Monday morning meanderings. Vol.29

January 28, 2008 at 1:27 pm 5 comments

Ft. McDowell, Arizona

After a day and night of Northwest like rain, the sun is out and the weather is not bad here in the Valley of the Super Bowl.  If you are coming for the Super Bowl we will rent you our coach for $1000.00 a night and that’s a bargain. 

Item one. The Monday meanderings are generally a light hearted way to get me started blogging for the week.  There are a few readers who enjoy knowing what we are up to and there are a couple who think it might even be funny (well, there was one person who said they laughed once while reading it).  So if you are not all that interested in where we are or my jaded sense of humor, just skip Mondays.  You know who you are Dennis!

Item two. Speaking of a jaded sense of humor but with a message worth reading, especially if you are a parent, read this from Kamp Krusty.  This is my favorite blog, mainly because you get hooked on the lame way he writes only to discover that he has something really important to say.  Give it a try.  Find it here.

Item three.  Have you ever had your car stolen?  My brother and sister in law were in a motel near Denver International Airport (DIA) spending the night in anticipation of leaving the next morning for some exotic port of call that I can’t remember.  They took an over night bag and a few things into the motel, leaving the rest of their bags in the car.  You guessed it, they came out the next morning to go to the airport and their truck was gone.  A brand new burgundy Tahoe with OnStar and all that.  Think they could find it?  No sign yet.  All their baggage, some money and other stuff you keep in your car-gone!.  Check this out: There is a vehicle stolen in these United States every 26 seconds.  Over 9 billion dollars worth of vehicles go missing every year.  I wonder if the new car dealers steal them so you have to buy another one?  By the way less than 14% of the dudes who rip them off ever get caught.  Who would have thought that Texas thieves prefer pickups and California rip off guys like imports?  Wonder what rigs get stolen the most?  Here are the top ten: Toyota Camry, Honda Accord, Honda Civic, Oldsmobile Cutless (huh?!), Jeep Grand Cherokee, Chevy Full size pickup, Toyota Corolla,  Ford Taurus (surely not), Chevy Caprice (huh, huh?!), Ford F150 pickup.  Want to know why these particular vehicles are in the top 10 of ripped of rigs you can read about it here.

Not a Tahoe in the bunch.  Must be some guys working off a different top 10 list got my brother’s truck.

If I were to steal a vehicle I would steal a Ford F450, Lariat, four door, diesel, long bed, duel rear wheel, 4×4 pickup truck.  And no, I don’t live in Texas and neither do my exes.

Item five.  Here is a site that fits in well with my post on the Glory of God a few days ago.  Find it here.  It is a site about the “heavens declaring the Glory of God…”  I plan to write some more about Glory this week.

Item six.  Have you seen these comics?  This guy doesn’t need many words to get his point across. Check this one out for example and then check it out regularly.

Have a wonderful week.

Entry filed under: Authority, Belief, Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Family, Friendship, Holy Spirit, Humor, Institutional church, Jesus, Kingdom, Monday meanderings, RV, Supernatural, The Father, Travel.

Starved for the Glory of God. Agreeing with the enemy.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anita  |  January 29, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    No old 2-wheel-drive chevy blazers on that list? what a shame.

  • 2. amanda  |  January 28, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    Okay, i really like Krusty & what he had to say, i wish more of my friends were like him, my own sister can’t believe i don’t let my 8 y.o. watch PG-13 GASP!

    Love the cartoon guy, that was good, but the truck, THE TRUCK?! You gotta have a Chevy duramax,crew cab, long bed, dually, 4×4, preferably in copper.

  • 3. Royal  |  January 28, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    I think you have chosen yourself a nice vehicle to take at the low, low price of five-finger-discount. I personally would go with a Dodge truck of comparable size, but only because it comes with a Cummins Diesel. I like the way they sound. With all the rain, did a stream sprout up and spawn fish for catching? I think it is a nice thought anyway.

  • 4. Brad H.  |  January 28, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Not many things would tick me off more than having my car stolen (they can have my wifes car we need to sell it anyways). For me I have an older car a 94 Mustang GT, but its in great shape, I love it low miles and insurance would never give me what its worth. I can’t stand the thought of theft that just sucks. Yeah I am probably more attached to that car than most people should be to a car, but I am not normal or like most people.

    How long are you going to be in Arizona? I have a couple trips down there this spring for work and would love to see you guys if I am anywhere close.

  • 5. Cars » Monday morning meanderings. Vol.29  |  January 28, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    […] Greg wrote a fantastic post today on “Monday morning meanderings. Vol.29″Here’s ONLY a quick extractHere are the top ten: Toyota Camry, Honda Accord, Honda Civic, Oldsmobile Cutless (huh?!), Jeep Grand Cherokee, Chevy Full size pickup, Toyota Corolla, Ford Taurus (surely not), Chevy Caprice (huh, huh?!), Ford F150 pickup. … […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,727 hits

