Agreeing with the enemy.

January 30, 2008 at 9:04 pm 1 comment

 Fort McDowell, Arizona

Linda and I subscribe to podcasts (find them here) that come from Bethel Church in Redding, California. It is some of the most anointed preaching I have encountered, not because they are such great communicators or orators but because they say things I can understand and relate to.

For example and this is a paraphrase because I can’t remember it exactly: Never say anything (or believe anything) about yourself that the Father doesn’t say (or believe) about you. 

Here is how I understood what they were saying.  When I put myself down and say negative things about my intelligence, my character, my abilities, my worth, value or whatever, that does not agree with the Father’s assessment of me, I am choosing to listen to the enemy instead of the Father.  When I choose to listen to and believe what the enemy says about me, I enter in to an agreement with him that if “ratified” over a period of time will  bring bondage and build strongholds and lead to all kinds of emotional and physical problems.

Most of us, at one time or another (probably multiple times) have done things we aren’t proud of or that was humiliating, something that grew out of a poor choice or a bad decision.  When we confess our sin the Father says, “I forgive you” and we are immediately back in a place of freedom.  At that same moment the Father chooses to blot out His memory of our poor choice (sin) but at the same moment we also have a choice to remember it or not.  The enemy never wants us to forget our failures and so he comes at just the right moment to remind us of our failure and to tell us what a fool we are, what a disappointment we are, that we might as well go and do it again because poor choices are what we are about and so on.  At the same time, if we will listen, the Spirit is bearing witness with our spirit that we are dearly loved children of a forgetful Father and that we are a saint not a sinner, we are new creations, we are children of promise and so on.

When we listen to the enemy and believe his report we are choosing agreement with the enemy over agreement with the Father.  The more we do that the more it becomes habit and the more habitual it is the more bondage and the more bondage the more of a stronghold.

Ever wonder why you often don’t feel well or why your life seems to always be less than you hoped for or why you don’t enjoy the blessing of a deepening relationship with the Father?  I suggest it could be because you have entered into agreement after agreement with the enemy as opposed to agreeing with the Father.  Start believing what the Father believes about you and watch your life improve.

Not sure this is what Bill or Kris (don’t remember which one) was saying but that is what I like about their teaching.  I hear some comment and it sparks a whole new line of Spirit filled thoughts in my own mind.  So don’t blame them if this is not what they said. 

Entry filed under: Authority, Belief, Charismatic, Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Kingdom, Revelation, Supernatural, The Father, Thoughts.

Monday morning meanderings. Vol.29 Where’s your line?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  February 6, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    I have been wondering how this concept ties to blessing and cursing, especially when the words I speak aren’t heard by anyone else:
    When I say things that aren’t true about another person, am I cursing them? Does the enemy take those words as a tool to use in their life?
    If I speak the truth about someone – am I blessing that person – maybe protecting him/her from the enemy’s attacks?
    If my words matter, and I believe they do, then I need to be careful with my words – those I use about myself and those I use about others. (Matt. 12:36)
    I don’t want my words used by the enemy against me or anyone else. So…I’d better be careful the next time someone cuts me off in traffic and I’m tempted to speak poorly of him/her. (Maybe my mom WAS right – if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all!) 🙂 Blessing not cursing – it’s my choice.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,871 hits

