Account ability

May 29, 2007 at 5:03 pm 2 comments

What if accountability was not about judgement and correction?  What if being in an accountability relationship was not about being “held”?  What if accountability was not about one person sitting in the place of accountant and the other in the place of accountable?

So much of the accountability I see around is where the more mature person (usually judged on the basis of position) holds the other, less mature person, to some level of growth because they can’t or won’t do it themselves.

But what if accountability was more about having friends who know, care and understand about the dreams the Father has implanted in your heart?  And what would accountability look like if others cared about you and your dreams enough to remind you about them when you got discouraged, sidetracked or hurt along the road toward fulfillment of those visions?  Instead of looking for areas of weakness, failure and compromise in your journey, what if they were instead looking for opportunities to hold you up and support your destiny?

Perhaps this is a role of the prophetic Word as it comes from the Spirit to one and then to another. 

Yesterday in church I was sitting by a “younger then me” man who I recognised but couldn’t place.  During the ministry time the Spirit directed the pastor to invite us to pray and speak prophetically over this man.  Several of us prayed and then one woman spoke what I heard as a Word of accountability.  She said something like this:  You have been trying so hard to be a man of God.  You have been reaching for it for a long time and you always feel you have fallen short of the goal.  God wants you to know you are going to reach it, He is for you, He loves you, you are the apple of His eye.

While she was praying the Spirit revealed to me who this young man was.  I had counselled with him many years ago when he was struggling with heroin addiction and other deep issues of fear and hopelessness.  He was a sensitive, bright and hurting young man. His parents brought him to me in hopes I would hold him accountable.  Unfortunately, my view of accountability was more about judging what I thought was wrong with him and trying to bring correction.  It was my responsibility to hold and his to be.  It didn’t work and I did not see him again until yesterday.

I wondered, as Diane spoke the love of God over him, if what he had gotten from me was accountability to help him find his destiny and encourage the extent of the dreams the Father had given him rather than an accountability of correction and discipline if it might have worked better.

All around us are people who do not need us to hold them accountable so much as they need us to see, and help them see, what the Father has destined them to be and fan it into a flame of hopefulness and reality. 

This is the kind of account ability I want the Spirit to lead me to.

Entry filed under: Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Friendship, Revelation, The Father, Thoughts.

Maybe it IS all about me. (by Linda) #100

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  May 30, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    It would be wonderful if in our relationships/friendships with those closest to us, we could feel free to actually share who we are, then the other person would know how to steer us toward our bent.

    If we could see life as a journey – a journey without a destination, maybe we would enjoy the journey…because the journey is what it’s all about – not the arriving some place. Maybe then we would be okay with not being perfect and allow others to see and know what they probably already see and know about us – I’m not perfect, and I won’t ever be, but I am on the journey to get to know my Father, myself and others.

    When I live in the love of the Father, when I at least like myself, then I can like others and be involved in mutual account ability.

  • 2. sumijoti  |  May 29, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    I hear you. I think the first kind of accountability puts people under the law and the resulting condemnation which is powerless to change hearts. The second kind plugs them in to the One whose mercy and grace brings the hope that enables change and growth.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,026 hits

