The one and only way to please the Father.

June 5, 2007 at 9:24 pm 10 comments

I have been trying to write some things about miracles, the supernatural, the Holy Spirit and what I think it means to follow Jesus.  I started with a post called Thinking about miracles, then one with the title We got to get ourselves back to the garden. They are both quite long and probably only the die hard Juniper fans read them.  Actually I am trying to get down in writing some things I have been thinking about for years but never had the time nor the freedom to write about them.  So, to those of you who actually read them, thanks.  Mostly, I guess they are for me.  Today’s post is just as long and follows in the same direction as the other two.  If you haven’t read the previous you might want to. 

The one and only way to please the Father.

Following Jesus is a life of faith. Period. Without faith it is impossible to please God (Hebrews 11:6). It isn’t just hard or difficult to please Him without faith, it is impossible.  It isn’t OK to try other ways to please God, faith is the only way.  All other attempts to please the Father, don’t.  Faith is the only thing that brings Him pleasure.  We can never miss a church service, we can finish the latest and greatest Bible study, we can go on mission trips, we can give our money regularly but if those good things do not flow out of faith, they do not please the Father.

Faith…is the evidence of things unseen (Hebrews 11:1).  It is faith that allows us to stop seeing with our eyes and begin to see with our heart.  Faith is not just the means to get into the Father’s family, faith is the way of life in the Family.  The things we can see with our eyes are temporary but the things we can’t see (with our eyes) are eternal.  That is why the Apostle Paul told us to set our minds on things above not on things on the earth.  The Scriptures call us to see the unseen, to look toward the invisible.

Jesus said He only did what He saw the Father doing.  If we are to do what Jesus did we are going to have to see what the Father is doing and that takes a view into the invisible.

Faith is not anti-intellectual it is actually superior to intellect.  The Bible doesn’t tell us to believe with the mind, it calls us to believe from the heart.  Only through faith can we come into agreement with the mind of God.

Living without faith is to live with fear.  Fear is faith in the devil because it is unbelief in God.  When the disciples would get scared, Jesus would ask them “why are you so faithless?”  Fearfulness is the same as faithlessness.  Fear and faith cannot live together because they work against each other.

Faith is reality in the spiritual realm but so is fear.  Faith puts us into agreement with the Father while fear is the way we enter agreement with the enemy. Satan has no power over us until we enter into agreement with him.  Fear is the response of our hearts when we agree with the enemies intimidation and provocation.  We are told to never give the devil a foothold and fear is a foothold because it attracts the demonic in the same way as bitterness, hatred, unforgiveness, lust, envy or jealousy.

Fear is why so many people reject the supernatural, calling it error.  They see what they call “excesses” and instead of responding with faith they turn back in fear (something we can’t understand or looks strange or different then we are used to is often defined as excess).  Stepping into the invisible by faith is seen by some as error because they presume things based on their theology.  Rather than producing faith, theology often produces fear of those things that do not fit neatly into the theology. To the student of theology, if it can’t be explained or categorized, it can only be error. 

When Jesus returns He will not be looking for a lack of error, theological purity or balance, He will be looking for FAITH (Luke 18:8). 

Why is it that we are more inclined to make decisions out of fear rather than from faith?  Because faith is risky and threatens our comfort zones.  Faith is offensive to those who prefer the status quo.  Faith pushes while fear retreats.

People of faith are often hard to live with because they are always stretching the boundries of those who find their power and position in knowing how God works during “these days”.  Faith people are often way out there, literally in another world.  Didn’t someone say we were not of this world?  Surely that doesn’t apply to some far off time when we will cross over.  People of faith cross over all the time because they see with their heart and not their minds.  They see the unseen.

Faith never comes from “having heard”.  Faith always comes from hearing (Romans 10:17).  The nature of faith implies we are living a life with the Father that is up to date, current, in the now.  What we hear from Him we are hearing now.  Faith is not based on what God has said but on what God is saying and what God is doing-NOW!

The Father must want us active in the invisible realm so He makes it impossible for us to please Him without faith.  Faith is what connects the available power to the circumstances we face.  Faith takes what is invisible and unleashes it into the visible and when that happens we call it a miracle.  If we are truely people of faith, why are miracles so unusual?

If you have actually read all three of these posts, or any of them, and care to share some feedback, I would love to read it.  This is fairly new ground for me so any input would be appreciated.  email me if you would rather not put your comments on the site.  Thanks.

Entry filed under: Authority, Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Miracles, Revelation, Supernatural, The Father, Thoughts.

We got to get ourselves back to the garden. Your Kingdom come, your will be done.

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Evangelist Cathy  |  August 9, 2007 at 4:48 am

    THANK YOU. This encouraged and reignited my Faith. This was very well written and inspired by the Holy Ghost. Keep up the good work for the Lord Jesus Christ. Great is your reward!

