Clogged up.

October 18, 2007 at 2:43 pm 1 comment

When I first started writing this daily or at least regular weblog, I thought I would write about where we were traveling, vent a little about life and what I was learning about it and maybe add a little humor if I had any.  I wasn’t sure what kind of response I would get and since I had never done it before, thought maybe I would do it until something better came along. 

That was 10 months ago and 181 posts later and what I started doing to fill time has become something bigger and more significant then I ever would have predicted and though I now have other things to do, I still try to write first and do the other things next.  It is that important to me.

Now even with something else to do, I have discovered writing is something I really like to do and with over 100 unique hits a day and more than 140 views per day, other people are apparently interested in what I have to say.  For the first few months, I wrote quite a bit about the parting of ways with the church I pastored for more than 16 years and that drew a fair amount of interest from people who were part of that parting but now the majority of the visits are from places other than the place I still call home, though there are a number of people out there who still read the Juniper View.  I am linked to several other blogs and websites so I get hits from those sites and for whatever reason people are visiting from a number of other countries.

What has happened, I guess is a little Family has come together here and that makes me want to take what I write and how regularly I write quite seriously.  I know there are several people who no longer are attending any church that read this journal for Spiritual food and so I want to make sure there is something for them when they drop by.

All of that to say, sometimes rather than being blogged up, that is having something worth while to write, I am more clogged up with nothing to say.  That has been the case most of the last week or so.  Today has been especially clogged.

In all the years I was a preaching pastor I never repeated a message, not one time.  I felt responsible to bring something fresh to the “table” every Sunday and for the most part I think I did. Even though the church grew a lot over the years and there were many who didn’t attend every Sunday, I still came each week with something new, as much for me as for those who came to hear.  I wanted to grow and learn so I forced myself to study and prepare in such a way that I was filled up, built up or stirred up, hoping that would transfer to those who listened.

It is still like that with the blogging, except the pay isn’t nearly as good.

What’s the point of all of this, you ask?  There are many who did not start with me on the Juniper Tree who have not read some of the things I wrote early on and maybe there are a few who would like to read something again but wouldn’t take the time to search for it in the archives of this site so here is the point.  On those days, like today, when I am more clogged up than blogged up, I am going to repost a blog from past days.  If you want to read it you can click the link and go right to it.

Thanks for reading and pray I get unclogged soon.  

Here is todays link: https://gscandrett.wordpress.com/2007/02/27/coinciding-egoisms/

Entry filed under: Belief, Culture, Faith, Friendship, Holy Spirit, Institutional church, Jesus, Kingdom, Thoughts, Uncategorized.

Is there a connection? It’s time to give it away.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. amanda  |  October 22, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    just a quick thanks that you remember those of us who need fed until we can decide where/how to find sustenance from a local church. still searching and enjoying what you are serving up.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,009 hits

