Thoughts that make me go “hmmm”…Anger

March 22, 2007 at 10:08 pm 3 comments

If you are interested in my travels I am in Butte, Montana as I write this, on my way home from spending 8 days with our Utah family.  Traci, Brandon and the boys moved into a new home and I got the honor of helping, after Linda and I spent the prior weekend watching our grandsons, Sloan and Sean.  I am tired but fulfilled in having the freedom, during these days, to be helpful.  For years I was too busy to be very helpful. God does bring good from the not so good.

Brad recently wrote in his blog a very honest and poignant post on anger.  I was proud of his vulnerability and proud of his mother for posting a comment that was on the mark.  I was talking with Linda on the phone a couple of hours ago and she reminded me that anger is part of the grieving process and Brad is grieving the loss of something that was very special to him.

With that in mind this edition of “Thoughts that make me go “hmmm” focuses on anger. 

Of the Seven Deadly Sins, anger is possibly the most fun. To lick your wounds, to smack your lips over grievances long past, to roll over your tongue the prospect of bitter confrontations still to come, to savor to the last toothsome morsel both the pain you are given and the pain you are giving back- in many ways it is a feast fit for a king. The chief drawback is that what you are wolfing down is yourself. The skeleton at the feast is you.  Frederick Buechner 

When angry count to ten; when very angry count to one hundred. Thomas Jefferson 

When angry, count to five; when very angry, swear. Mark Twain 

Anger is a signal, and one worth listening to. Harriet Lerner

Never forget what a man says to you when he is angry. Henry Ward Beecher 

Anger makes you smaller, while forgiveness forces you to grow beyond what you were. Cherie Carter-Scott

One of the statements, made more than once to me the last months, was this classic: 

I was very angry but I didn’t sin. 

Really?  Very angry but no falling short of the glory of God? 

That’s a thought that really makes me go “hmmm”.

 

Entry filed under: Culture, Faith, Friendship, Thoughts, Thoughts that make me go "hmmm".

Text messaging, playlists, MySpace, oxy and youth ministry. What more can He say?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coyote  |  March 24, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    I found this blog when I googled this line: ” I’m useless and want to die”. That directed me to an earlier post about not wanting to die on this blog. I find it intresting that a search on google could have directed me here.

  • 2. Kasey Cronquist  |  March 23, 2007 at 9:11 am

    How can you even be writing about anger in the beautiful city of Butt, Montanta?

    that’s a joke. . .

  • 3. Maggie  |  March 23, 2007 at 8:40 am

    There has been many things in my life that has made me angry. I have given many of them to the Lord and asked Him to take my anger away from me. I have learned through time that the longer I stay angry the more miserable I am and I cannot move on. When I think of this, I am actually allowing the people or person who made me angry to have a hold on me, and that makes me angry. So, I have decided I can allow myself the initial anger for the moment, then I am going to pray for whomever or whateverit it was that made me that way and then pray that God will help me move on. I pray for all of us that allows these things to put a HOLD on us.

    Moving forward in His name…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 137,871 hits

