Let there be music.

November 30, 2007 at 9:33 pm 5 comments

 Sayre, Oklahoma

UPDATE 12/1: Linda just talked to Traci in Atlanta and the long ride, mentioned below, has been really hard.  Traci has had no sleep since yesterday morning at 4am (Friday) and Eyob has been throwing up and crying among other issues.  Please pray for them as they still have a long flight into SLC.  They do not arrive there until 5:15pm MST. Then there is the adjustment to the boys and all that with little or no sleep.  There is a lot of stuff in their heads that is from the enemy and made worse by no sleep and a crying baby, so prayer is the answer.  Linda, who is caring for the boys was sick last night too and I am not there to be any help.  I tried to get a flight back early but couldn’t make it work, so she needs your prayer as well.  Thanks for your concern.

I flew back to Oklahoma for a few days and will return to Salt Lake on Monday to meet our new grandson.  Traci, Brandon and Eyob Mark are, as I write this,(Friday evening) somewhere in the early stages of a grueling 26+ hour trip from Addis Ababa, Ethiopia to Rome (6+), Rome to Washington, DC (11+), to Atlanta and finally landing in Salt Lake City around 5pm Saturday evening.  There is also a more than 5 hour layover in DC.  Try and imagine what that trip would be like by yourself, but then think what it must be like for them to do all that with a little boy who barely knows them and who will undoubtedly see things that frighten him and then to be enclosed in a such a small space for many hours, well, you get the idea. Pray for them.

I am watching the CBS show “My Night at the Grammys” and it has made me thankful for the huge gift of music that the Father has given to us.  What talent, what sound, what lyrics, what amazing gifts the Father pours into people regardless of their view of Him.  Michael Jackson performing “Bad”, Eric Clapton performing “Tears in Heaven”, Allan Jackson “Where were You” the song he says was given to him while he slept, commemorating the 9/11 tragedy. Faith Hill, Elton John, Bruce Springsteen, Tina Turner, Neil Diamond, Barbara Streisand and many others.  The Top 25 performances of the 50 year history of the Grammys, music’s highest award, was the best of the best and I really enjoyed it all.  Green Day’s performance of American Idiot was #1, which would not have been my choice, (that would be Whitney Houston singing the Dollie Parton song she was created to sing “I Will Always Love You”) but it was fun to see and hear some terrific performances by legends in our own time.

The Father certainly did not need to give us this wonderful gift, this gift of music in all it’s variety, style, quality and then to allow anyone, regardless of their belief to enjoy and be blessed by it, is surely the rarest of Gifts.  That there are billions of melodies floating through the atmosphere,  sifted through the heart and soul of millions of uniquely different human beings, arranged in countless numbers of creative ways, so that the result is no two exactly the same, is something that is extra, extraordinary and there will never be an end to this glorious genius.  Words are just not available, to me at least, to describe the wonder of the gift of music.

Is it possible, that this human ability to weave notes and lyrics together in such a vast number of different ways, just happened?

I guess there are very few iPods among my readers.  I was really hoping to see some really eclectic artist lists but alas there were only two and both were very eclectic (see previous post).  Was it the word you didn’t understand or are you all still listening to your 8 track collection?

Entry filed under: Adoption, Authority, Belief, Christianity, Culture, Faith, Family, Kingdom, Music, News, Revelation, Supernatural, The Father, Thoughts, Travel.

Eclecticism on your iPod Finally home.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. amanda  |  December 3, 2007 at 9:57 pm

    HEY buy me an ipod and i will give you one of the most eclectic lists you’ve ever seen. i thought about sending a list of some of my CD’s but didn’t think that would count.

    As for Tracy, Brandon & Eyob, my heart goes out to them (& Linda too) as do my prayers.

  • 2. sumijoti  |  December 1, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    Praying for Traci and Brandon and the children. It must be so hard but it will get better!

    I understand the word. 😀 My taste in music is very eclectic, I just don’t have a lot on my ipod (yet)

  • 3. Jenn  |  December 1, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    Greg, if you talk to Traci tonight please tell her that I am going to battle for them. Let them know that I love them and that I think that she is a wonderful mother and Brandon a wonderful father! They truly are the perfect parents for sweet Eyob and the Father will shelter them from the storm as they cry out to him. Please remind her of Psalm 63. She will know exactly what I am talking about. Love to you all and please give them all hugs and kisses for me. Love, Jenn

  • 4. Larry  |  December 1, 2007 at 4:06 pm

    Thanbks for sharing the prayer needs. I took them befor e the Father. Miss seeing you. Any idea when you might come this way again?

  • 5. rlovingfoss  |  November 30, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    I am a believer that music was a gift from our Father. I believe that the Bible even contains a verse that says something to the fact that we should rejoice, sing, and dance. My wife is a talented pianist, she practiced a lot as a child, and can play beautifully in my opinion. When she plays it sounds like the most elegant tones I have ever heard. Is this because she is my wife and I obviously favor her, or is it because God gave her the gift to speak directly to my heart through the music that she plays? I think it is the latter because God made her and he made me and he knew that I would hear in her music the meaning that she was portraying.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,871 hits

