What more can He say?

March 25, 2007 at 5:18 pm 1 comment

With freedom to think about it, I have been thinking a lot about revelation.  That is, does God have anything more to say than He has already said?  If you were raised at all like me than you remember an old hymn that goes something like this: What more can He say than to you he has said? The implication, of course is that God is done saying stuff to His people.  The way I was taught was, its in the Bible what more do you need?  Just get hold of the Word, and you won’t need anything else.

There is no question that we need to get hold of the Word, now more than ever.  It is essential for anyone who would follow the way of the Cross, but the One who hung on that cross still has something to say to us. He said so Himself: I have much more to say to you, more than you can now bear.  But when, he the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all truth. (John 16:12-13) 

There is a lot that Jesus wants to say to us and now that His Spirit is right inside of us we should be hearing from Him pretty often.

I would often miss what He had to say, I think, because I didn’t believe He was speaking anymore, so my ear wasn’t in tune, and now I find that when I think it might be Him I question and second guess what I am hearing.  Paramount to hearing is believing He speaks.

Listening is a learned ability.  It takes time to ferret out the voice of the Father from the many other voices and it takes time to tune the ear.  It takes time in His presence.  It takes time building the relationship.

If you operate from the premise that He is still speaking and work hard to spend time in His presence than I think you will begin to hear His voice. 

I like something John Eldredge says about hearing the voice of the Good Shepherd:You don’t just leave sheep to find their way in the world. They are famous for getting lost, attacked by wild animals, falling into some pit, and that is why they must stay close to the shepherd, follow His voice.  And no shepherd could be called good unless he personally guided his flock through danger.  But that is precisely what He promises to do.  He wants to speak to you; He wants to lead you to good pasture. (Waking the Dead pg.102)

A good Father wants to tell his kids what they need to hear to navigate to good choices and right decisions.  What more can He say?  Much more.  Listen.

Care to share with us what the Father is saying to you?

Entry filed under: Christianity, Church, Faith, Jesus, Revelation, Thoughts.

Thoughts that make me go “hmmm”…Anger Was it really a Word for me?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Doug Wright  |  March 26, 2007 at 7:06 am

    Acts 2:17 “In the last days, God says, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions, your old men will dream dreams.”
    In my younger years I had a direct word spoken to me about a situation in my life about to change for the good. When the word came it was as clear as a bell and with it came an indescribable peace that washed through me head to foot. When the Lord spoke it was with clarity and assurance. It took a little over a year for the Lord to fulfill what He told me, however as I stood in faith, it came.
    I guess I’m old now by Acts standards as I’ve experienced the dreams. Positive dreams of what the future will hold for some and warnings of behavior for others. (not many but occassionally) The Holy Spirit is still active and will continue to guide and speak to us, especially in these end times. It’s a promise!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,878 hits

