Monday morning meanderings. Vol.38

March 31, 2008 at 1:03 pm 1 comment

Sayre, Oklahoma

The longer we are in Sayre, it seems we get busier, but I can’t see it ever being like it was when we were both working high stress and high responsibility jobs.  We have enough to do, the challenges are not as great or as many but there are enough to keep us sharp and provide focus.  We are beginning to think about ways to support ourselves and perhaps even the possibility of buying some property for investment and a place to park when we are here in Western Oklahoma.  Things are good, enjoyable and we feel blessed to have this life.

Item one.  For a lot of years it was my responsibility to write and deliver a message every week.  I would speak at least twice each Sunday morning sometimes 3 times and while I enjoyed it immensely, it was a huge burden for me.  Yesterday, Pastor Andy asked me to speak at Trinity, while he was out of town, and of course, I accepted.  It was really fun and the people were generally responsive and encouraging.  It was the largest group I had spoken to in two and a half years, but it was really not much different than speaking to the smaller groups, I have been lately.  I try my best to do a good job, no matter how many people are involved.  The overwhelming thought when I was finished?  I am glad I don’t have to do that next Sunday!

Item two. The Barna Group has done some new research on the divorce patterns of society including the “born again” group.  For years we have been told that 1 out of 2 “Christian” marriages end in divorce and that the rate for “Christians” is no different than the rest of the culture.  You can check the stats out here, but they do seem to debunk the myth of 1 in 2 “Christian” marriages failing.  For evangelicals the rate is 26% or 1 in 4, while the rest of the culture is at 33%, if I read his report correctly.  If you add the evangelical to the non-evangelical the rate of divorce is equal to the culture as a whole, but it is still less than 1 in 2. While those are still sorry stats, they are better than previously thought and perhaps getting better.

Item three.  My name is JakeLinda has created a blog for our grandkids and the children of our friends, that sees life through the eyes of our little Cairn Terrier, Jake.  She has just gotten started on it, but so far it is fun and seems to be interesting to the boys.  You can find the latest post here.

Item four. Yeah! It is baseball season once again. For a lot of years we would attend 8-12 Seattle Mariner games and baseball has always been my favorite of the big venue sports.  Spending our time here in Western Oklahoma means not being able to see my Mariners on TV and I am going to miss watching them regularly.  But, today is Opening Day and guess what?  The M’s open up against the Texas Rangers and so will be on TV here! I am excited.

Item five. Is anyone else bored to tears with the presidential race?  If I hear “yes we can” one more time…!! One of the best blogs I know of, that critiques things political from a perspective that is neither conservative nor liberal, secular or spiritual, but is candid and fresh in analysis, comes from Biola University and John Mark Reynold’s piece on the lost world of Democrat politics is a good read.  You can find it here.

Item six.  Glow sticks, Hip Hop and egg drops. What was your Resurrection Sunday like?  I am seldom more thankful that I am not a lead pastor any longer than I am on the “holy days” of Easter, Christmas, Mother’s Day and 4th of July.  It was such a struggle to come up with something fresh to say or do each year and the pressure, real pressure, to top the year before, got old.  But check this post out.  If I had to do this I would rather stick an ice pick in my eye than play this game.  Check it out here. (seriously look at it, it’s amazing).  I am totally fine with churches doing whatever they do. I am just so thankful, I don’t have to do it or try to compete with it.

Item seven. My friend Sumi and her family, continue to grieve the loss of their daughter, Jenna.  I so appreciate Sumi’s honesty and the depth of her commitment to trust the Father during this very, very hard time.  Because we have been through a similar loss several years ago, I am drawn to others whose lives have been rocked in this horrible way.  Take a minute to read Sumi’s heart and then pray for her and her family.  Find her words here.

Have a great week.

Entry filed under: Belief, Christianity, Culture, Easter, Faith, Family, Friendship, Humor, Institutional church, Jesus, Monday meanderings, News, Obama, Politics, Thoughts.

Friday Funny. One liners. Kingdom.06 Self-centered.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Maggie  |  March 31, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    Thank you for sharing all that is going on in your lives.

    Tonight Mike was saying ” I wonder if Greg would like garlic fries.” Of course I started laughing. I remember when both of you went to the Mariners game and he just reeked of garlic. Do you remember? We were all staying at the fair grounds in the R.V’s. We love the memories of our times together.

    So, is this going to be a permanent piece of property or is it just a place to park?

    Our prayers are with Sumi and her family. Thank you for sharing.

    Planning on checking out the Jake blog. He is the cutest little guy. I am sure he and MacHarley would have fun together. Looking forward to your future visit here.

    M&M

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,871 hits

