Monday morning meanderings. Vol.13

September 24, 2007 at 7:58 am 2 comments

After arriving in Sayre, three weeks ago Thursday, I was only here one weekend before I went to Florida for a week, so this was my first full Sunday-Sunday week.  It was a very interesting week.  Linda is still in South Jordan, Utah where she helped Brandon with the boys while Traci was in Florida at a MOPs convention.  You can read her post on her time there here.  Linda will be back here on Thursday so Jake and I still have a few days to make it on our own.

Item one: Since I have been so full of praise for the Huskies, I need to be sure and mention what a stinker that was Saturday night.  It was on TV here and at half time it was about 11pm so I gave up and went to bed.  Guess that was a good choice.  But hey, what about the OU Sooners and the OSU Cowboys.  Guess I should ride this horse out here. Like it is in Washington, where you are either a Dawg or a Coug, here it is either a Sooner or a Cowboy.   But being so close to Texas there are a lot of Longhorn fans out here, too. The OSU/Texas Tech game was sure exciting. I will try but right now it just isn’t the same.  I miss the NW so much I even find myself wondering how the Ducks did.  Some know just how sad that is.

Item two: Perryton, Texas. Saturday morning I met my friend Brooks Brewer at the airport in Elk City(10 miles east of Sayre) and after jump starting his plane, yep that’s what I said, we flew north and west to the Texas panhandle town of Perryton. Find out about the area here. Maybe your US geography is better than mine but after flying north and west from Elk City we were into Texas but only 7 miles south of Oklahoma.  Those of us from the NW and other parts of the US probably forget the panhandle thing that Texas and Oklahoma have.  I wonder why it was separated like that?  If you know, let us know.

We were in Perryton to meet Trinity Pastors Andy and Daryle who had driven up because they were spending the weekend there.  Trinity Fellowship has an extended ministry of about 10 churches that are affiliated with them for fellowship, encouragement and support.  The church we were visiting is part of a denomination that has clearly lost it’s way, spiritually and morally speaking and the leadership of the church was looking to Trinity to help them make their exit from this denomination and into a fellowship more in tune with who they are.  Pastor Andy does a lot of this kind of counselling and leadership and often takes a group from here to be part of the meeting and process.  So I was invited to go along.  It was really a good time, so encouraging and positive to see a group of men truly seeking to do the right thing for the people they are leading, wrestling with the real costs of following Jesus into true Kingdom life.  Their level of commitment was amazing.  Andy preached there Saturday night and Sunday morning.  I am anxious to hear his report.

Item three:  Prayer for the week. O God, You declare Your almighty power chiefly in showing mercy and pity: Grant me the fullness of your grace, that I, running to obtain Your promises, may become a partaker of Your heavenly treasure; through Jesus Christ our Lord, Who live and reigns with You and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen  More like this available here.  I try to pray these weekly prayers each morning along with the other things the Spirit speaks into me.

Item four: This article is worth your time.  I thought, at one time it was my responsibility to set people straight who were, in my opinion, wrong in their doctrine or theology.  So much done in the name of “defending the faith” is mean spirited and really more about our egos than it is helping someone to see the light.  Helen Mildinhall at Next-Wave Ezine writes an excellent piece titled “How did Christianity become an excuse to be so mean? Or, how I resigned from the doctrine police” that speaks to the reasons why we should choose to love those who we think have got it wrong rather than to speak out against them. Read it here.

Item five: I was given the opportunity yesterday to preach at Trinity.  As I wrote above, Pastor Andy and Pastor Daryle were in Texas so I was asked to speak.  I really enjoyed it.  I have had a few other opportunities the last 3 months and all of them have been fun and without the pressure I felt for the years I preached every Sunday.  While I enjoyed it all, the knowlege that I didn’t have to do it next Sunday left a good feeling.  I like to preach and I think I have some anointing in it but for now it is nice to know Andy will be back next Sunday.

I have a great respect for the men and women who bring the Word every Sunday, week in and week out.  It is a high calling and it is not easy, though some make it look like it is.  I also have a deeper appreciation for what it means to sit and listen to someone preach.  It is really hard to keep your mind on what is being said and harder still to take what is heard and apply it.

I think October is called, by some, “Pastor Appreciation Month” and so to all my pastor friends who have ministered so faithfully for many, many years and the many others who have spoken into my life over the years-thanks, thanks a lot.

Entry filed under: Belief, Charismatic, Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Family, Friendship, Holy Spirit, Institutional church, Jesus, Miracles, Monday meanderings, Northwest, Revelation, Supernatural, The Father, Thoughts.

Kingdom Kids Hearing the Father’s voice.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dave  |  September 24, 2007 at 12:40 pm

    Thank you for you encouragement now and for the many years past. Again God used you to shine light in a dark place. You are loved and appreciated.

  • 2. amanda  |  September 24, 2007 at 9:29 am

    and thank you too. you are my voice in the wilderness and right now our families connection to God other than our own readings. i miss the fellowship thing but will keep praying for where to go. thanks for all the postings, links, etc. may God continue to bless you and your family wherever you go

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,871 hits

