So, what did you do today?

June 20, 2007 at 2:11 pm 2 comments

At the risk of what Linda refers to as TMI (too much information) I will answer the question: “So, what did you do today?”  Today, I had my annual physical.  It was scheduled last week but the doctor had a death in the family and so I was rescheduled for today. 

The doctor is a good friend which makes it both better and a little weird.  It is one thing to have an anonymous person asking you personal questions and poking places where no one should poke and quite another to have someone you have sat with at the dinner table, discussing fishing and kayaking doing things to you that are, well, invasive.  He is very professional and has a way of not making anything a big deal and gets it done without making you feel any worse then necessary.  I was glad it was someone I knew rather than just another doctor.

He checked carefully to make sure there wasn’t anything in me that didn’t belong and made sure nothing had moved to some place it wasn’t supposed to be, had me cough while turning to the left and the right (while doing things that really are TMI), looked in all the openings, apparently found nothing unusual, and did the reflex thing till I kicked him in the chins.  Whew!  At my age you do kind of wonder if everything is still doing what it is supposed to and I guess it must have been because he didn’t say anything unusual.

As he was listening to my heart I found myself wondering what I would do if he pulled his stethoscope away and said, “that doesn’t sound right”.  Or if after looking in one of those openings, mentioned in the casual way they do, “we probably should have a closer look at that” what that would be like.  It was on my mind because on the way to the clinic I had listened to a story about a football coach in Indiana, who died yesterday of a brain tumor, and I thought about how a visit to a doctor had given him information that changed his life forever.  Sometimes these simple annual physicals turn into life changing events and I thought to myself, how would I take an unpleasent diagnosis.

I am apparently in good or at least normal health for my age group and after the usual, lose some weight, get some exercise and relax, he sent me on my way.  It was all good, normal and what you want when you visit the doctor.

Driving home, I thanked the Father for good health and I prayed for the family in Indiana, beginning the process of learning to live without a husband, father, grandfather, friend and coach.

Nothing is ever certain in life so it seems important to let the doc look in all the openings each year and take better care of myself.  But most of all to make an effort to be more thankful for each day of good health and enjoy each one of those days a little more.

There really is not enough time to spend worrying about what was, what is, or what might be.  Today is all we have, we might as well enjoy it.

If you haven’t had the openings searched lately, better make that appointment.

Entry filed under: Culture, Faith, Family, Friendship, The Father, Thoughts.

“Giving ourselves to the next generation.” How was preaching?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Royal  |  June 25, 2007 at 11:34 am

    I am a little shocked that you chose this to be the content of your blog, usually it is scripture based, but I like the change of pace. I am much younger than most men that receive those wonderful physicals but because of my profession I am ordered to partake in the fun every once in a while. My question is, “Does it get better with age?” I would think not, but I am glad that there is knowledgable individuals that are man enough to give the exams.

  • 2. Dan Triplett  |  June 20, 2007 at 5:58 pm

    TMI! TMI! 🙂 Which reminds me, I need to make my annual check up appointment too. While we are fearfully and wonderfully made, it’s comforting to know that God has gifted doctors and made them fearfully and wonderfully skilled to help us stay in optimum health. While it appointed unto men once to die….(Hebrews 9:27), while we are here on earth, it’s wise counsel to seek a yearly medical exam. Glad to hear that you are in good health. To God be the glory.

    Now where did I put the doctor’s phone number?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,728 hits

