Washing dishes.

July 5, 2007 at 1:52 pm 5 comments

I have an admission to make, I need to come clean as it were.  I wash dishes.  I actually like to wash dishes.  No dishwasher for me, I wash them by hand!  There it’s out and I am OK with it. 

Linda and I made a deal when we started camping a few years back, whoever didn’t cook, had to clean up and do the dishes.  Now that we are camping full time, well I had to get serious about what it takes to do the clean-up and dishes in an orderly way. Linda is such a good cook it made a lot more sense for me to learn how to clean-up well rather then learning to cook as well as she does.

One thing I have noticed about dishes and clean-up, may surprise some of you.  There are always more dishes to do!  I just get things cleaned up and there the dirty ones are again.  Has anyone else ever noticed this phenonenon?

There is an art to washing dishes by hand.  You really never learn this if you have only been an occasional loader of the dishwasher, like on birthdays, anniversaries and other special occasions.  If you want to get things really clean you have to wash in a certain order.  For example, don’t wash the pots and pans until the glasses, plates and silverware are done or your water will be too dirty and need replacing, which takes valuable time.  Silverware is a bit tricky as you really don’t want to wash each piece separately so you have to devise ways to wash a number of items at one time.  If anyone is interested in my technique, you just need to ask.  You don’t have to leave your name if you don’t want to.

Then there is the art of stacking items in the dish drainer so you can get everything in.  This is a whole other field of expertise.

Another thing; the job is not done until things are put away, the counter washed off and the garbage taken care of.  I knew about the garbage as I have had that detail for some time but who knew washing down the counter was part of the deal?

One last admission-I have my own rubber gloves.  They are yellow and just my size.  I am not into dishpan hands.  Whatever you do, don’t scrimp on gloves as the water really needs to be hot to do a good job.

Next; Perfecting the art of carpet vacuuming.

This post is dedicated to my friend Royal.  A man among boys in the field of clean-up and dishwashing.

Entry filed under: Culture, Family, RV, Thoughts, Travel.

What’s un-American? Nice RV Park.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. amanda  |  July 8, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    Well, i would like to add Royal to my list of people to meet, and Greg i DO want to know your silverware technique, as in my family everybody comes here in the summer and weekends to eat, enjoyable but between laundry and dishes it tires one out, any hints would be great

  • 2. Royal  |  July 6, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    I just want to thank Greg for recognizing the skill that it takes to do a proper load of dishes. The stacking is the part that is a true art. The dishes must be piled in the correct order and put away in the correct order for it to come to a perfect finish. I think all men should do dishes, I do them because it shows gratitude and appreciation for the person who was nice enough to cook for me. I know my wife, my mom, my grandma, and my mother-in-law all appreciate it. They are all great cooks, and I am blessed to eat at their tables.

  • 3. Rachel  |  July 6, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    As the wife of Royal, I have to agree he is the king of dishwashing. It was one of the things that sealed the deal for me. 🙂 When we were dating, he would come over to my apartment and start doing my dishes, I figured he was just trying to impress me and that it would wear off, but he informed me that in his house growing up women didn’t do the dishes, and so far that has remained true. I do the dishes once in awhile, but the majority of the time, Royal has his hands in a sink full of suds! He doesn’t put the dishes away, I do that, but it seems like a fair trade off to me, I hate doing the dishes!
    The part that requires the most talent is the stacking. I call Royal’s finished stack the tower of terror, because if you move one of the dishes out of order, the whole things falls down.
    Good for you Greg for doing the dishes!

  • 4. Kaylee  |  July 5, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    I have to say, this may be one of the best posts yet!!! Since I’ve been a stay-at-home mom I’ve learned many of these lessons, especially the part about there is always more dishes. Just like there is always more laundry. And there is always more toys to pick up. The job is never done!!
    And if there is anyone to learn from, it is definitly Royal. He’s the best dishwasher, cleaner-upper, wood chopper, fire stoker I have ever met!! I just love it when fellas do the dishes! Good one Greg!

  • 5. wif  |  July 5, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    Royal IS a hard act to follow!

    You DO know what “they” say, don’t you? …cleanliness is next to godliness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,871 hits

