This blogging life.

October 3, 2007 at 10:41 am 2 comments

After two years of not working a job as I had for the previous 40, I find myself doing some pretty fun and interesting things with my life.  Things that are quite different than anything from my past.  For example we are here in Oklahoma to be part of a Family that does “church” quite differently than I learned and practised.  While we are not formal staff members we are allowed in and enter in as if we were.  So I am learning new things and enjoying a new approach to life and ministry.

Linda and I have been given the opportunity to form the structure and direction for a new ministry training school we are calling Convergence, and so we are doing and learning new things everyday.  Since we haven’t ever done anything like this and no one here has either, we are able to build what we hear the Father saying to build.  What freedom.  There are many individuals who have come to Sayre from all over the country to be part of what the Spirit is building here and this training program is designed to serve the varied needs of these who have been led to live, learn and serve in Western Oklahoma.  We have an informational meeting this Sunday for the Family here and will begin some courses the next week, so we will keep you posted on how things come together.

Writing this blog is still an enjoyable challenge for me.  Coming up with something to write 4-6 times a week isn’t easy, especially if you want it to be worth the time for people to read what is written.  I have posted over 170 times and almost 700 comments have been made, which is pretty cool.  When I first started writing, most of the visits to the site were from family and friends in the NW, but recently the visits have increased from all over and now the site receives far more hits from points outside the NW than from within. In the last 14 days there have been hits from 43 of the 50 states and 37 different foreign countries. I really enjoy the thought that someone in Afghanistan or Paris, Estonia or Portugal, Sri Lanka or Spain, along with people in Oklahoma or Washington, are reading the Juniper Tree. 

Spending so much time writing here the last 8 months has opened up some opportunities to do more writing of other kinds so that is exciting too.

So, as I take a few minutes this morning to evaluate what the Father is doing in our lives, it seems clear that we are where we are supposed to be for this day, doing what we have been gifted to do for this time, playing our small part in the advancement of the Kingdom of God for His glory.

My friend Doug just called and we talked for a few minutes about how the Father had been leading us these last years and he remarked that two years ago we would never have thought or considered we might be in Western OK doing what we are doing.  He is so right.  If I have learned anything these past many months, it would be just how important it is for Kingdom people to not allow ourselves to get bogged down in things comfortable and safe.  You never know what kind of exciting and challenging things might be available to you if you made a decision to live outside the box you have built for yourself.  What is the worst that could happen?  Come to terms with that question and you will be free to see the best the Father has for you, happen.

Thanks for reading and for your support of this ministry called The View from the Juniper Tree.

Entry filed under: Culture, Faith, Friendship, Holy Spirit, Northwest, The Father, Thoughts, Travel.

Useless body parts. One Text for Burma

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lacie Jorgensen  |  October 4, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    I just want to say “Thank You” for writing this blog. I enjoy reading a couple times a week. Not as good as hearing you in person…but I’ll take what I can. Glad to hear you are doing well with your new family.

  • 2. kcronquist  |  October 3, 2007 at 12:13 pm

    This certainly speaks to me at this time in my life. Turning 30, new job, new environment, I trust I am where He wants me. I’m certainly outside of my comfort zone, trusting and dependent on Him to lead the way.
    Thank you for staying diligent with your blogging! It is certainly worth the effort.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,026 hits

