Mike Hukabee update.

November 16, 2007 at 8:44 am 3 comments

You know it is a slow blogging day for me when I write something about politics, (don’t touch that dial) but I am sort of a closet watcher of the presidential political scene because, as usual, the field is glutted with a myriad of candidates all trying to prove they are Christians, love Muslims and are against the war in Iraq, while at the same time not offending those who aren’t Christians, hate Muslims and think that making toast out of Iraq is the clearest of options and since I like to try and sort out the noise from reality for myself, I thought I would run a political blog out today. (whew, a 122 word sentence!)

Back in February I wrote a short piece about a candidate I thought I would keep my I on and now almost 10 months later I still have my eye on him.  If you are at all interested in what I said back then you can read that post here. (did you know if you roll your cursor across the highlighted word you can see the link?  Try it, it’s fun)

Yes, the man is Mike Hukabee and yes he shares the same home town with a former prez named Bill who has an interest in another Arkansasinian (or is it New Yorkian) who is running for the big house, but that is about all he shares with the Clintons.  It is worth a trip to his website if you are at all interested in a president who makes sense and doesn’t really seem to care who knows he loves Jesus and is actually really for and against some real issues.  Even more importantly he has had the same convictions for years and hasn’t changed them at all during his campaign as some of the other candidates seem to do, depending on their audience.

Consider this quote from this mornings Seattle PI: The former Arkansas governor, who claims to be the GOP presidential field’s most ardent opponent of abortion, stood at a news conference amid a group of local evangelical Christians who endorsed him. One was the Rev. Joseph Fuiten, an Assembly of God preacher who is one of the state’s most vocal anti-abortion and anti-gay rights figures.  A former Baptist minister, Huckabee said his faith also has taught him the importance of making sure children have good educations and good health care and their parents have decent-paying jobs.

Don’t hold the Baptist minister thing against him! Besides he is a former Baptist minister, which might be why I like him.

And this: Huckabee said later at his second news conference that although rivals Rudy Giuliani, Mitt Romney and Fred Thompson have each recently picked up an endorsement or two from prominent Christian and anti-abortion groups and leaders, he has by far the most support from their followers. Huckabee was asked if he thought evangelicals are confused by such endorsements of Giuliani, a supporter of gay and abortion rights; Romney, a former gay- and abortion-rights supporter; and Thompson, who opposes a constitutional ban on abortion. He replied: “I don’t think the evangelicals are confused at all. I think their leaders are.”

I like Mike, (I am sure my endorsement helps him a lot), and I am going to continue to keep my eye on him.  Besides the guy has lost 110 pounds, runs marathons and plays bass in a rock and roll band.  I can trust a guy like that!

Read the whole PI article here.

Entry filed under: Belief, Christianity, Faith, Humor, Jesus, Kingdom, Mike Hukabee, News, Northwest, Politics, Thoughts.

Forever Cowboys. Monday (Tuesday edition) morning meanderings. Vol.21

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kasey  |  November 22, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    I am keeping my eye on this guy too. Thanks for the post on this. I might throw a couple on my blog too.

    This year’s presidential race is more Hollywood oriented than ever. What is that saying. ..?

    Oh, “D.C. is Hollywood for ugly people.”

    Had to throw that in there.

  • 2. Lynne Eldridge MD  |  November 16, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    I am with you!

    As someone who usually shuns the political arena, understanding that most of what we hear is just words, Huckabee has me listening!

    His thoughts on health care alone, are refreshing. At this time, we spend 25 percent more on health care than any other country on the planet, but only rank number 42 in life expectancy. Will “universal health care” really solve this problem? And, where will the money come from? Huckabee recommends prevention. We know according the recent information published by the American Institute for Research on Cancer, that 30 to 40 percent of cancers could be prevented by dietary changes and exercise alone. It would seem that if we could prevent many of the chronic diseases that are currently eating up our health dollars, we would have the money to insure everyone, without breaking America’s budget – and Americans would be healthier. Not only does Huckabee inform us of this refreshing idea, he has demonstrated that it is possible in his own life.

    I can trust a guy like that!

    Lynne Eldridge MD
    Author, “Avoiding Cancer One Day At A Time”
    http://www.avoidcancernow.com

  • 3. corkraninsitka  |  November 16, 2007 at 11:49 am

    Let us not allow “right” issues to co-op our votes. Bush shanghai-ed me and a lot of other folks…all I am saying is be careful

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,026 hits

