Who’s on?

May 16, 2007 at 11:31 am 8 comments

Returned last night from my visit to Redding, CA and Bethel Church. Bill and Leslee were coming by Redding on their return trip from Phoenix, so rather than flying home as I planned, I was able ride in the motor home and spend some time with them.  They are surviving day to day, which is about what you expect.  Continue to hold them up in prayer.

A more trivial pursuit this morning as I get back into the swing of regular blogging. 

A couple of weeks ago I added a sitemeter to the site.  It is a fairly sophisticated tracking system that will tell you all kinds of things about your blog and who is reading it.  The blog host I use, WordPress, has some capacity for tracking but nothing as sophisticated as this. 

One of the fun features is the ability to track the location the hit to the site is coming from.  Don’t worry all you lurkers (I love you, by the way) I can’t figure out who you are, but I can find out what city you are in, how long you were on the site, what you read, your ISP, the kind of computer you use, your hair color (oops not that) and a few other little details.  For big commercial sites or commercial wannabes this is invaluable information. For me it is just fun.

The majority of hits to this site come from the Northwest and primarily the Mason County area.  I get to speak to more people in Mason County every week then I did when I was a pastor there!  I think that is pretty cool.  A lot of hits come from Oklahoma, as I have huge fan base there (just joking, we just know several people there).  There are always hits from many Washington and Oregon cities as well as other places around the NW. 

But what is extra fun, is to see hits come from places some of which I have never heard of like, Phenix City, Alabama; West Frankfort, Illinois; Middle Island, Texas (lots of other hits from TX too); Mount Laurel, New Jersey; Kennett Square, Pennsylvania (there are several visits a day from there); Pawleys Island, South Carolina; Newark, New Jersey; Corruna, Michigan; Pierre, South Dakota; I once had a hit from a government office in New York City; California, being so populous sends quite a few visitors from too many cities to mention by name; Lexington, Kentucky comes through most days; It is fun to spot family members checking in from Salt Lake City, Albany, OR, Salem, OR and Colorado Springs.

What I enjoy the most are the ones from out of the country.  Here are a few recent ones: Antwerpen, Belgium; Surry, Prince Edward Island, Canada; Bois-des-Filion, Quebec, Canada; Ljubljana, Bohinj, Slovania. I have had hits from China, Russia, a few other eastern European countries as well as Sweden, Norway and Italy. Just now someone hopped on from Nigeria.

Those of you who know about blogging know what I am experiencing with hits from far away places is not all that unusual if you write about things that a lot of people are interested in, like the church.  But I am thankful to know that people are reading what I write, that I have a chance to speak into the lives of a lot of people who I know and love who are not physically available to me any more.  That blesses me and I guess blesses them.

What I hoped for when I started was to write about things that interested me and maybe someone would read it.  God has blessed my hopes beyond anything I could have imagined.  I think He likes to do that!

To those of you who write comments, thank you for joining in.  Some of you should be blogging yourselves.  To those of you who are lurking around out there, I am glad to know you are there.  Many of you lurkers send me emails so I guess that really isn’t lurking.

I am having fun and some of what I write is encouraging some of you, challenging some of you,  making you laugh and cry and probably ticking off a few of you.  All good, it seems to me.

Thanks for hopping on!  Oh cool, there is a new one from Bellmawr, New Jersey.

Entry filed under: Culture, Friendship, Thoughts.

Question amid the Kansas rubble. Stupid happens.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. btarmsfamily  |  May 20, 2007 at 9:07 am

    We’re reading here in the Utah twilight zone. We miss you and can’t wait to see you in June.

  • 2. Kristen  |  May 20, 2007 at 12:21 am

    I’m glad I am able to read your blog. It usually challenges me and it’s almost like hearing one of your sermons. 🙂 I usually read from seattle.

  • 3. renversgirl  |  May 18, 2007 at 11:58 am

    that was a fun one. i for one too miss hearing you live, but every word i read i hear your voice as though you were sitting next to me. it has been very helpful through some rather bleak days, Keep up the good work,

  • 4. Eli  |  May 17, 2007 at 12:00 am

    Here in China we read your blog at least a couple of times a week. WordPress blogs are usually blocked by the government firewall so we jump on a proxy server. Anyway, thanks. Your writing inspires me to draw closer in relationship to the Father.

  • 5. momlovesbeingathome  |  May 16, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    I’m one of your Oklahoma readers. 🙂 I just checked out that site meter and put it on my blog – very cool! Thanks for passing it along.

  • 6. Kasey  |  May 16, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    Here’s a shout out from SB!

  • 7. Lacie  |  May 16, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    I am glad that I was directed to your site. I’ve enjoyed reading lots of your posts. I do have to say I miss hearing you “live”. I’ve been reading some of the older posts…and they are very inspiring. Thanks Greg!

  • 8. Royal  |  May 16, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    You’re going to have to start visiting some of these places and see if you can meet with these individuals. I would not be amazed if your words truly did help someone find a path. Keep writing, I enjoy all the insight you provide.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 138,029 hits

