Monday morning meanderings. Vol.23

December 12, 2007 at 6:05 pm 6 comments

Sayre, Oklahoma

Monday Morning Meanderings. Vol.23 is really a Wednesday late afternoon offering.  I have posted the Monday Meanderings on a couple of Tuesdays but never this late.  But it is not without good reason or at least good enough for me.  Hope you didn’t think I had abandoned you, my faithful five readers!

Item one.  We left South Jordan, Utah, and our childcare duties on Thursday morning, and drove to Colorado Springs for a very brief visit with my family.  It took a couple of extra hours to plow through the snow on Vail Pass (10622′ in altitude) and by the time we got to the Springs we were beat.  After a short night we left about 11am and headed on to Western Oklahoma arriving here about 10pm.  A long trip, but rewarding, in that we were able to help Traci and Brandon bring a new son home from Ethiopia, and to be part of his welcome to a new life full of possibilities and promise.  You can read some of the process in previous postings and on Traci’s blog here.

Item two.  We were chased back to Oklahoma by a severe winter storm that arrived here, just after we did, leaving this state in a mess.  It is the worst ice storm in Oklahoma history and along with Kansas, Missouri and Arkansas much of the Midwest has been shut down and multiple thousands are without power, at least 500k in the state of Oklahoma alone.  You can read about it’s effect on this state here.  There was no church at Trinity on Sunday, but we are able to have the class on Saturday, that we came back here to take care of.  We are enjoying clear skis and above freezing temperatures, today.

Item three.  After church this coming Sunday we will hook up the trailer and head west to Arizona for several weeks.  When we came to Western Oklahoma we were hoping that we could spend at least part of the winter in a warmer climate and it is working out so we can do just that.  We will find a park in the Phoenix area where we will be until we go back to South Jordan, Utah for Christmas with our children and grand children.  Brad, Summer and Canyon Paul will be coming from Washington so all 10 of us will be together.  It will be great fun to see all four boys together for the first time.

After the first of the year we will return to Arizona where we hope to spend some time with our good friends Bill and Leslee McComb, who will be down to spend time with their daughter Kaylee and her husband Rand and two of their grandsons.  It will be really good to see all of them.  We will also be hooking up with a couple of families who are doing ministry in the mountain country northwest of Phoenix.  They are loosely affiliated with Trinity and we hope to be encouraged and encouraging during the time we will be with them. 

We really enjoy the freedom that living in a RV allows and so we are excited to be on the road again.  We will really miss all of our friends here, who are so good to us, but we will be back for a few days the middle of January for the dedication of the new building and to teach a class for our ministry school.  We will return to Sayre sometime in February.

Item four. I have mentioned a couple of times my interest in the presidential candidacy of Mike Huckabee.  He is a person of consistent faith and I still like his stands on a number of issues.  I am still undecided, as I think we all should be, this early in an election cycle but he remains my favorite.  You can read my previous posts on Mike here and here. 

Since I am still undecided I thought this interview with theologian Wayne Grudem on why he supports Mitt Romney, a Mormon who is taking some heat for his religious convictions.  You can find the interview here.  I am not a big fan of Mormonism of course and don’t really find Romney compelling, but I think I agree with Grudem that Romney’s Mormon doctrine is really not how we should decide his capacity to lead and to preserve religious freedom.  I am old enough to remember how JFK’s Roman Catholic faith was presumed to be inconsistent with holding the highest political office in the country and he did all right for the short time he was the Prez. Read the interview and see what you think.

Item five. Has anyone listened to the new Eagles album, besides Andy?  I think it is pretty cool that my pastor loaned me his copy of the discs so I could sinc them to my iPod.  When was the last time your pastor encouraged you to listen to some good new rock and roll?  He and I are in agreement that this is some of the best Eagles ever.  I especially like No More Walks in the Woods, Busy Being Fabulous, Long Road Out of Eden and Frail Grasp on the Big Picture.  Every song is good but those are currently my favs.  While these guys are no doubt not big fans of the Christian faith they have a lot to say to those of us who are.  Just give a listen to Frail Grasp on the Big Picture. Lyrics here.

