“Till then I trust”.

May 21, 2007 at 3:07 pm 4 comments

There is no higher calling for a follower of Jesus then to trust Him.  There is no harder calling for a follower of Jesus then to trust Him.  Agree?  First we trust Him with our salvation, then we trust Him with the day to day stuff and then we trust Him to bring us to our earthly and eternal destinies.  It truly is all about trust.

How are you at trusting?  Frankly I have not been very good at it.  In fact the most important things  I have learned the last dozen years have been in the area of trust.  Will I trust that the very nature of our Creator is love?  Will I trust that the humans created in His image will love me for who I am?  Will I trust, no matter what happens, there is nothing that will separate me from His love?  That is a lot of trusting.

One thing I have learned is this: To the degree I am able to put my trust in God, I will trust the humans He has created, in His image.  So learning to trust God is a requirement to learning to trust people.  Many of our day to day problems with people are rooted in our inability or unwillingness to trust our Father.

When Paul was killed, I went through a long struggle to trust the goodness and love of my Father.  I had so many questions, so many problems with a good and loving God allowing, causing, choosing to not protect a young boy simply out doing what young boys do (it is good to remember, God does not choose to love us, it is His nature to love us).  Finally I had to come to the place of trust.  God is either by nature, good and loving or He isn’t and over time I have come to trust He is.

As I have learned to trust my Father I have slowly learned to trust His children.  Again, if it is His nature to love and to be trustworthy because of His love, then when He tells me to love others part of loving others is trusting them. 

Over the weekend, one more time, I had to choose to put that truth into practice.  I was put into a place of choosing to trust my Father in order to trust someone else.  Broken interpersonal relationships are often complex and usually take more time then we want to invest to repair, but because of a choice on the part of two people to trust, a relationship took a big step toward being restored.

I just read an email from a friend who is going through the “hell” of questioning the reality of a good and loving Father.  As she came to the end of a list of questions she was struggling with, without finding resolution, she landed just where we all need to land in those questioning moments and summed it up with these words: “till then I trust.”

Whether it is unanswered questions, broken relationships, or any other unresolved struggle that is part of the life of every follower of Jesus, the only place of hope is in my friends words: “Till then, I trust.”

Entry filed under: Christianity, Culture, Faith, Friendship, Jesus, The Father, Thoughts.

Hangin’ with Canyon Paul Don’t work so hard.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Life Enthusiast  |  May 21, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    your article made me think, surely it is something christians battle about all the time. we know trust is required in this relationship, we know of His loving, fatherly nature and etc (at least we know it in out heads more than in our hearts.) yet somehow, somewhere we cannot see it on everyday situations. esp when something big, bad and painful happens. like a premature death, like a situation i do not understand. then i start to question. who are You? that You say You are I AM? seriously it’s easier said than done to say that “till then i trust”. But even as i ask who He really is, this song keeps running in my head; and i hope that i’d still continue to trust Him as the Christ He claims Himself to be. Becos where else can we go?

    “You are my light and salvation
    whom shall i fear?
    You are the strength of all my days
    oh whom shall i be afraid

    though war may rise against me
    of this will I be sure

    that i will bless the Lord forever
    i’ll bless Your holy name
    Yes, i will bless the Lord forever
    i’ll Bless Your Holy Name

    Lord it’s You I desire
    it’s You that I seek
    To live with you in your house forever
    beholding Your beauty
    in the time of trouble
    of this will i be sure

    You ask me who do I
    say that You are and I
    Say that You are the Christ
    Son of the living God”

    … What a song. i pray one day i’ll be able to sing and really mean it and never doubt Him again.

  • 2. Kaylee  |  May 21, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    i think i have the same problem as your “friend”. i struggle not to blame God and to trust that he still has good for me. i’m afraid he is going to do something bad to me again or that he is out to get me and the things i want he is going to take from me. i talked to a woman today who has been like a mentor and she told me some of these same things you told me. basically, God is trustworthy and good. i guess i really needed to hear it…..or maybe God really wanted to tell me those things. it’s sure hard to feel it, or even understand, but “til then, i trust.”

  • 3. 1ofHis  |  May 21, 2007 at 6:55 pm

    “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths.” Proverbs 3:5&6

  • 4. formedofclay  |  May 21, 2007 at 4:07 pm

    Trust? Trust! You have got to be kidding! If trusting people is the measure of our trust in God, then we all shall be surely full of mistrust. I chose to trust people in order to learn to trust God and was then told that my trust was misplaced. If we must have trust in God first, in order to trust man, then how can trusting a man be so wrong? It would seem by what I read here that trusting a man would show my trust for God. Am I misreading? Am I misunderstanding? Am I delusional? No, I didn’t really want an answer to that last one. And, in case you were wondering, I have pretty much given up on anything to do with that little five letter word that causes wounds so deep, but I have not given up completely on trying to have a relationship with the One who made me.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,029 hits

