Monday morning meanderings. Vol.26

January 7, 2008 at 12:03 am 3 comments

Fountain Hills, Arizona

We arrived back in Arizona yesterday, picked up the RV from a storage lot, pulled it across the street to site 123, took a little longer to set up since we will be here for 6 weeks, and settled into our little home for the evening.  It was good to be back in the “fiver” after two weeks of travel and spending the holidays with our kids in Utah.  We are often asked “where do you live” and the answer is always the same, “wherever the 5th wheel is parked”.  So for now our home is here.

Item one. I can’t say enough about how important our children and grandchildren are to us and what a great time we had with all of them.  6 adults, four young boys and a puppy in any size house is a challenge but in an average size house it is amazing that we not only survived, we enjoyed each other, and came away thankful we have each other, even though we are all very different and live in different states and in different ways.  Traci and Brandon were great hosts and worked hard to make sure we were all happy and satisfied and most of the time we all were.  That is saying a lot and I thank them for letting us all gather at their house.  Where to next year?  I’m thinking Hawaii or second choice Oklahoma.

Item two.  A side note to our Utah visit.  Eyob Mark, our newest grandson, direct from 11 months in an orphanage in Ethiopia, is adjusting to his new family and home very well.  He is still struggling with sleeping, which I think is an ongoing assimilation of a new environment and adapting to the reality that he is loved and safe and this is home.  How a one year old processes all of that is beyond me, but I do think it takes time to recover from the trauma of a 8k mile move to a new home, new people, new smells, new routine and on and on. Brandon is amazingly patient with him and having a patient and loving father, I believe will in the long term, bless this boy more than any other gift his Father has given him.  Traci seems to balance her mothering on all 3 of the boys and so all are doing well.  You can keep up with them by visiting Traci’s blog here.

Item three. Brad, Summer and Canyon Paul are doing well and it was so fun to see them after the longest separation from them we have ever had.  Even when Brad was in college we never went more than a couple of months without seeing him, so seeing them was really special.  Since we last saw Brad he has been diagnosed with diabetes (type 1) and it was a bit of a shock, for me at least, to see him regularly checking his blood sugar and giving himself the shots of insulin that keep him functioning normally.  His brother Paul had diabetes too and so we are familiar with it, but it was still hard to see him dealing with something like this disease (read his own account of his diagnosis here).  Summer is supportive and helpful so together they are making the very best out of a “not so good” situation. Brad loves his new ministry at Chapel Hill Church in Gig Harbor (site here) and Summer loves being home with Canyon.  You can follow their life on their blogs, though they don’t post all that often.  (Summer here and Brad here.)

Item four. Are more of you finding Mike Huckabee interesting?  I first wrote about Gov. Huckabee back in February and several other times since.  There is a pretty good buzz on about this man, who was voted one of the top five governors, during his last year as the chief executive of Arkansas.  I wonder what his lack of international experience will mean, should he gain the top national office, but for now I continue to like Mike.  My prediction of an Obama/Huckabee contest in November still has possibilities.

Item five. Our friends back in Sayre, Oklahoma had a big weekend.  The Big House, Trinity’s new building finally opened.  It is a beautiful building and will make a huge difference in the life of this Family.  There was an open house Saturday and the first services in the building were today.  We really wanted to be there but with our desire to be with the family in Utah it wasn’t possible.  We will travel back to Sayre in a couple of weeks for the “formal” dedication.  What I appreciate most about this church is seen in their attitude toward this new building.  “Just a bigger house for a bigger family”.

Item six.  The View From the Juniper Tree will be one year old on January 13th.  I will wait until them to summarize my first year, however as I begin my second year of blogging I am seeking a new focus and a new reason to keep pounding the keys for another year.  If you have any suggestions, I am more than open to your direction.  I never have much success getting anyone to respond to my questions and active participation is rare but if you have any thoughts on my first year of blogging or ideas for future blogging let me know.  I remain gratified with the amount of traffic on the blog but I would really like to find a way to get more back and forth communication. Here is a link to my first post back on January 13th, 2007.

Have a great week and a great 2008!

Entry filed under: Adoption, Authority, Belief, Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Family, Friendship, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Kingdom, Mike Hukabee, Monday meanderings, News, Northwest, Politics, Revelation, RV, Supernatural, Thoughts, Travel.

Monday morning meanderings. Vol.25 Excellence?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. amanda  |  January 7, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    i don’t know about a theme or anything. i think how you have been going about your blog is the best i have experienced. it is nice to have updates about your family, and also to see how the Spirit guides you. from my personal experience i find it pretty amazing how when i seem to be reaching or feeling lost God somehow always speaks to me through your blog. it isn’t always something you say,do, or ask but sometimes a simple link to somewhere or something else. i still am somewhat afloat churchwise and find your blog very comforting. so i guess my suggestion would be to keep listening to Him and keep up the great work.

  • 2. kaylee  |  January 7, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    Welcome back! I don’t know what the weather was like for you today, but for us in Peoria, it rained and poured most of the day. Plus I have a cold, so it felt very “pacific-northwest-y”. Personally, I blame my mother…she is cursed with bringing rain no matter where she goes…to the tropics, to the desert, even to the mountains. We may have to kick her out of the state if it keeps up. Hope to have you and Linda over soon!

  • 3. Maggie  |  January 7, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    We are so happy to hear how blessed you all were to be together.

    Arizona park looks really nice. Weather, must be nice too.

    This past year of your blog Greg, has been very encouraging. Mainly, hearing about how things have changed for you both. I really enjoy your scriptures and your thoughts on how these scriptures fit into our daily lives. Please continue to do this, as I need to relate with what is going on in my life and how I can understand more about what God wants me to live by and or change. To me you have always been my Pastor and I feel a need to continue hearing what you have to teach.
    I can never get enough. Thank you for the time you do take to blog. It is inspiring and nice to hear how things are with our extended family. We love you both and miss you a lot.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,026 hits

