Back in Sayre

February 29, 2008 at 12:21 pm 5 comments

Sayre, Oklahoma

We arrived back in Western Oklahoma Wednesday afternoon and after some difficulty backing our 5th wheel into our place we settled in to our second or is it third home?  Thanks to all of you who commented or sent emails about my homesickness for Washington.  I know, things change, nothing ever stays the same, you have to move on, you have to know when to fold them and all the other true statements of life but no matter where we roam there will always be a tug on my heart for the place and the people in the place called Mason County, Washington.

One of the things that being in Sayre allows me to do is write.  I have some current responsibilities here and hope to have more, but putting some of my time into writing for the Juniper Tree is part of my calling that is affirmed by those who I serve here.

After more than 260 individual posts to this blog over a 14 month period, finding topics to write about is not the biggest problem, the problem is to keep them readable, interesting and helpful to the 200 or so regular readers of the blog.  I not only value your input I need it to keep my end fresh and worthy of the time you give to it.  The only real disappointment I have related to the Juniper Tree is that there are so many consistent readers but few consistent commentators.  My friend Doug wrote recently “write interesting stuff and you will get comments”.  Doug has never been shy in telling me how things really are!

But comments or not I will forge on because blogging at it’s core is about the blogger.  This is not a commercial enterprise, in fact the blogs that make the blogger an income tend, it seems to me, to become more about what people will read than what the writer wanted to say, this is, however a place for me to write what is on my mind and in my heart and the invitation is there every time I post for you to read what I write.  I am always pleased that what I write gets read, but at the same time if I am going to do this right, it have to do it because value flows back to me when I do.

I will be writing more on the Kingdom as I am convinced it is Everything the person of Biblical faith is to be about.  I want to critique the church and church people.  I have some political things to rant about and I want to bring some thoughts to bare on the culture both Christian and secular, among other things.  There will continue to be Monday Morning Meanderings and my friend Leslee is pushing a Friday Funny.  Will have to see about that one.  Just being in Sayre is always good for a post or two as well. 

Blessings to all of you and thanks for reading and when it is interesting in whatever way, bring your comments to the table.  I might even respond to them and make the journey even more interesting.

Entry filed under: Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Family, Friendship, Holy Spirit, Institutional church, Jesus, Kingdom, News, Politics, Revelation, Supernatural, The Father, Thoughts, Thoughts that make me go "hmmm", Travel.

Monday morning meanderings. Vol.33 Monday morning meanderings. Vol.34

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mousewords  |  March 9, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    Since I found your blog a few months ago, I have truly enjoyed reading your perspective! Your writing and faith together are thought-provoking and inspirational. I’ve been feeling bad that I let myself get too busy to keep up on the blogs I like–so here I am of a Sunday, up to my eyeballs in reading, and now commenting to let you know, “Keep up the great work! I’m glad you’re out there writing.” 🙂

  • 2. Doug Wright  |  March 1, 2008 at 9:20 am

    I appreciate your blog and your call to continue. A scripture I’ve been examining is Romans 12:1-2 as it relates to all our positions in what happens to us and around us. The call to do Gods will is different to all who experience His call. What is really cool is how the one called (or two) respond to the call. The offering of ones self to Gods service (especially through tough circumstance) is hopefully inspiration for others to follow their personal call.
    Romans 12:1-2 Therefore, I urge you , brothers, in view of Gods mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, Holy and pleasing to God-this is your spiritual act of worship. Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, then you will be able to test and approve what Gods will is-His good, pleasing and perfect will.

  • 3. chuck in arizona  |  February 29, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Glad you’re back in Sayre…but we sure miss you, Linda and Jake ! I’m a faithful reader of anything you share on your blog….and we continue to direct our friends/family to the juniper tree for ‘refreshment”. We sure appreciate your “committment to the cause” (and the Kingdom !) Love you guys!

  • 4. amanda  |  February 29, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    i second Leslee, i think a Friday funny would be fun! Oops i think that was too much fun. Glad you’re back in Sayre, have been missing your posts. i will try and comment more too, sometimes it’s just hard to get what you want to say to be what you write.

    Leslee, i like the thought about the right clothes, i definetly need some of those.

  • 5. leslee  |  February 29, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Thanks for writing Greg….thanks for keeping it mostly interesting, often thought provoking, rarely offensive (if ever?…oh i’m sure it is to one or two), sometimes challenging and always always straight from your head and heart….that’s the best part….to stay connected to you…..you who has been given a God given gift to preach…and so keep preaching and teaching and reaching out…to us with what God puts on your heart. I’ll try to be brave and comment but you know me…..more heart than head…..or sometimes more head than heart. Am convinced you need the Friday funny….everyone needs a little something to laugh about so that might push you to share your funny side a little more….bill and i know your great sense of humor….you can share it…..laugh and the world laughs with you…..cry and you make me cry too…..
    by the way,henry nouwen’s book reminded me that from Colossians we are to cloth ourselves in sincere companssion, humility, kindness, gentlness and patience …..i always think about putting on the armor of God, but i’d better get dressed in the right clothing first!!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,728 hits

