Gracious Uncertainty.

May 3, 2007 at 11:20 pm 4 comments

For almost all of my life I have found security in certainty.  Almost all of us cling to security as if it was certain.  We work so hard to forecast what will happen next so that nothing sneaks up on us and knocks us off our feet.  But is too much certainty good for us?

Oswald Chambers writes: Certainty is the mark of the commonsense life–gracious uncertainty the mark of the spiritual life. 

I am learning some about this gracious uncertainty.  It comes slowly and it mostly comes painfully but there truly is a graciousness and an anticipation that comes with not knowing precisely what is next.

When we seek to nail everything down, while at the same time seeking a relationship with the Father, we put ourselves above Him. We think we know what is best for us and so if the Father does not meet our expectations, we doubt His love for us.  When we go for extended periods without knowing what is next we begin to despair and become disillusioned.  “Doesn’t He care to show me the way?”  “Why must life be so uncertain?”

When we want so desperately for God to remove the uncertainty we begin to turn Him into our own genie in a bottle, who will grant us three wishes and clear up all the uncertainty of life.  I think it was Blase Pascal who said “God created us in His own image and we have returned the favor.”  We want God but we want the God of our own making.  The God that removes uncertainty, explains all and moves in ways we choose for Him.

I have only recently come to understand I have spent a large percentage of my life working against my Father’s will for my life and I didn’t even know it.  I was trying to help God get me to the place where everything in my life would be wonderful and easy.  I wanted to get my life to the place where there was no more uncertainty, no more worries and no more need for God to take care of me.

The goal of gracious uncertainty is to create dependence on the Father and with dependence comes, strangely enough, the security we seek.  The Father wants us to have more of Him and so He creates uncertainty.  The more uncertainty in our lives the more of the Father in our lives.  Get it? Gracious uncertainty.

To be certain of God means we are uncertain in all our ways, not knowing what tomorrow may bring.  This is generally expressed with a sigh of sadness, but it should be an expression of breathless expectation.  We are uncertain of the next step but we are certain of God.

As crazy as it may sound, what the last 19 months of major uncertainty has been teaching me, is to let go of my need to know, to plan, to be precise in what the future looks like and be willing to embrace a gracious uncertainty that is allowing me to enjoy the presence of the Father in ways more awesome than I ever could have imagined.

…when we have the right relationship with God, life is full of spontaneous, joyful uncertainty and expectancy. 

What we long for in our lives is our Abba, our Daddy.  Embrace your uncertainty and He will embrace you.

Entry filed under: Christianity, Culture, Faith, Jesus, Revelation, The Father, Thoughts.

Bill’s “Big Bubbas’s Burgers” Bodacius Birthday Bash! Control or uncertainty.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa of Longbourn  |  May 11, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    When graduating high school a few years ago, I put a verse down in answer of the infamous question, “What are you doing next?” It was John 3:8 – “The wind bloweth where it listeth, and thou hearest the sound thereof, but canst not tell whence it cometh, and whither it goeth: so is every one that is born of the Spirit.”

    To God be all glory,
    Lisa of Longbourn

  • 2. Doug Wright  |  May 7, 2007 at 6:29 am

    Uncertainty is an exciting challenge if approached from the positive. It can be a rollercoaster ranging from deep depression and anxiety to elation and joy. Depression comes when experienced from the negative secular eyes we all seem to view with at times. Joy comes when experienced from faith and trust. Most have been taught that getting a job and living in the safety of controled environment is wise. For some this could actually be their calling. Thank God for the rebels who have traveled to spread the Word and threw caution to the wind for the sake of answering God’s call to purpose.
    God will never leave us nor forsake us.

  • 3. btarmsfamily  |  May 4, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    I can’t tell you how much I needed to hear this TODAY…Brandon too. God does really speak through others. I am struggling to understand this and to live it out in my life. Maybe that is why God has us here in the Twilight Zone (Utah). Or maybe life is just the twilight zone. Either way…… thanks.

  • 4. Pat  |  May 4, 2007 at 8:38 am

    I used to think that the older I got the easier life would be, the more certain my future would become. In my 40s I started experiencing more turmoil and uncertainty in my life or more precisely I started to realize that life wasn’t what I thought it would/should be. I began to fight against it and worked to fix things so I could get back on the track I thought God had promised me. After all, if I was living a ‘good’ Christian life why wouldn’t God reward me with the good life? It wasn’t until my 50s that I fully realized that I had bought into a lie and I began to accept that the more I craved certainty and comfort, the less of it I was able to experience.

    I’ve gotten to the point where I am somewhat comfortable with uncertainty, in some areas more than others. It’s been a long process and a hard one at times. I am still learning what it means to live in the moment and how God fits into the moments of my life as well as the future. I like the sound of ‘gracious uncertainty’ and will strive to incorporate that into my growing understanding and experience of life and my God.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,728 hits

