Was it really a Word for me?

March 26, 2007 at 7:27 pm 4 comments

I was sitting alone in a church service Sunday morning (not the church we normally attend) when the pastor asked if there was anyone who had a Word for us.  Not being part of a church culture where that happens I was eager to hear what would be said.  A woman sitting right in front of me took the microphone and said something like this:  There is someone here this morning who knows their righteousness is as filthy rags but has not accepted that they are now dressed in the righteousness of Jesus.  They have not received the white garment that was given to them when they confessed their sins.  They are not fully accepting the forgiveness that is theirs.

I have struggled for many months to accept that I have been truly forgiven for my sins.  I have a very clear understanding of the propositional truth that I am forgiven but I find it hard to accept the positional reality that I am forgiven and free, no matter what anyone else says.  So when the woman gave that Word, I wondered if it was for me.

My friend, who is the pastor of the church I was in, tells me the prophetic Word has three purposes, to build you up, stir you up or to cheer you up.  Or said another way the purpose of the prophetic Word is to strengthen, encourage or comfort.  So was that Word for me?  If the test is, did it stir me up, build me up or cheer me up then yes it was for me, because it did at least two of those things

Some might say that the Word spoken was so general it might have applied to anyone in the room.  Probably true, but the fact that an invitation was given to share a Word and a Word was shared and it blessed me, is it not likely that the Spirit was involved in the process? 

The truth for me is this.  Wisdom is without question needed by every believer and wisdom comes from the written Word of God, but it is not enough, we need revelation too.  It seems entirely possible, that knowing I would be in that service on Sunday, the Spirit revealed the Word to the sister who shared it, not knowing who it was for, in order for me to be stirred up to forgive myself and built up to live in the truth that I am fully forgiven and free.

I wonder how many times we get a prophetic Word the Spirit intends to stir up, build up or cheer up another Family member and we don’t share it, either because there is no opportunity given or we think it really isn’t important.

But one who prophesies is helping others grow in the Lord, encouraging and comforting them. …but one who speaks a word of prophesy strengthens the entire church.  (1Corinthians 14:3, 4b)

Entry filed under: Christianity, Church, Culture, Faith, Friendship, Jesus, Revelation, Thoughts.

What more can He say? Why doesn’t God speak to me?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa of Longbourn  |  May 12, 2007 at 1:21 am

    I’m glad that God worked through the quotation of His Word. I wonder, though, when you quote 1 Corinthians 14 if you read the whole context, which also says (v. 34) “Let your women keep silence in the churches: for it is not permitted unto them to speak; but they are commanded to be under obedience, as also saith the law.”
    To God be all glory,
    Lisa of Longbourn

  • 2. renversgirl  |  March 30, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    it was meant for you, and by speaking of it and about it it is also for others

  • 3. justafriend  |  March 26, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    Of course of course it was a word for you. It was a word for me too and I wasn’t even there. But it was a word for me never the less. Why even question it?
    That is satan….satan is the question. God is the answer. God is always the answer
    What a wonderful blessing to be where a Word was spoken and it was spoken to YOU and it was spoken to ME and it was only spoken to me because you shared it! I love that! It makes me want to be there…it makes me want to be IN THE WORD. The Word is for us but how amazing and wondrful and what a blessing to have the Word, God’s Word spoken and we HEAR it!!! God’s Word revealed. God revealed.
    I think we make it more difficult than it needs to be…..He loves us……..He wants us……can’t we just let go and believe it? If you aren’t forgiven, none of us are…………………..

  • 4. momlovesbeingathome  |  March 26, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    Don’t you LOVE when that happens! I have been in services before when I felt like the pastor had been following me around that week or something because he knew EXACTLY what to say for me. Of course, as you said, the Holy Spirit is involved in our lives like that. He knows just what we need and when we need it. It still never ceases to amaze me when He works like that though. 🙂

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,871 hits

