Ice is nice! Rolling thunder and an answered prayer.

August 15, 2007 at 12:17 pm 2 comments

Downey, Idaho (Downata Hot Springs)

Anyone who has been around me much, knows I almost always have an insulated cup with me, filled with ice and water.  Sometimes there is a diet coke with the ice but mostly just water and ice.  Not sure how I got started but it has become a bit of a habit, albeit a good one.  When we lived in a house we did not have an ice maker but always had ice in the freezer and for the first 11 months of living fulltime in our RV we did it the same way.

My friend Bill McComb has a similar habit.  Bill is not ever very far from his “used to be pink” cup of water and ice.  When ever we visited or parked our RV at their house I loved to visit his ice machine to fill my cup and Linda made a habit of always keeping Bill’s filled during the days and weeks after their son Willie’s death. The ice machine was great and I sort of had an envy going about it (totally without sin, of course). 

When we were staying at Belfair State Park a couple of weeks ago, Bill and Leslee came to visit and guess what?  They had purchased an ice maker, like Bill’s, as a gift for me!  I was so excited and I enjoy it so much.  Whenever we park somewhere it is the first thing I plug in and within 10 minutes there is ice and as long as you keep water in it and use it up it keeps making it.  Linda made an crushed ice coffee drink this morning and I have my ice water beside me as I write.  Thank you Bill and Leslee for such a wonderful and thoughtful gift.  Every time I get ice I think of you and pray for you.

Ice is nice!

There is an old “hymn” with these words: I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder, Thy power throughout the universe displayed.  I sat under the awning this morning and watched as lightning and thunder rolled through our area.  In the Northwest we don’t really get much thunder so I had forgotten that thunder really does roll and it really does speak to the awesome power of our Creator God.  Then sings my soul, my Savior God to Thee.  How great Thou art…!

For years now, Linda has prayed this morning prayer (I join her many mornings): Lord God, almighty and everlasting Father, you have brought us in safety to this new day: Preserve us with your mighty power, that we might not fall into sin nor be overcome by adversity; and in all we do direct us to the fufilling of your purpose; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

While I do concentrate on the words and we are in agreement that this is what we are asking of the Father each day I do not always know, in specific ways, when it is answered.  Yesterday we had an opportunity to know of the preserving power of our Father

As we drove south on I-15, just south of Idaho Falls, two cars suddenly swerved from the left lane into the right lane, right in front of us.  Just as they were past us a truck going the wrong direction in the left lane flew past.  I really didn’t see it till it was past but had these two vehicles been a second later in swerving in front of us, they would have hit the truck head on right by my door!  At the next rest area I spoke with others who had near misses with this confused driver.  As we prayed this prayer this morning we could say with certainty that we were indeed brought in safety to this new day.

While I do not know the answer to why sometimes we are preserved in situations like this and at other times we are not, I choose to live and believe that the Father knows each situation and often protects us from ourselves, but more often He protects us from the stupidity, carelessness or the mistakes of others. 

Sometimes it seems foolish to pray against things that might happen or haven’t happened but I believe the Father moves in response to the prayers of His people.

Entry filed under: Faith, Friendship, Miracles, RV, Supernatural, The Father, Thoughts, Travel.

Monday morning (+12 hrs.) meanderings. Vol. 7 Resisting forgiveness.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maggie  |  August 15, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    Amen for your safety! May He continue to be with you and keep you safe from harm.

  • 2. Carol Davis  |  August 15, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    In what way may I share my honest gratitude to Bill for giving you an ice maker?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,727 hits

