved and accepted just the way you are.

That was Sunday, this morning Jake was outside playing with another dog. He jumped up on the dog’s owner and started to bark. Many of the dogs here on the property during the Camp of Champions run next to their masters without a leash – Jake cannot do that. They don’t jump on people or bark, but Jake does more than I like. Get the picture? As I was comparing Jake to other dogs, I was reminded of how we judge and are judged on how our dogs act. If they act appropriately, then we are judged to be good owners. God said to me, you are unique, so is Jake. No one knows his personality or the relationship you have with him. It isn’t up to anyone else to evaluate the job you are doing with your dog. That led me to quickly remember the pressure that we felt as parents for how are kids acted – especially in public. Good behavior = good parents (the goal). God said, be gentle with parents; each child is unique, just as each parent is. Raising a child is difficult work in this world – perfection isn’t the goal, relationship is. Pray, don’t judge. Encourage, support, love. That’s what I do with you; you can’t do anything less for others.

I believe that these two illustrations came from my Father out of my working to memorize Psalm 103. I’m thankful for the truth of verses 8-14. “The Lord is compassionate and merciful, slow to get angry and filled with unfailing love. He will not constantly accuse us, nor remain angry forever. He does not punish us for all our sins; he does not deal harshly with us, as we deserve. For his unfailing love toward those who fear him is as great as the height of the heavens are above the earth. He has removed our sins as far from us as the east is from the west. The Lord is like a father to his children, tender and compassionate to those who fear him. For he knows how weak we are; he remembers we are only dust.”

God knows me – I deserve to be treated harshly: I make mistakes, I’m weak, broken. But God loves me anyway; He is for me, He is my Father, and I am His child. It’s really easy to assess how others are doing, trying to hold them to a standard that makes me feel better about myself. Living in the truth of those verses allows me to be gentle with myself and, thus, others. Judging others, for any reason, can’t be part of who I am. What about you?

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Camp of Champions. Monday morning meanderings. Vol.46

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maggie  |  June 3, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    My Dear Sister In Christ, I LOVE who you are!! When I have issues that I need answers to, I know I can turn to you for guidance. You have a gift of saying things in a way that we can all relate to and understand. Miss you, see you soon.

    Great is our God who is always here for us and has gifted us with your wisdom.

    Love in Him…

    Maggie

  • 2. Kenan  |  June 2, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Linda, this posting was used by the Lord to uplift my heart today. Thank you for writing this and letting the Lord use you.

    Kenan

  • 3. leslee  |  May 29, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Linda, love you for your unique observation on life. We tend to make it more difficult than God intended for us. How nice to know we need to weed and are still loved for who we are. Look forward to seeing you both soon.

    Bill

  • 4. amanda  |  May 29, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Linda what a blessing to read what you posted today. i am constantly striving to be neater, better, i woulnd’t have said perfect until i read your post and He said to me, let the horse, children, weeds be. He has been reminding me lately just how much i need Him, and need to let go of all my need to do it right do it all now and just let Him. Yesterday was better than today and i was sitting here wondering why, then i read this. Thank you, sure wish you guys were closer

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,026 hits

