Monday morning meanderings. Vol.18

October 29, 2007 at 9:10 am Leave a comment

Another beautiful Monday in Western Oklahoma.  Clear sky, brisk temps and a great place for a morning walk.  Can’t ask for a lot more than that in very late October.  If you had told me we a year ago we would be enjoying a new ministry, blessed with such consistently good weather in a place 1500 miles from our home in Washington, I would’nt even thought it possible but here we are.

I feel quite blessed as I write this Monday morning meandering for the 18th time.

Item one. We had such a great time with my brother Mike and sister (in law) Vicky.  After 35 years it is hard to think of her as anything other than a sister.  They drove here from Colorado Springs on their 35 anniversary and we served them pizza to celebrate.  They went on to San Antonio for a wedding and this morning left there headed home.  They will stay in Amarillo tonight and then on to the Springs in the morning.  It was really fun to have our first visitors.  I doubt Western Oklahoma would be on anyone’s list of destinations but don’t knock it till you try it.  Ya’all get down here!

Item two. Ugly, ugly, ugly. That is my description of the World Series.  Was it just me or were their more Red Sox fans in Coors Field than Rockie’s?  A couple of weeks ago I was pretty excited about the Series but it was a pretty sad showing by the National League and I lost interest pretty quickly.  Nice to have some bull riding to watch.  It must be my east coast bias but I really don’t like the Red Sox or the Patriots, may be because the teams I like are not as good as them and I am just jealous.

Item three.  I had a great time preaching yesterday.  After preaching 2-3 times a weekend for more than 16 years I have missed preaching, especially the last year, but it seems the opportunities come at just about the right intervals to satisfy the desire, so I really don’t think much about doing it every week. I like what I am doing, teaching classes, planning for Convergence growth (our school of ministry), writing for the Juniper Tree and other writing projects and being part of a staff that cares about each other and tries to make ministry about people and not programs.  I also enjoy that Linda and I are able to work together.  She helps out in the office, but she is also co-leading the birthing of the school of ministry, so much of what we do is together.  Our trailer is parked just behind the offices so the commute is pretty short and this really is a beautiful place to stay.

Item four.  With the PBR in full swing out in Las Vegas my visits from people searching for information about Lee and Mary Akin has gone way up.  I promise, tomorrow morning I will publish a story about our visit with the Akin last Tuesday.  I hope I can do justice to the incredible story Lee and Mary are.

Item five. Prayer for the week. Give it a try, it will grow on you: Almighty and everlasting God, increase in me the gifts of faith, hope and charity; and, that I may obtain what you promise, make me love what you command; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.   No need to explain the prayer to you but think about the words and what you are asking for when you pray them.  There is a strong connection between loving, as in following the Father’s commands, and the obtaining of the Promise.  Worth praying for.  (more like this here)

Item six. Please pray for our daughter Traci and her husband Brandon (blog here).  The long wait to go to Africa to pick up their son is getting to be an ordeal.  They have put themselves on the line to follow the Father’s call to care for orphans, they have spent thousands of dollars already and more yet to spend doing what they know they are supposed to do, but the wait if getting hard. They are not complaining, just getting weary waiting for the Ethiopian government to move on their paper work. Please pray for patience and for perseverance for them and for the government to act today on this adoption.  We are so proud of them for choosing to invest their limited resources in something so important and critical, like rescuing African children, rather than spending it on themselves.  I know they would appreciate your prayers and support.

Have a great week.  Thanks for reading.

Entry filed under: Belief, Church, Culture, Faith, Family, Friendship, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Monday meanderings, Northwest, PBR, RV, The Father, Thoughts.

PBR World Finals, PBRO and Trinity. Visit with injured Bull Rider Lee Akin and Mary Akin.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,009 hits

