Father God.

February 13, 2008 at 10:34 am 1 comment

 Still in Fort McDowell, Arizona

I had an email from a reader who wondered why I always refer to God as Father and I thought this morning I would attempt an answer, albeit short.

First, as far as I know there is no place in the written Word that tells us to refer to the Creator as God but there is clear directive to address Him as FatherWhen you pray, pray this way. Our Father, who is in heaven…  This of course from the Lord’s Prayer.  Jesus said …only God in heaven is your Father. (Matthew 23:9) Then the verse I quoted in a post on adoption last week from Romans 8:15 You should behave instead like God’s very own children, adopted into His family–calling Him Father, dear Father.  Spend some time in the story of the prodigal son and see if you don’t see the desire of a Father for His children.

It seems reasonable to me that if we are to be His children, and His family than we should address Him as our Father.  If He had wanted us to be something other than children or family, He would have asked us to call Him something other than Father.

God is a title that addresses what He is.  Father is a term of intimacy describing who He is.  God speaks of Deity, authority, power, dominion, rule and all of those descriptors are accurate and important to describe what our God is like.  God says “this is what I am as Creator and ruler”. It tells us that there is no other being that is like Him.  On the other hand Father sums up the desires of our Creator’s heart to enter into our lives and live with us and love us with unconditional and perfect love.  Father is a word of endearment that says to us “this is Who I am” for you and in you.

God is a title to study, to categorize and describe.  Theology is the fruit of knowing God.  Human beings taking the things they have learned about God and attempting with words to tell what we can know about this Awesome God.  Father, however is a term of affection, intimacy and safety.  He is our daddy, our Abba and it is not so much what we know about Him as it is what we can experience with Him.  God is knowledge while Father is experience.

Father indicates relationship while God speaks of the Wholly Other, the all knowing, all powerful, all present that is our Creator.  We enter into relationship with the Father while we stand in awe of the Almighty God.

For most of my life I only knew the Creator as God.  A Being of all beings. One who could only be known through attributes that didn’t fit any other being.  The fruit of that life long learning was fear, failed attempts at trying to please and impress so as to be noticed and accepted.  It produced a sense of failure and frustration, loneliness and often despair.  But learning to relate to this awesome Creator as Father has produced a desire for His presence, a passion to worship Him with abandonment and joy.  It has created intimacy and trust, freedom and security and most of all what I know about the God comes to life in my relationship with the Father.

There is nothing more important to one who has passed from death to life, come out of darkness into light, gone from lost to found than to come into relationship with the Father who makes all of that possible.  There is a clear and discernible difference in the people I know who are in relationship with the Father and those who know a lot about God.

Only a Father would invite us to make our home in Him as He makes His home in us. (John 14:5)

Entry filed under: Authority, Belief, Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Family, Friendship, Holy Spirit, Institutional church, Jesus, Kingdom, Revelation, Supernatural, The Father, Thoughts.

Monday morning meanderings. Vol.31 Obama over?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mimi  |  February 15, 2008 at 10:39 am

    I can remember spending lots of time learning about God, seeing how much I could know. Now, I’m learning to relate to my Father – there is joy in experiencing Him.

    In Jeremiah 3 the Old Testament God says to Israel, “I thought to myself, ‘I would love to treat you as my own children!’ I wanted nothing more than to give you this beautiful land – the finest possession in the world. I looked forward to your calling me ‘Father,’ and I wanted you never to turn from me.”

    Think about that concept – the creator of the universe looks forward to us calling Him Father! Wow. He is my Father………and…my God. Not one over the over the other, or one without the other, but both.

    The enemy wants to keep us in the place of knowing about God – he doesn’t want us to relate to Him as Father. Why? Because there is power, joy, and peace in the relationship.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,871 hits

