Gonna bucka bull.

April 7, 2007 at 1:15 pm 2 comments

I am sitting in the Will Rogers World Airport in Oklahoma City as I write this.  What a wonderful visit this has been.  I can’t remember the last time I laughed as hard as we have here, for all kinds of reasons that can’t be explained in this space, but you would have laughed too if you had been here.  Oklahoma is like no where else I have ever been and Trinity Fellowship is like no other church I have ever been around.  They talk about being Family but they also live it out, not only with each other, but with people who come to stay a while. 

God told Pastor Andy that people were going to move to Sayre to be part of the church and find a job, rather than the usual of moving somewhere for a job, and finding a church.  There are people from Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, and other places I don’t remember and more coming all the time.  Why?  Because God told them to go and spend a while at Trinity.  That is why we came.

As I said, I can’t begin to explain Sayre or Trinity and any story I would tell would explain part of the charm but not all of it but let try with a couple.

If you have been reading the posts from Oklahoma you know that Trinity sits on nearly 100 acres along I-40, about half way between Oklahoma City and Amarillo, TX.  There is an old steak house on the property that serves as the worship center and office space for the church.  Nothing really unusual about that except there are also mobile homes and a house for visitors like us to stay in, a big bunkhouse, a large “rodeo” arena, barns, corrals, chutes etc for rodeo events.

The other day we were sitting in Andy’s office talking when his son Clay (the way it comes out to my ear is Cly) came to the door and said to his dad: “We are going back thar and buck a bull.”  That is, they were going out to the corrals and take turns trying to ride a buckin’ bull.  A real one.  It was the same idea as if Brad had come into my office and said a bunch of us are going to go down to the gym and shoot some hoops.

We went out to watch and shur nuff, there was a bunch of young men with a dozen or so bulls, loading them into the buckin’ chutes and taking turns seeing if they could stay on them.  The church doesn’t have a gym for shooting hoops but they do have a chute for buckin’ a bull!  Vintage Sayre.

One other thing that made me laugh till I hurt.  The WiFi in the church offices was not working right, one day, and Buddy, the Administrative Pastor was trying to figure out what was wrong.  He tried all the usual things, rebooted the system, you know all the stuff you or I would try.  Finally he went up to the tower where the signal came from, (where, by the way the power to the thing comes from about 400′ of extension cords, but that’s another story) to see if something was wrong there and guess what?  The rancher that owns the property the tower is on, had turned his buckin’ bulls into the pasture, and one of the bulls had gotten his horns tangled in the wire and torn it in half!  Vintage Sayre.

I almost hurt myself laughing because, though we had lots of computer snafus in the church office where I used to work, never was the problem a bull tangled in the “war” (rhymes with far (fire).  They laughed too, because it was a little unusual.

Well, if you aren’t laughing, I guess it is one of these deals where you had to be there, because I had to stop typing, I was laughing so hard.

The Word says that “laughter is good medicine…” and its true.  I haven’t felt better in a long time.

Have a great Resurrection Sunday and if you see Brad wish him a happy 30th birthday.

Entry filed under: Culture, Friendship, Thoughts, Uncategorized.

Good Friday Resurrection Sunday.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cody Custer  |  April 7, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    I have not experianced this sort of thing since I was a kid at my Grandfather’s ranch. I look forward to this kind of behavior being a normal thing in our lives, as we will be moving there this summer.

  • 2. Warren Scandrett  |  April 7, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    I just took Linda’s card from the mailbox. I don’t get many cards in the mail, maybe because I don’t send any. I liked the card and am working on the trip to Salt Lake. You know me – I’m trying to get a good fare. (Doesn’t dad realize this is aa blog thing? Why does he treat it like email?) Trinity at Sayre sounds great. I have been closer to more bulls than you have, Greg, but not for some 50 years. We have our Easter services at the Flying W tomorrow as we have for maybe three years. We don’t ride any bulls but we can have both our normal services in the same area. I’m ushering. Maybe that’s a little like hazing, yes?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,728 hits

