Monday morning meanderings. Vol 8

August 20, 2007 at 11:20 am 1 comment

Draper, Utah

We are staying in a park about 1 minute from where Traci and Brandon and the boys used to live!  They moved a few months ago north and west of here about 10 minutes to the community of South Jordan.  Unfortunately the only RV park any where close is this one right next to their old apartment building. 

Here are a few meandering posts for Monday, August 20, 2007:

Item one: Last Saturday we visited the Mormon Temple in downtown Salt Lake. It was interesting and disturbing in so many ways.  When we walked on the grounds I prayed for spiritual protection for and over all of us and prayed for the salvation of all those I believe to be caught up in the deception of Mormonism.  There were about 10 weddings in some kind of process while we were there. They stack up outside waiting for entrance to the temple so their marriage can be sealed, whatever that means.  All kinds of dressed up people milling around waiting for their turn.  Seemed strange to me but they all seemed OK with it, though there seemed to be little or no excitement about the whole deal.  The visitor centers are like museums with statues and paintings about mormon history.  There are all kinds of Biblical scenes painted on the walls but all the people in the paintings look like white Americans.  Weird.  That visit will be my only visit. 

It has come to my attention since I wrote this post that a number of members of the LDS Church were offended by my remarks, especially about praying for protection as we entered the temple grounds.  While I did in fact pray for spiritual protection and for the people who I believe are victims of deception from the evil one, I did take some literary license in the way I told the story in an attempt to be humorous.  My apologies to those who were offended and thank you to those who have written me to express their sentiments. I do have rather different viewpoints from those who follow the teachings of Joseph Smith and others but that does not give me the right to be offensive and I do apologize.

Item two: I want to do a full post on this great book another time but I found this quote outstanding.  The book is called Emotionally Healthy Spirituality by Peter Scazzero (read more about the book here).  It’s premise is that you cannot be spiritually mature while remaining emotionally immature.  It is a terrific book and Linda and I are almost through reading it together.  The quote is actually from Richard Rohr’s book Adam’s Return: The Five Promises of Male Initiation, but how Scazzero uses it is excellent. Here are five essential truths about life (page 133): Life is hard. You are not that important. Your life is not about you. You are not in control. You are going to die.  If I have learned anything in my life worth remembering almost every day, in fact several times a day, it is that I have to get over myself.  If I don’t I cannot grow emotionally or spiritually.  When I was a pastor, almost all of the problems I encountered in counselling families, couples, teenagers and seniors, could have been solved if I could have pursuaded the individuals involved to get over the need to be the most important person in their life.

Item three: A couple of more “jokes”.  Heck is where people go who don’t believe in gosh and this I’d give my right arm to be ambidextrous.

Item four: Thou shalt not commit reincarnation. Apparently China has decided to exercise governmental control over reincarnation.  This quote from Newsweek magazine:

In one of history’s more absurd acts of totalitarianism, China has banned Buddhist monks in Tibet from reincarnating without government permission. According to a statement issued by the State Administration for Religious Affairs, the law, which goes into effect next month and strictly stipulates the procedures by which one is to reincarnate, is “an important move to institutionalize management of reincarnation.” But beyond the irony lies China’s true motive: to cut off the influence of the Dalai Lama, Tibet’s exiled spiritual and political leader, and to quell the region’s Buddhist religious establishment more than 50 years after China invaded the small Himalayan country.

But before you laugh to loud consider this: A 2005 Gallup poll found that 20% of American adults believe in reincarnation and the number is steadily increasing as a more recent Barna poll shows.  Barna discovered the figure was now 25% and 10% of born again Christians embrace reincarnation as their favored end-of-life view.  (I found this story first here.)

Item five: The Scandretts are all finally out of Mason County.  No cheering please.  Brad, Summer and Canyon moved into their new digs in Gig Harbor over the weekend.  You can read about the move here and get the new address here as well.  We can’t wait to get back and visit.

Item six: Prayer for the week: Grant to me, Lord. I pray, the spirit to think and do always those things that are right, that I, who cannot exist without You, may be enabled to live according to Your will; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with You and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever . Amen

Well, I am off to see the boys!  Happy Monday!

Entry filed under: Belief, Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Family, Friendship, Holy Spirit, Humor, Jesus, Monday meanderings, News, Northwest, Revelation, RV, Supernatural, The Father, Thoughts, Travel.

Hey Rachel, start laughing. Following without understanding.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. LifeOnaPlate  |  August 20, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    I’m not a huge fan of some of the art at Temple Square, either; too European.

    That being said, the way you talk about the sacred beliefs of others appears to be very ethnocentric and condescending. I can assure you being sealed in the Temple is not an everyday run-of-the-mill experience, it is very sacred to those who believe it is revealed from God. You may be familiar with a scripture in the New Testament where Christ tells an apostle he has the power to bind on earth, and that whatever he seals on earth will be sealed in heaven. This has somewhat to do with the concept of “sealing.” If you have questions about these things I invite you to find out more, and to show more respect for those whose beliefs differ from yours. Feel free to contact me through my blog. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,727 hits

