Monday morning meanderings. Vol.27

January 14, 2008 at 10:38 am 5 comments

Fountain Hills, Arizona

Windy today, which we have not had since we have been here.  Otherwise it is the same old thing, sunny and 60+.

Item one.  Did you know Arizona has mountains?  I sure didn’t.  When I would think about Arizona I would think desert, Grand Canyon and flat, but Arizona is a very mountainous and “wild” place.  This is not the greatest map but it does show how mountainous this state is.  In fact, if I had to guess, my guess would be that Arizona is in the top 2-3 of states with land mass elevations above 4000′.  Anyone know for sure?  We have been exploring the mountains because the two little fellowships we are helping are in the mountains.  Yesterday we came over the Apache trail from Tonto Basin, Roosevelt Lake area into an area just south of Mesa.  It was an amazing road, like none I have ever been on.  Check it out here.  If you ever come to Arizona, get out of the RV parks and the cities and see some of this beautiful state.

Item two.  Yesterday was the first anniversary of The View From the Juniper Tree.  One never knows where a project like this will go and what difference, if any, it will make.  Having never been a blogger before, not knowing anything about it, I just started and let it flow.  Like the seasons, you could read through this blog from a year ago, up to today and see what season of life I happened to be in at the time I was writing.  I wrote and frankly still write for myself, as an outlet for the things I am thinking and reading about, doing and experiencing, but it has been a neat blessing that there are around 1000 unique hits a week to the site.  Some come because I have an email list of about 50 that reminds some friends and family that a new post is up.  Some come, led by a “tag” I add to the post that indicates a topic that is discussed in the post.  Some come because they once found a tag and now come back because they enjoy, are stimulated by, find what I write interesting, some come because they find a link from someone else’s blog, etc.  When I began most of the hits came from the area where we lived the last 18 years and from places recognized as locations our families lived.  Now most by far, come from locations all over the country and world.

At the time I started we lived in Washington, were travelling in California, (the Juniper Tree was birthed in the Joshua Tree National Park in California) now we are stationed in Oklahoma and visiting Arizona with our address still in Washington.  I have written 223 posts from at least 12 different states this year and there have been over 400 different people comment 690 times to the things I have written.  For awhile I was counting the different countries represented by visits to the Juniper Tree and stopped at over 40 different countries.  One of the really enjoyable things about blogging is watching where people come from to visit the Juniper Tree.

It has been fun, brought some needed release of emotions I didn’t know what to do with and it has been challenging to keep up the pace of writing over four posts each week for a year and to do it at a level that pleases me and continues to bring in readers.  I must admit that I am at a place in my writing where I am less challenged or motivated to write and so the pace has slowed a bit, but I hope to catch a second wind and keep going.  I tell myself it makes a difference that I do this and I know it does because it makes a difference in me.  I am grateful for those of you who stop by.  As always, if you have something you think I could or should write about or you have questions or comments, please don’t hesitate to let me know. 

By the way, the most read post, by far, actually many times by far, is this one.  It has been more than two months since I wrote it and yesterday after Lee and Mary were mentioned on the PBR broadcast there were multiple visits as a result.  I owe it all to you Lee!

Item three. The park we are staying in is almost full because of the largest classic car auction in the country, going on in Scottsdale.  Don’t know much about cars, car shows or car auctions but this one is big.  It goes on for 10 days and multiple millions of dollars of classic cars are auctioned off at gala events.  Here is a link to the auction site.  If no one else is interested I put this in for my brother Mike, who is into classic cars.

Item four.  Each day in our email in box comes a short devotional from the works of Henri Nouwen.  This one speaks in a small way to what I hope The View From the Juniper Tree is and will continue to be.  Not so much successful but fruitful.

There is a great difference between successfulness and fruitfulness. Success comes from strength, control, and respectability. A successful person has the energy to create something, to keep control over its development, and to make it available in large quantities. Success brings many rewards and often fame. Fruits, however, come from weakness and vulnerability. And fruits are unique. A child is the fruit conceived in vulnerability, community is the fruit born through shared brokenness, and intimacy is the fruit that grows through touching one another’s wounds. Let’s remind one another that what brings us true joy is not successfulness but fruitfulness.

Have a great week.

Entry filed under: Authority, Belief, Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Family, Friendship, Jesus, Kingdom, Lee Akin (PBR), Monday meanderings, News, PBR, Revelation, RV, The Father, Thoughts, Travel.

Excellence? Part 2 Monday morning meanderings. Vol.28 (Wednesday)

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Royal  |  January 22, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    It is a nice accomplishment to reach a goal like one year, but I say you should do it until you can not type anymore, wether that is another day or another 20 years! I have enjoyed the posts immensely, and I have learned a lot about myself, the Lord, and life in general. Thanks again.

  • 2. Jamin  |  January 18, 2008 at 1:28 am

    Congratulations on your one year anniversary. Though this is the first time I have commented, I have followed your writings over the past year (from at least 4 countries).

    If you want to explore some mountains, come out my way. Tibet (average elevation of 15,000 feet) has endless mountains to explore.

    blessings to you my friend

  • 3. amanda  |  January 14, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    Happy anniversary! You do make a difference you do, you do. Thank you for your continued writings. May you have MANY years more.

  • 4. BS  |  January 14, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    way to go dad!
    one year and still rolling!
    [so much better than i am doing]
    keep it up.
    i am proud to call you my father and proud of what you and mom are doing to bring little bits of heaven down here to earth.
    thanks for the eternal example you and mom are to me!
    i love you both.

  • 5. Maggie  |  January 14, 2008 at 11:27 am

    Greg, congratulations on your one year anniversary. You have been a blessing to us in what you have written. It takes committment to take the time you have. Thank you for your continued dedication and time for reaching out and touching others.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,727 hits

