Starved for the Glory of God.

January 25, 2008 at 11:36 am 7 comments

Fort McDowell, Arizona

I have been putting Fountain Hills on these posts from Arizona and we are very close to it but in reality the RV park is located on the Fort McDowell/Yavapai Nation.  Thought you should know the truth.  Fountain Hills is a much more upscale place then Fort McDowell and I thought it sounded better too.  Now you know what a name dropper I am.

Several years ago I either read or heard a story, told by Pastor Jack Hayford, about a time early in his ministry when he and some of his staff or leaders were in their small building and they each stood in one of the four corners of the room and prayed for the glory of God to descend on the them–it did and it was awesome.  Ever since I have wanted to be somewhere where the physical presence of the Father would come down in an unmistakable way. In fact when we were in Sayre for the dedication of Trinity’s new Living Room (my term) I wanted to ask everyone in the room to go to one of the four corners of the building and invite the Presence to fill the room.  It wasn’t my house so I didn’t, but I wanted to.

Twice today, while reading blogs (a favorite pastime of mine) I came across the words that title this post-Starved for the Glory of God.  Because we are so often caught up in the pursuit of self glory we starve for what is real and what is totally unique-the glory of God.

When we were at the Grand Canyon a few weeks ago I was poignantly aware of my smallness.  If you have self esteem issues the Grand Canyon isn’t going to help!  But wait a minute, actually it does help.  There is greater healing for our souls locking on to something as stupendous as the Grand Canyon then there would ever be in locking on to a view of ourselves. So much of self-esteem issues are really more about self centeredness then they are humility.

How ridiculous would it be if when I was looking at the greatness of The Canyon and I stopped looking and ran inside to find a mirror so I could gaze at my own image?  Looking at something so magnificent in its size and beauty gives us a glimpse of the Glory of God and in the Glory we find what Martin Luther called “appropriate smallness” and it is healing.

Why does the Father leave so much magnificence lying around? It is about glory-the glory of God.  The heavens declare the glory of God, the Scripture says. While visiting Traci and family in Utah we watched a video at their church by Louie Giglio called “How Great is our God”.  It is an utterly amazing statement about the vastness of the Creation and how small we are by comparison.

As I watched it, besides being completely blown back by it, I kept asking myself this question: Why does God waste so much space on a universe so huge and out of proportion to the earth?  Why does He locate this piddling little planet called earth in such vastness?  If there is no life anywhere else in the universe, what do we need all that extra “stuff” for?  Why not just have this planet and forget the rest of it.

The answer, I think, lies in the need to experience the glory of God. It is about understanding the difference between who He is and who we are.  The universe is so huge in order for us to get a glimpse of the great glory of the Creator.  The vastness of the universe shows us that. Lift up your eyes on high and see: who created these [stars]? He who brings out their host by number, calling them all by name, by the greatness of his might, and because he is strong in power not one is missing. (Isaiah 40:26).

Our souls are starving to see, know and enjoy the glory of God. We spend so much time on self-glory, we forget what we were made for.  We were made to experience Glory!  Bring my sons from afar and my daughters from the end of the earth . . . whom I created for my glory, says the Lord (Isaiah 43:6-7). To see it, to revel in it, and to declare it-is why we exist.

We are starved for His glory and the mad obsession we have with ourselves and our stuff is proof. 

Father, show us your glory, bring down your presence until we are overwhelmed by Your greatness, Your vastness, Your majesty-Your GLORY.  Make us tired of us and our stuff by letting us see Your GLORY.  Blind us to us and our possessions with a blaze of Your GLORY.  Satisfy our hunger with GLORY.

For Yours is the Kingdom and the Power and the GLORY!

Entry filed under: Authority, Belief, Christianity, Culture, Faith, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Kingdom, Miracles, Prayer, Revelation, Supernatural, The Father, Thoughts, Uncategorized.

Monday morning meanderings. Vol.28 (Wednesday) Monday morning meanderings. Vol.29

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  February 1, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    I loved when Giglio called God the star-breather. Ps 33:6 – The Lord merely spoke, and the heavens were created. He breathed the word, and all the stars were born. Try to get your mind around that concept – I can’t do it.
    Later Giglio said, “The star-breather became the cross-bearer.” That’s a WOW statement!

    The stars show me there is a God; the cross allows me to have a relationship with that creator-God.

    Ps 103:1-5 is helping me to remember all the Father does for me, and when I remember – acknowledge and tell others, I give Him glory and I am in my proper place.
    Bless the Lord, O my soul; and let all that I am praise His holy name.
    Bless the Lord, O my soul; may I never forget all the good things He does for me.
    He forgives all my sins and heals all my diseases.
    He redeems me from death and crowns me with love and tender mercies.
    He fills my life with good things.
    My youth is renewed like the eagle’s!

  • 2. Laura  |  January 28, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    Great post! The Lou Giglio video is wonderful.

  • 3. chuck  |  January 27, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Great message…I enjoy your “blog” as I have read quite few and will read more in the future; have really enjoyed our visits with you and Linda….what a blessing you both continue to be. P.S. Your’re a much better writer than videographer although Andy really is a “moving target”! In His Love..C&N

  • 4. sumi  |  January 25, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    Great post. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  • 5. Royal  |  January 25, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    If you are an outdoor enthusiast, whether you fish, hunt, ski, hike, etc., then you must know in your soul that you as a person are small in comparison to all. That is not to say that humans have not and will not continue to do great things. We have flown in space, climbed the highest mountains, and crossed the largest oceans, but when we do those things we know just how mortal we are because of the inherent danger present with those types of activities. I am a fisherman to my core, I have fished in many places, and on waters large and small. One thing that always comes to me while I am enjoying that activity is this, “Always respect the water, no matter how calm.” What I am telling myself is that I did not create it and therefore I can not control no matter how great I think I am. God is the only master of the universe, he created it and only he can control it. Personally I like the feeling of being at his mercy, it is simplistic and complicated all at once, the decision to let him guide you seems so easy and yet to know where he wants you to go takes alot of sacrifice and work.

  • 6. Dennis  |  January 25, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    I love you, man, and like knowing where you are on your adventure, but got a bit bored with it. Glad you are writing God stuff again. You were born for it.

  • 7. amanda  |  January 25, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    AMEN. i find that i am most in touch with the Father when i realize my smallnes in all the vastness (is that a word?) of His creation. Be it at the ocean, on the rolling prairies in eastern Wa, He finds me and reminds me what it is all about, HIM!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,871 hits

