Monday morning meanderings. Vol.33

February 25, 2008 at 9:29 pm 6 comments

Chanute, Kansas

It isn’t Monday morning but it is still Monday so that is better than last week. The wind is howling, it is supposed to snow tonight and this free RV park has no water in the winter.  Fun times.  We are here to have some service work done on our 5th wheel before the warranty runs out next month.  Not the time to be in Kansas.  (link here)

These meanderings will focus on where we have been the last week.

Item one.  Read Vol. 32 of M3 to find out about the first few days of our trip from Arizona to Kansas. (who does that in the winter?)

Item two.  Since we had to go east at some point we decided to do it as far south as we could, for as long as we could, in order to stay as warm as possible, for as long as possible.  After our night in New Mexico we started across the huge state of Texas.  Second only to Alaska in size, Texas is about 270,000 square miles, and second only to California in population, Texas is just plain big (about 30 million Texans).  773 miles wide and nearly 800 miles from top to bottom it has an amazing amount of diversity.  Deserts, gulf coast, mountains (the highest point is nearly 9K ‘) pine and oak forests, prairie and grass land not to mention some of the largest lakes in the country.  While it is sometimes considered a part of the southern region of the US it is also very much a part of what we think of as the southwest, but really Texas is it’s own region because of it’s size and diversity.  One could spend months in the state and never see it all.  Really Don’t mess with Texas it’s just too big.

Item three. Lordsburg (NM), Van Horn, Big Spring, and Abilene, TX and Ardmore, OK.  These are the stops we made a long the way.  We try to stay in state parks whenever possible but the Lordsburg and Van Horn stops were at KOAs.  Here are links to the two state parks we stayed in while making our way to Kansas. Abilene State Park and Lake Murray State Park.  Both were great places and if we had time we would have stayed multiple nights at both parks.

I really wanted to ask a couple of the women we met in Abilene if it was true that “the women there don’t treat you mean” but I chickened out.  Can’t say Abilene is the “prettiest town that I’ve ever seen” but it was nice.

While we were in the Abilene area we saw one of the big B1 bombers, based at nearby Dyess Air Force Base, fly over.  I had never seen one in the air before and it was a cool treat. 

Item four. Maybe it is my reflecting on the old song Abilene I just mentioned that got me thinking about and singing in my head the song Detroit City.  Somebody out there has got to remember it.  The simple chorus goes like this: I wanna go home, I wanna go home, Oh, how I wanna go home.

It doesn’t happen a lot but there are times, like tonight when I get this overwhelming desire to just go home, to go back to Washington, to Mason County, to Shelton, to Webb Hill Road, to the place I lived longer than any other place in my life.  There is so much sadness, loss, disappointment, shame, anger, and other strong emotions attached to those places yet there is also a strong, at least tonight, a pull to go back, to go back home.  Before coming to Washington, I never lived any where longer than 5 years and Mason County was my home for more than 18 years, so like no other place it is my home.  I miss my job, I miss the people I worked with (hard to believe, given how I came to find out, they felt about me) I miss our house and property, I miss my little Whaler, I can’t even put into words how much I miss the kids and grandkids and having us all together, I miss a whole lot of people who are too numerous to mention but most of all I just miss the life I had there that was a mixture of all those people and places.

Don’t get me wrong, this life we have is a good one.  How many people in their 50’s get the chance to do what we are doing.  To meet new people, to see new things, to travel and to minister the grace of a Loving Father to a whole lot of people.  I love Trinity and the people there, I love the people in Arizona that we just spent nearly 2 months with and I am mostly happy with life as it is, but for tonight…

Oh, how I wanna go home.

Entry filed under: Authority, Belief, Christianity, Culture, Faith, Family, Friendship, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Kingdom, Monday meanderings, Music, Northwest, RV, The Father, Thoughts, Travel.

Monday Morning Meanderings. Vol. 32 (Wednesday edition) Back in Sayre

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  February 28, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    I agree with what Maggie says, we miss you both so much. I’m forever thankful for the impact you’ve had in our lives.

    missing you here too.

  • 2. Royal  |  February 26, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    I certainly hope that you are not missing the fishing. It is terrible right now, maybe you need to come back, like a good luck charm. We miss you as well.

  • 3. amanda  |  February 26, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    ditto. you are much missed here, and i wanna go home to. i laughed when i first saw that chorus, it’s one of those things that occasionally you do, you just want to go back, but knowing you can’t you let yourself dream a little, feel sad a litlle, and then let Him get you back on track.

    we miss you too.

  • 4. formedofclay  |  February 26, 2008 at 11:08 am

    You are missed as well. Your presence here changed many lives, most of all mine. I am reminded of a song I have grown to love. It doesn’t all fit, but this part fits well. “…when you’re standing at a crossroads, and there’s a choice you’ve got to make. I guess it’s gonna have to hurt. I guess I’m gonna have to cry. and let go of some things I love to get to the other side. I guess it’s gonna break me down, like falling when you try to fly. it’s sad but sometimes moving on with the rest of your life starts with goodbye.”

  • 5. Maggie  |  February 26, 2008 at 9:05 am

    Just so you know, the people at home miss you too. Our life has changed without you. I am sure God will work this out for all of us.
    There is an emptiness within, not seeing or doing things with you .
    If it is any consolation, when I went back home to Scotland for the first time, things were not the same. That is when you realize God has other plans for you. So, we love you and miss you. Whether you realize it or not a lot of people in Shelton feel the same way we do. You impacted a lot of our lives and we are very thankful for that. You left us with more than you can ever imagine. In fact you are here in our hearts.

  • 6. kaylee  |  February 25, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    I miss home, too. Sometimes I just wanna go home….to the way it was, to the people I love….just home. You are a part of that “home” too. A part of the past that makes my “home” a place I wish I could go back to. Sometimes it’s okay to just miss the way it was because there were things we loved about the past life we had. Some days I look forward to all the adventure and “new” that God has in store, but sometimes I just wanna go home. I feel that homesick feeling with you.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,727 hits

