Seeing the unseen.

May 18, 2007 at 12:42 pm 2 comments

In the western culture seeing the material world is highly valued.  We are bombarded all day long with advertising seeking to get our gaze on what we can acquire and own.  The material world is our focus and it consumes us.

In the culture of Jesus we are called to train our eyes on the unseen, the invisible.  The born again experience enables us to see from the heart.  The Apostle Paul prayed that the eyes of our heart might be enlightened and in another place he instructs us to set our minds on things above (invisible) not things on the earth (visible).  Jesus said He only did what He saw His Father doing and told us we would do greater things then He did. Apparently seeing the invisible, what the Father is doing, enables us to do out of the box, extraordinary things.  The power of what Jesus did was rooted in His ability to see what the Father was doing.  The power for us to do what Jesus did is in our ability to see the invisible things the Father is doing and then do them too.

The Father is committed to teaching us how to see the invisible and gave us the Holy Spirit to lead us and the main teaching tool is worship.  Worship gets our focus off the visible and places it on the invisible.  The Kingdom of God is the realm of invisible and the King of the invisible realm is enthroned on the praises of His people and His throne is in the center of the invisible realm.  When we worship the King with abandon, without fear and in humility the Spirit leads us into the throne room.  There we begin to see things that go beyond what our minds can see. 

I have spent years seeing with my mind and I have seen marvelous things I would not have wanted to miss, but as I have begun to see with my heart I am seeing things too wonderful for me to know with my mind.  The only way to see God and what He is doing is with the heart.  But if from there you seek the Lord your God, you will find Him if you look for Him with all your heart…

In yesterdays post, Stupid Happens, I mentioned how thankful I was to know my destiny was going to be fulfilled in spite of wrong turns and stupid behavior.  Part of fulfilling our destinies includes seeing things in the invisible that God wants to make visible to us and then through us to the world.  For that to happen we have to start seeing with our hearts and not our minds and start getting the focus off the material and into the invisible. 

Entry filed under: Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Jesus, Revelation, The Father, Thoughts.

Stupid happens. Hangin’ with Canyon Paul

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doug Wright  |  May 19, 2007 at 7:28 am

    We live in a world of right now, hurry, don’t wait, etc. It is difficult to worship and understand the principle you speak of when one doesn’t take the time for worship and quiet prayerful reflection. This topic is one that most Christians today need to learn more about (in my opinion) including myself. It is this kind of awarness that will awaken the desire to be more like Him. Our purpose is the very real reason for existence. (Like it or not.) Thanks for the wake up. Please tell us more!

  • 2. Royal  |  May 18, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    Being a classiclly trained scientist I find it hard to see the invisible. All the classes and labs I attended were based on true hard facts. My job is to give explanations based on the teaching I received in all those classes and labs. If I tried to use the phrase, “trust me, it is just that way”, I would not have a job for very long. My wife can verify that I have trouble believing in things that require a certain amount of faith. It was not until I was out of college and living on my own that I learned a little something about seeing the invisible. I was arguing with my mom, which happens often because we both enjoy a good debate, about this exact subject when she floored me with a question. The question was, “Have you ever loved anyone?” I replied yes, and she immediately asked me how I knew, followed by, how much?, when did it begin?, for how long?, when did it end?. I answered all the questions and she then asked to see the proof. Obviously I could not give any real answer to that since I had no data to back up my claim of being in love. She then told me that love is something that is beyond explanation, you can not measure it, time it, try to fix it, etc. It happens though there is no scientific proof as to why. It is a gift that we all hope happens to us at some point in our life. I must admit that my mom won the debate and I hate to lose. So I guess what I am saying is that if you have ever loved someone, then you can see with your heart. All I can do is try to do it on a more consistent basis. Thanks for the reminder, and I need to get one up on my mom.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,009 hits