    Evangelist Cathy Guyton

  • 2. amanda  |  June 11, 2007 at 2:14 pm

    Well, i guess the first thing i need to do is say who i am. you of course knew, but i had some reasons to not name myself. this post has made me realize that while i have been stepping out in faith more and more, i am still living in fear and it is time to stop. i know that it won’t happen overnight, but i know it will happen, i guess i am a die-hard cuz i read every post even when i get behind i go back and dilligently read them. you help keep me in touch with my Father when the world overwhelms me. i so loved this posting what an eye opener to realize what fear really is. love it God bless you and Linda

  • 3. Bill  |  June 6, 2007 at 8:48 pm

    Greg, I have never responded to a blog before. I just felt that your post on faith has made me realize that this is what has got me out of bed each morning since willie’s death. I must admit that fear enters my thoughts constantly but so far my faith has won the battle. I continue to pray that God will get Leslee & I through this maddness. My faith tells me that He will. I often think of Jesus at times of trouble ( and pleasure) as to what would He do. How would He react. I think He would be sad as I am but would not lose track of God’s promise to all of us. This is a faith promise that I am desperatly holding on to. Thanks for being so insightfull and sharing with us.

  • 4. Royal  |  June 6, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    Your last three posts have been wonderful to read. I don’t know if that makes me a die-hard fan or not, but I do enjoy your post on a daily basis. I do not fear many things in my life, pain, suffering, death, paying the bills, etc. do not bother me. I do find trouble however taking leaps of faith without all the facts, I will continue to work on being more in-tune with God. Thanks for all the little reminders.

  • 5. sumijoti  |  June 6, 2007 at 12:19 pm

    “Diehard Juniper tree fan” here too. 🙂

    I don’t have much to comment because I think you said it all. I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this post.

    I really don’t think many people truly understand faith. They think it is something cerebral that they need to ‘whip up’ but it is rather an inner witness that flows out of relationship with Jesus. We don’t need faith in something vague, we need to know Jesus personally (a heart-knowledge, not a mind-knowledge), and in knowing Him, live the way he did…which is by faith! It just occurred to me that if Jesus said “of my own self I can do nothing”, then he must have been trusting in the Father to do the work!

    Jesus came to show us the way…in all respects, even as pertains to faith.

    By the way…I shared your post on miracles with hubby recently and he was unsure about the “Jesus doing miracles through his humanity” idea, but we had dinner with our pastor on Sunday and he asked him about it. Our pastor was in total agreement with you. His words were: “He did them just like you or me would…as a man indwelt by the Holy Spirit.” Hubby thought that was really cool, and that the impact of that is staggering, like you said in your post.

    Here I go again…I said I didn’t have much to say, but I always get carried away…

  • 6. Alishia Hanson  |  June 6, 2007 at 9:37 am

    Greg,
    Same Alishia, different last name. Remember me? The Brezel’s Alishia? From Arizona?
    The world is so small. I found your blog through another blog of another friend who was mentioning you. Hard to follow, but hello anyway! It’s fun to read about what’s happening and see Brad’s kid on his blog, too.
    Say hello to Linda for me.
    xoxo

  • 7. btarmsfamily  |  June 6, 2007 at 7:51 am

    Dad-
    How did you know I needed to hear this exact “message.” So much of the last 2+ years has required faith and I must admit that most often my first reaction and the one that sticks with me the longest is fear. Until reading the way you put I did not see it as putting my faith in the devil. Ouch! I definetly don’t want to be quilty of that.
    Thank you for reminding me that God is not looking for a perfect church attending Christian. He is looking for me having faith in Him. He has called Brandon and I to quite a few things recently that require even more faith then we thought we already excercised just getting to this place. Some things that seem weird to others especially those around us here in Utah. We are excited but (fearful) so…… Starting right now I am going to choose faith instead of fear and hopefully I will have a faith reaction first from now on. I will fight fear with faith. I want to live fully in the family of God so I am choosing faith even when my human inclination is fear.

  • 8. Linda  |  June 6, 2007 at 6:45 am

    Oswald Chambers says: …Jesus Christ demands that you risk everything you hold on to or believe through common sense, and leap by faith into what He says. Once you obey, you will immediately find that what He says is as solidly consistent as common sense. By the test of common sense, Jesus Christ’s statments may seem mad, but when you test them by the trial of faith, your findings will fill your spirit with the awesome fact that they are the very words of God. Trust completely in God, and when He brings you to a new opportunity of adventure, offering it to you, see that you take it. (See My Utmost, May 30th)

    I am looking forward to taking the new opportunity of adventure we are faced with, trusting God by faith. He will be all that He claims to be; I am sure of it.

    I love you and I love your willingness to share yourself and help the rest of us grow.

    Lovingly,
    Linda – your wife

  • 9. Aimee B  |  June 6, 2007 at 6:32 am

    I must be a “die hard Juniper fan” because I read them all. It’s like hearing one of your sermons again. It fills me up to read them and this writing especially because of the faith issue. As you know, we are living on faith now, selling everything to live simply and be together, growing our faith in the Lord. Do people think we are crazy? Yes! We are living in another world and our faith comes from what we are “hearing” the Lord tell us to do. If people would stop and listen to the Father more, there would be little room for doubt and a lot more faith.

  • 10. rade  |  June 5, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    Hi! I didn’t read the whole post but I liked the parts I read. Going to try to take the time soon to read your other posts and see what you have to say =)

    What comes to feedback: Keep the blog up. This is very good, what you write about 🙂 The world needs more blogs like this one!!

    Peace and blessnings.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,878 hits

