Monday morning meanderings. Vol.43

May 5, 2008 at 11:02 am 1 comment

Gig Harbor, Washington

Being back in the NW for a few days has been a lot of fun.  The weather has been, the way it always is here in the spring, rain, clouds, sun, rain, clouds, sun but the last couple of days have been mostly sun.  Like every where else we have been, when it is nice, it is really nice.  We are thankful for the time we have had here.

Item one. Canyon Paul.  It took a while but CP finally has warmed up to me and we are having a good time.  He has been great with Linda the whole time and she is so good with him.  His two favorite words are “no” and “mine” but half the time I think the “no” really means “yes” and “mine” is the word all kids this age seem to learn.  You can see both of Canyon Paul’s parents in him but this time I see more Brad where as just a few months ago it was Summer. Brad and Summer come back tonight and we head back to Oklahoma on Wednesday.

Item two. Salmon fishing. Our friend Royal took Bill and me on his jet sled for a day of hunting for the elusive spring Chinook.  It was a beautiful day on the river and though the catching wasn’t too good the fishing was great.  I love being on the river and going fast in a sled is a great time.  I had one almost to the boat but I didn’t finish but it was all good.  Thanks, Royal!

Item three. Small group.  For several years we were part of a small group who met each week for Bible study, prayer and friendship.  Saturday we got together for dinner and caught up with each others lives.  Doug and Jeanne were not in our small group but they joined us, too.  It was really good to see these friends.

Item four. Bill and Leslee.  We spent several days with them, both here in Gig Harbor and at their home on Mason Lake. So much of life has changed for them but they are beginning to embrace the change as good and to see the “new normal” that is life for those who have lost a child. Our lives intersect in many of the same places so we enjoy our times together.  We hope to travel together some this summer or fall.

I picked up a little book at the McCombs yesterday that I am enjoying; Ten poems to change your life (Roger Housden).  Here are a few lines: He (one of the poets) is saying that your failures can change your life, they can soften you, render you more permeable to worlds you may never have countenanced if you had always met with success in the world…  The heart, like the grape, is prone to delivering its harvest in the same moment that it appears to be crushed…

Those words resonated in me as I returned for the first time, in a long time, to this place where there has been so much joy and a lot of sorrow.  While this will always be one of the places I return to and love, what happened here, both good and bad has allowed me to see many other places, and meet wonderful people I never would have known and so much blessing has flowed to us. Because of the “crushing” there has been a “harvest” in my spirit I would otherwise have missed.  Coming back here for this week has been a revelation, not of what was lost, but a reminder of what has been gained.

It has been a good visit here in the Northwest but it will be good to get on to what’s next.  Enjoy your week!

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Friday (sort of) Funny Kingdom.13 Speaking in tongues.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Royal  |  May 7, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    I was delighted to take you and the others on the fishing trip. I love to see folks who have never experienced the river quite like I have be able to see it the way I do. Every experience in God’s country (That is what I like to call the Northwest) is a good one for me and I am glad that you enjoyed it as well. Next time (there will be a next time) get the fish in the net, I don’t want my reputation taking a hit. Have a safe trip back, I will see you in the midwest.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,728 hits

