Monday morning meanderings. Vol.34

March 3, 2008 at 11:59 am 4 comments

Sayre, Oklahoma

The last 24 hours produced the most inclement weather we have seen since we have been in Western Oklahoma.  Yesterday at 3 pm it was 77 degrees and then the wind started to blow and the winter storm warnings were posted, a tornado watch was in effect, a high wind warning and a blowing snow warning were posted, all at the same time.  The temp is now about 35. The wind has really been roaring through here.  Gusts above 40 mph but consistently in the 30’s.  The trailer rocks and rolls like a ship in a storm at sea.  Anything that is not tied down is now in Texas.  Makes me really miss Arizona!

Item one. Ever think about what you would do if you didn’t do what you do?  This journey we have been on for now 30 months has set me aside from what I did for so long and allowed me to think about that question more than I ever did before.  So, how about you?  What would you do if you didn’t do what you are doing?

Item two.  Do you have any rules you live by related to listening to or joining others in being critical of someone else?  I never knew what to do when someone would come to me with some criticism of another person but it happened a lot (seldom does anymore) and I needed these rules.  Maybe they will help you.  Find them here.

Item three.  My first real exposure as a teenager, to contemporary Christian music, was Larry Norman.  I loved music and was seriously into secular rock and roll and so when Larry arrived on the scene playing Christian music that had a good beat, I was hooked.  Larry passed away last week and I wanted to note his passing because of the huge impact he had in my life and countless other rock and roll loving Christians.  Remember these lyrics?

I want the people to know
That He saved my soul
But I still like to listen to the radio
They say that rock and roll is wrong, we’ll give you more chance
I say I feel so good I gotta get up and dance
I know what’s right, I know what’s wrong and I don’t confuse it
Why should the devil have all the good music
I feel good every day
‘Cause Jesus is the Rock and He rolled my blues away

Read more about Larry and his impact here.

Item four.  I have a few young mothers with young children at home who read the Juniper Tree, including my own daughter, Traci.  Came across this good post that should resonate with those of you who are trying to do the hard work of raising little ones.  Read it here.

Item five. For a number of years I have been wanting to write some things about the Kingdom of God and what it means to be a Kingdom citizen.  I am putting a little pressure on myself by writing it here that I plan to begin doing that writing, at least some of it on the Juniper Tree, this during the next few weeks.  If you are a follower of Jesus then you are a Kingdom person.  To say you are a citizen of the Kingdom of God is really more descriptive than claiming to be a Christian.  Our responsibility is not really to get people saved and into going to church but to introduce them to their King and their mission of bringing the Kingdom of our God to bear upon the kingdoms of this world.  I am excited about this project because I know it will help me more than anyone else.

Item six.  A Monday morning prayer:

May the peace of the Lord Christ go with you,
wherever He may send you.
May He guide you through the wilderness,
protect you through the storm.
May He bring you home rejoicing
at the wonders He has shown you.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Back in Sayre Kingdom.01 It’s about the Kingdom, st_ _ _

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Eric Schmitt  |  March 4, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    “He’s a rock that doesn’t roll” words from Larry Norman still resonate in my heart & Mind! He will be missed! Greg, I check up on you regularly & am always challenged by your transparency. What would I do if I wasn’t doing what I was doing? I lived out this in my life for the past six months & it wasn’t easy…but beneficial! Just wanted to let you know that you are still “pastoring” to the hearts of many, including mine!

  • 2. Mike S  |  March 3, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    I have no idea what I would do if I didn’t do what I do so I just keep doing what I do. It would impact many people if I didn’t do what I do so I think I am to keep doing what I do. I want to add to my scope of what I do more Kingdom oriented things. That way maybe I can have impact on people in more lasting ways.

    Why don’t I remember Larry Norman?

  • 3. BS  |  March 3, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    shoe store … much like ALIFE in NYC.
    selling, t-shirts, and shoes.
    showcasing art.
    live dj spinning.
    a place to share JESUS … more of a community to share JESUS.
    urban.
    still connecting with the youth.
    shoes, music, art, t-shirts, community, JESUS …

  • 4. amanda  |  March 3, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    Item 1 made me stop and think, at first i just applied it to my work, but now am thinking about my whole life, i’d like to think that i would still be a count on her in trouble kinda gal, and still have the boys, i think for a job something to do with singing or painting and drawing.

    Item 2 made me go WOW, how to the point can you get and these are good rules i think in the case of gossiping too. I smiled when i read item 3 going who is that guy? then i read the lyrics and realized i had heard him too. I like that song!

    Looking forward to your writing on the Kingdom. i wonder if you realize that you are still a leader to many people.

    O and yes i do follow your links i am now gonna go check out the one for moms.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,871 hits