Item six.  I have mentioned that this blog is one of, if not my favorite blog.  I would guess Brant has very few readers my age, but I guess that is some of the appeal for me.  He is honest, very funny and most of the time you can’t tell he is a Christian until it is too late to stop reading.  Here and here are two outstanding posts you should take the time to read.  I know most of you won’t, but for those of you who do you will be encouraged. (read the comments too)  It is really good stuff and it will surprise you how much you will relate to what he writes.  You need to read them in order, so get them here then here.

Item seven. Living in Western Oklahoma you cannot help but be swept up into the sport of rodeo.  It is really big out here and there is nothing bigger in the rodeo world then these 10 days of the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo (NFR).  It is on ESPN2, usually 10pm, depending on what time zone you are in.  If you are a rodeo fan then you need no reminder, but for those of you who wonder what twilight zone we have wandered into, you might want to check out a session or two.  It is entertaining, made more so for us, because we know several of the competitors.

Item eight. Prayer for the week.  Merciful God, who sent your messengers the prophets to preach repentance and prepare the way for our salvation: Give us grace to heed their warnings and forsake our sins, that we may greet with joy the coming of Jesus Christ our Redeemer; who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.

Thanks for reading all the way to here. This is the longest meanderings ever but what would you expect when I haven’t written in nearly 3 weeks?

Entry filed under: Adoption, Authority, Belief, Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Family, Friendship, Holy Spirit, Humor, Jesus, Kingdom, Mike Hukabee, Monday meanderings, Music, News, PBR, PRCA, Revelation, Rodeo, RV, Supernatural, The Father, Thoughts, Travel.

Hanging on. Senseless.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. amanda  |  December 13, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    item 6 is very timely. i think that God knew i needed help and a reminder. You seem to have a way of speaking Him into my life just when i need it. Thank you.

  • 2. Maggie  |  December 13, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    Each day with no blog has been concerning. We have become so lonely without seeing you both and now no blog to read. O.K. I could not take it any longer I called you both. No answer, now I am really becoming concerned I am thinking I will call the kids. However, I waited until today. Walla, here you are. I praised God immediately. I know God is in control and I knew he would answer me. Praise God.

    Love you both! Happy trails, wish we were going with you. Warm weather sounds so good right now.

    We have been working on the flood relief effort. How blessed we are not to have gone through what some of these people have endured. We are located in a building at the fair grounds, building 22 to be exact. The people of Mason County have been so giving of themselves. They have brought everything you can imagine that you would need to help you in matters like this. Including money.

    Please pray for all of them. I am praying for all of the people in all of the states that have been impacted by the bad weather conditions. When I can sit in my own warm cozy home and watch the news it breaks my heart to see the devastation.

    Give our love to the family, the McCombs . God bless you all and Merry Christmas!
    Love, M&M (M & Papa Bear)

  • 3. Debbie  |  December 13, 2007 at 9:37 am

    Wow! I’m glad you’re back on line. I’ve missed your info as I enjoy reading each day but more than that I’ve missed you and Linda around here. Welcome back and you are both such a blessing to me.

  • 4. kaylee  |  December 12, 2007 at 10:06 pm

    There you are! I was starting to get worried about you. Can’t wait to see you and Linda when you get to A-Z. We’ll have to have a big party when everyone gets here. I’m so excited for some visitors!! Safe travels.

  • 5. rlovingfoss  |  December 12, 2007 at 7:44 pm

    Yea! I’m so glad you’re back!

    I’ve heard parts of the new Eagles CD and I really like it. I know I will be hearing it a ton as soon as Royal gets it because the Eagles are one of Royal’s all time favorites.

    And, I’ll probably be seeing you in Phoenix too! Jayden and I are flying down the 8th of January, because I’m gonna run in a race down there the following weekend! Woo hoo, we’ll be back together again, FB!

  • 6. Carol  |  December 12, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    So the people responsible for giving you the ice machine are also leaving town. Time to shop for my own 5th wheel.

    Many family members live in Oklahoma. Maybe it’s time to meet them.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,029 hits

