Kingdom.07 Forever

April 5, 2008 at 11:08 am 5 comments

These posts on Kingdom are good for me to do because I am putting in writing what I believe and am learning about this most important subject, but they have been the least read of any series I have ever done.  My hits and views are as low as they have ever been and I don’t know if the topic is to blame or if the Juniper Tree has run its course. 

But the topic is a good one, an important one, one that I, of course, think everyone needs to understand and live out but they are a bit more “doctrinal” than probably most are interested in.  But I forge on, because I do think it is valuable. If you have not been following this Kingdom series you can click the Kingdom category on the sidebar and read the first six posts in the topic or find the first post here.  There is a clear, I trust, progression to the posts that would be helpful before reading what follows. 

In 2 Samuel 7 God makes a prophetic promise to David that is the first concrete assurance that the Father intended to create a Kingdom that would endure forever.  Since the earthly kingdom of David ended with his son Soloman and the dividing and eventual collapse of his kingdom under Rehoboam and Jeroboam this promise to David of an eternally enduring Kingdom must have been a reference to the Son of David, Jesus Himself.

Moreover, the Lord declares to you that the Lord will make you a house. When your days are fulfilled and you lie down with your fathers, I will raise up your offspring after you, who shall come from your body, and I will establish his kingdom. He shall build a house for my name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever. I will be to him a father, and he shall be to me a son. When he commits iniquity, I will discipline him with the rod of men, with the stripes of the sons of men, but my steadfast love will not depart from him, as I took it from Saul, whom I put away from before you. And your house and your kingdom shall be made sure forever before me. Your throne shall be established forever.'”

The recovery of the Father’s intentions lost in the first Adam would come to pass in the Second Adam, Jesus of Nazereth.  Though born into obsurity and lacking the outward traits of a King, Jesus came on a mission.

  1. Jesus came to accomplish the work of redemption.  He came to carry the sin of the entire human race to die as a substitute sacrifice for everyone past, present and future.  This is the aspect of His mission and purpose that is universal and obvious, and it receives the most attention.
  2. Jesus also came to demonstrate by what He said and what He did the nature and character of His Kingdom.  The overwhelming majority of His teachings are focused on the Kingdom and it is the first topic He takes up in proclaiming His mission and the last topic He shares with His followers before returning to His Father.
  3. Jesus came to establish the church, as the primary agency for establishing and advancing His Kingdom.  The increase of Jesus, which will not fail (He must  increase) will happen through His Family, now known as the church.  The Kingdom of God is already preeminent in heaven but It is not yet preeminent here on earth.  That is why we pray your kingdom come… on earth as it is in heaven.  His goal is not evacuation of His Family from this earth and into heaven as is the common belief of despensational and other believers.  His goal is to establish a spiritual house of living stones of those who are called by His name and advance through them the Kingdom.

If we are to accomplish the purpose and mission of our King, as we are called to do, then we must see that Jesus’ purpose in coming was not to provide a way off of this planet before it self destructs, but a way to advance the Kingdom promised in and to David by unleashing through our service and character the preeminence of Jesus throughout the world. 

It is the cross of Jesus that sets in motion this tremendous recovery of the Kingdom and we will write about that next time. 

 

 

Entry filed under: Authority, Belief, Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Institutional church, Jesus, King Jesus, Kingdom, Kingdom Gospel, Kingdom Life, Revelation, Supernatural, The Father, Theology, Uncategorized.

Kingdom.06 Self-centered. Monday morning meanderings. Vol. 39

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Randy and Pam Warner  |  April 9, 2008 at 3:14 am

    Keep them coming. I am enjoying the read and the challenge. I dont see enough of the Kingdom speak out there…this is good for me.

    Thanks
    Randy

  • 2. amanda  |  April 8, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    i too agree, don’t give up, i sometimes have to REALLY focus to read and REALLY get what you are saying, but you are my link to the Body right now, don’t be discouraged, He put this to you for you to do.

    Thank you,

  • 3. John Willis  |  April 6, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    I am enjoying the series. To see what I believe about the Kingdom put down by another is a great reassureance. Please keep going.

    God Bless

  • 4. Doug Wright  |  April 5, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    I agree with Mike S and appreciate the time you take to think it through and then teach it as your led. Thanks for the good word.

  • 5. Mike S  |  April 5, 2008 at 11:37 am

    I still faithfully read every post you do. I sometimes am lost in some of these Kingdom posts but I try to re-read and usually I get it.

    I found your ‘way off the planet’ comment humerous to start with. Then I read the ‘but’ and realized again that we are given the responsibility to spread the Word. That is why we are here. I truly want that to be the part of my story that I am able to develop as Jesus works through me to finish my story.

    Don’t let the lack of hits discourage you. Some of us are gaining insight from your writings. That will be good for us.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,728 hits

