A Prayer.

April 13, 2007 at 10:05 am 1 comment

Prayer is sometimes hard for me and when it is, I pray this prayer. It covers it all. I trust it will be useful to you.

Most Holy and merciful Father:
I Confess to you and to the whole community of saints
in heaven and on earth,
that I have sinned by my own fault
in thought, word, and deed;
by what I have done, and what I have left undone.

I have not loved you with my whole heart, and mind, and strength. I have not
  loved my neighbors
as myself. I have not forgiven others, as I have been forgiven.
Have mercy on me, Lord.

I have been deaf to your call to serve others, as Christ served us. I have not been true to
  the mind of
Christ. I have grieved your Holy Spirit.
Have mercy on me Lord.

I confess to you, Lord, all my past unfaithfulness: the pride, hypocrisy, and impatience
  of my life.
I confess to you Lord.

My self-indulgent appetites and ways, and my exploitation of other people,
I confess to you Lord.

My anger at my own frustration, and my envy of those more fortunate than I,
I confess to you Lord.

My negligence in prayer and worship, and my failure to commend the faith that is
  in me,
I confess to you, Lord.

Accept my repentance, Lord, for the wrongs I have done: for my blindness to
  human need and
suffering, and my indifference to injustice and cruelty,
Accept my repentance, Lord.

For all false judgements, for uncharitable thoughts toward my neighbors, and for
  my prejudice and
contempt toward those who differ from me,
Accept my repentance, Lord.

For my waste and pollution of your creation, and my lack of concern for those
  who come after us,
Accept my repentance Lord.
Restore me, good Lord, and let your anger depart from me,
Favorably hear me for your mercy is great.

Accomplish in me and all of your church the work of your salvation,
That I may show forth your glory in the world.

By the cross and passion of your Son our Lord,
Bring me with all your saints to the joy of his resurrection.

Glory be to the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, so it is now and so it shall ever be, world without end.
                                                          Alleluia. Amen.

(The Divine Hours: Prayers for the Springtime.  A Manual for Prayer.  Phyllis Tickle)

Entry filed under: Christianity, Church, Faith, Jesus, The Father.

Learning to hear the Voice. Willie McComb

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Maggie  |  April 13, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    Thank you Greg that says it all for me. Your blog is so encouraging. I miss your ministry, reading your blog is the next best thing. God is blessing you as you continue to spread His word. I praise the Lord for this.

    “For thine is the Kingdom and the Power and the Glory Forever.”

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,728 hits

