A loss for words.

July 18, 2007 at 10:14 am 3 comments

I have trouble doing things half-way.  In fact it is such a trouble for me, I often don’t do things I should do for fear I can only do them half-way well, or as well as someone else or will end up doing them just “good enough”.  While it might seem this trouble would be a good thing it really is a curse.  Living so much of life with the attitude that everything matters we fall prey to the curse of making everything so important and obsessing about every little detail we become impotent.

Not doing something because you are afraid you won’t do it well is as bad as doing something you do really well with no passion for it.  I don’t want to write something just to write it but at the same time I don’t want to not write because I fear it won’t be impressive, witty or life-changing for all who read it.

Why is it we are afraid to “boast in our weakness” as the Apostle Paul was able to do?  Apparently in the big scheme of things weakness is preferable to personal strength.  Is it not OK for us to not be “full on” all the time?  Is it not OK to fail?  Is it not OK to let some things not matter?  If the strength of the Father is perfected in my weakness, then shouldn’t I find weakness something to celebrate?

I fear boasting in my weakness because it so violates the cultural norm of best foot forward and turning my best face to the camera and the cream rising to the top and all that.  I wonder, sometimes, what might happen if the entire Christian community would boast in our weaknesses, together.  What might happen if we could all lay down the need to have all the answers, to do everything full on, perfect and out of the park every time we step up to bat? What might happen if the preachers were more often at a loss for words than the giving in to pressure to fill up time when they have nothing to say?

Brennan Manning writes: Life teaches us how difficult it is to receive anything from someone who has all the answers, who is completely cool, utterly unafraid, invulnerable, needing nothing and no one, always on top of life and in control of every situation.  We feel unnecessary, unneeded, and reluctant to receive. (A Glimpse of Jesus p.138)

If we, as members of the Family of God, could boast together of our weaknesses instead of the proliferation of posturing that we seem to find necessary to sustain an image of being “completely cool” then we might become what I think the Father intended for His Family, a Gospel suffused community of honesty, brokenness, repentance, grace, forgiveness and restoration.  Weakness as a strategy for church growth seems a bit weak but then the weak things confound the wise and I am guessing that would be extremely attractive to a world and to a church where there never seems to be a loss for words.

So this morning, I am finding myself at a loss for words and the funny thing is it’s OK.  The last thing I need is to be heard… (Bart Millard, Peter Kipley-Word of God Speak)

Entry filed under: Belief, Christianity, Church, Culture, Friendship, Holy Spirit, Institutional church, Jesus, Music, Revelation, Supernatural, The Father, Thoughts.

Monday morning meanderings. Vol.4 Brennan.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  July 20, 2007 at 6:46 am

    When I operate out of my strengths, I don’t need to trust. When I live not only in my strengths AND in my weaknesses, I have to trust.

    Recognizing I have weaknesses helps me realize that I CAN”T do everything myself, that I DO need to trust God to work in and through me.

    Trust is the issue for me – who am I going to trust? Me or God. When I only want to work out of my strengths, I’m worried about me and how I look. When I am okay with having weaknesses and those being made visible to others and used, then I’m thinking of others and God gets the glory.

  • 2. Royal  |  July 19, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    An intriguing post for sure. I wonder, is it ok to strive for weakness? I know this is not what your saying, but it could be perceived that way. How far do you go down this path? Are you to find your weaknesses and simply accept them? Should you put forth all effort to overcome them or just put forth partial effort? How do you know if you really put your best foot forward if you did not make it to the top? I would say you definitely had something worth saying, you got me to stop and think about what is going on in my life and how I would teach this subject to my child (and hopefully future child(ren)). Thanks for the food for thought.

  • 3. sumijoti  |  July 18, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    Jer 9:23 Thus saith the LORD, Let not the wise man glory in his wisdom, neither let the mighty man glory in his might, let not the rich man glory in his riches:
    But let him that glorieth glory in this, that he understandeth and knoweth me…

    Too many times we tend to glory in ourselves, or in other things, when it is really all about Him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,728 hits

